We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday”
Review of Oasis Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasis Duna Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had read several reviews before going so was expecting the worse. Yes the rooms do need up-dating but its only 3star & not a costly holiday so in that respect, value for money. The pools were clean & well maintained as were the surroundings. The staff are friendly & courteous although the staff at reception are a little frosty. There is a pool bar serving snacks, a pub, restaurant, pizzeria & supermarket. All good & good value. The entertainment team were brilliant. We normally don't partake but enjoyed the morning quiz, afternoon tea & sangria. There was footballl & water polo, daily & it appeared & much more for children. We are aged 59 & 66 so not our thing but enjoyable watching others. We found one cockroach making its way across our patio but none in the rooms. The only niggle for us was the cleaning of the apartment itself & our bed linen was to be desired. For us it was a really lovely holiday as the atmosphere is so friendly without being in your face & the weather was warm & sunny. The location is excellent as it really is only a 2minute walk into town & I felt quite safe walking in on my own. The beach is also nearby as are the Dunes. We went to the local market on the Friday which was also just a short walk away. The water park is literally across the road. I would also add that I managed to cook twice on the hob - it was just like camping. It was good fun as was the whole holiday & yes I would go again I was so relaxed due to the friendly atmosphere of the whole complex.

Room Tip: None as the rooms do need up-dating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,582 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had read all the bad reviews before booking but as I had visited the Oasis Dunas 5 years ago I thought 'how much can it have changed?' ALOT!

Last time - Room clean, fixtures worked, nice balcony and view.
This time - Our room was behind the pub area which meant we had to walk past two large bins to get in and out of our room. The light outside the room didnt work, so at night this was a task in itself. The door stuck and needed to literally be kicked open. Bottom of fridge door not only rusty but eroded away. Not enough sockets for kitchen equipment and the socket that was there was hanging off the wall. Sink drain stank. Hair all over the bedroom floor and both bedside lamps didn't work (infact the bulb had burnt a hole through one of them!).

Last time - Pool clean and no noticeable problems with sunbeds.
This time - Pool full of leaves, rubbish and other bits! And although there were loads of sunbeds the struggle was to find one without a hole or something wrong with it.

The only saving grace this time was the entertainments team, I don't normally go in for cabaret and shows etc, but with having such a horrible base for our holiday the entertainments team were really entertaining and travelling with a young child it was nice to have something to come back to in the evening.

If you are travelling with children and are planning to use the kids club (we weren't on this occasion) its worth noting there has been an outbreak of head lice at the hotel - and whilst this isnt the fault of the hotel or tour operators I only heard about this via a very small note in the corner of one of the tour operator boards.

For those saying 'you get what you pay for' in this climate nothing comes cheap and there is no excuse for uncleanliness and disrepair...unless of course, the hotel has no finances to fund improvements, in which case the hotel should not be advertised as 3*

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L4uren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our establishment to spend your holidays.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and can assure you that we have made it our priority to avoid this happening again in the future.
We thank you inmensly for your sincere comment, as this does help us greatly to be able to give an ongoing improvment of quality and service to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

went for a week startting 24th october . when we arrived we were put in a disgusting 2 bedroom with old style windows and doors , hadnt been cleaned properly , no plug in bath and dead cockroach on floor , was also facing the road . went straight to the reception and they moved us to one near the pools which was 100 times better , just as well as on sunday night fuerta had its largest storm for 8 years and many apartments got flooded , if wed have still been in the original alacation id have been half way to morroco .
lesson here is when you book ask for an apartment with prefix A , as these are all round the pools
go for a b and you wont be , and risk bad views and roaches.
dont try and cook in youre apartment as 2 rubbish hobs and hardly any space
we got free half board when i booked in jan and as its free we tried it a few times , was average at best , best thing all week was the vegetable rice which when tried actually had chicken in it and tasted more like a paella than the actual paella .
breakfast ok but dont eat the sausages they taste of cardboard
pool area was very good and clean and evening entertainment ok
the reps there are fantastic especially lauren who is amazing ,
so all in all for the price an ok base , also helped we had a couple of nice families either side
cant remeber there names but hi to the scottish ladies if youre reading this tommy loved the flippers you left us
use this place as a base and youll be ok
walk down to the harbour for youre evening meal and if u want the best sirloin steak ever try Sotavento on the front , Eddie the waiter there is amazing and all the rest of the staff cannot do enough for you
so will i go back to oasis dunas again ? maybe if the price was cheap but to be fair you can get a private villa , hire car and flights for about 200 more

Room Tip: Insist on having a room with an A prefix
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoulesFrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from our sixth visit and we are booked in again for New Year. Lets get the bad out of the way first.
Rooms need a repaint. Doors, taps and electric fittings are in need of TLC. (The kettle rattles, lights do not work, Fridge lacks any door shelves, electric desk fan had to be rebuilt) The upholstery is worn and partly re-uphostered in non matching material. Whether you get an electric desk fan or two is hit and miss. You may not get one or they may be in terrible condition. You will need one if its warm as the mosquitoes will bite with open windows. (No air conditioning so we always take a fan) A lot see Cockroaches in rooms. (Not us) See plenty out and about.

