We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here recently for one week..... loved it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean, every time you looked up from the sun lounger there was someone cleaning, it was immaculate!
The rooms were very big and the beds very comfortable, bathroom was good, shower was lovely and hot, easy to work so you didn't get scalded each time!!
We were all inclusive and enjoyed the food each day. I'm sure some people will criticise it but you have to be realistic, it's only a 3 star hotel so you can't expect 5 star food!!! There were themed nights, Italian & Mexican, and if the restaurant couldn't cater for your palette then there was always the snack bar at the pool which also did food.
The drinks were great, good choice of cocktails for us non beer drinkers (albeit a tad strong for my taste!!). The on-tap San Miguel was a nice surprise and it meant no queues at the bars so that was a bonus.
The reception staff were really good, particularly the blond haired lady, if we asked her to book a taxi for us, she would inform us of that particular days local markets, craft fairs etc which were worthy of a look. We brought some lovely presents to bring home!
Our room was on the top floor, very close to the bar and I suppose it could be a bit noisy but the entertainment/music finished by midnight so no complaints there.
The saloon bar, Fantasy Island, showed the football on TV and even postponed the entertainment for the semi final games due to the large amount of footsie fans! Nothing was too much trouble.
After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive but we would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Everyone seemed to ask for ground floor and had to wait when we arrived. We purposely asked for a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    698
    320
    109
    57
See reviews for
314
1,037
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Rooms are huge, clean and have lovely bathrooms. We decided to go all inclusive, and was a great idea. Lots of varied food at meal times - some nights are themed (mexican night, pasta night etc.) but always have a huge amount of food that you can choose from. The pool bar with snacks and drinks is a great idea. Friendly staff always happy to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from a 10 day break at this hotel and I'm missing it already. The staff at the hotel are what makes the place and all work so hard to ensure that your stay is a pleasant experience. The lady we met upon arrival in reception, Alvero in the restaurant, Mario in the bar, Abel in coco bar, the lifeguard and the entertainment man, the cleaners and all the other staff that work shifts in the restaurants and bars are extremely attentive and welcoming.
6 people were in our party and we had all booked double rooms and had requested ground floor with poolside view if possible. We could not have wished for a better location as we were all given rooms on the poolside that offered a patio with seating and a table. The rooms were cleaned daily and offered comfortable beds, a sofa bed, shower/bath, air conditioning, TV, hair dryer and safe. As with