Almost putting myself off going. Now for the good. The rooms are clean and you get clean towels most days and the beds remade. We have a quadrapligic son and can get around with his pram. (We always get a ground floor room and we now always get two bed rooms. Four proper single beds, a sofa bed with a pull out mattress underneath) Shower always hot and powerfull.
Idealy situated for the town centre which is excellent. The pool and terraced garden are enormous with ample sun beds. The entertainment & kids club is well attended and run by an enthusiatic team. Never used the Restaurants in hotel but apparently ok. If you get a South Facing room (as we do) the patio is large enough to sit in all day. If you go between April an November with Thomas Cook, you get unlimited free entry to Baku water park, which is normally 66 euros a day for a family of four.(5 min walk away) Brand new Viking bar opened this week at the entrance of hotel and was very nice, with all new fittings. The old Golden Goose Bar and poolside bar are ok with Happy hour 5pm-6pm and 11pm-midnight on Lager and Sangria. We always eat and drink outside the complex and use the Hotel as a base to Sunbathe and sleep.
Why do we keep going back? Well you will struggle to find cheaper and we just want to hit the town where the real holiday begins. Those that have stayed and used the hotel facilities speak highly of them but a short walk gives you Supermarkets galore (One on site is ok) Restaurants, shops, cafes, bars and every type of shop imaginable. Not only are we going back in December but about to book for February. They must be doing something right but just need a little push to get the rooms upto standard.

Room Tip: Bring hairdryer and desk fan. C block is the one we now go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloonloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok so on arrival we queued for an hour to get checked in as one of the receptionists decided she needed to 'nip' somewhere (always a good start) so after stood around waiting we finally get checked in and taken to our ground floor room. This was not bad and although the bathroom was a bit on the small side it was not a problem.

The pool area was nice and the food from the poolside bar was also good!

Excellent location and an ok place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G33NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was a bit dubious as saw such negative reviews before going..but I thought it was great.....Apartments were fine but would I admit benefit from air con...Staff were very helpfull and its position great....I liked my apartment, seen a couple of the dreaded cockroaches but then you are abroad and should expect these things....I get huge spiders after all in Dundee....Maids in nearly every day....Anyway I dont go to stay all day in my apartment.....Clean bed clean batthroom....What more do you want.....

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room then you can leave windows open....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned, pool ok. Room on arrival ( 2 bedroom) was situated next to the hotels toxic waste dump and crawling with cockroach...asked to move...possibly to a first floor by the pool as there were many vacant....48hrs later we got a ground floor a bit nearer the pool, despite stating we would forefeit the premium paid for a 2 bedroom. We went self catering, the cooking facilities are really basic and in poor condition, the onsite shop ok unless you want fresh fruit (bags of grapes fermenting intheir own juice...yuck!). TV you are required to pay extra for poor quality reception pictures

Found the reception staff to be really unfriendly and unhelpful...asked if we could pay to keep our room on the last day as we had an evening flight (as previous...loads of empty rooms)....told no rooms available....it really was too much like hard work for them

Wifi...sometimes on....entertainment staff told us the management often switch it off during the 10am to 6pm period they are supposed to have it on as people were just sitting near the bar with their iphones, laptops etc... And not buying drinks......there are loads of seats here...enough for the drinkers and the surfers

Won't be going back that's for sure

Room Tip: Get first floor next to pool to avoid cackroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our establishment to spend your holidays.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and can assure you that we have made it our priority to avoid this happening again in the future.
We thank you inmensly for your sincere comment, as this does help us greatly to be able to give an ongoing improvment of quality and service to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,094 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#10 of 45 in Corralejo
1,065 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ananda Resort Fuerteventura
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Duna Hotel

Address: Avda. Maxorata 2, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Price Range: $51 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Duna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Duna apartments - Hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura). With an extension of 60.000m2, is a large tropical garden with a massive pool area and an expansive sun terrace. The large common areas with bars, restaurants, recreation areas, theater and beautiful gardens are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the holidays. The complex has 340 apartments, all equipped with kitchennette and bathroom, as well as furnished balcony or terrace. Its location is ideal, located just 50m from the main street and 900m from Corralejo beach. The Natural Park of the Dunes of Corralejo is located at 2km and the airport at 38km. It also has other touristic attractions around it, such as ACUA water park at 200m, El Campanario Shopping Center and Las Plameras Shopping Center, wich are 400m away. The one and two bedroom apartments, and especially the children's pools and slides, make this complex an ideal place to spend the holidays with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Idiso Digital, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Oasis Dunas
Oasis Duna Corralejo
Hotel Oasis Duna
Dunas Fuerteventura Oasis
Oasis Dunas Fuerteventura
Oasis Duna Hotel Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing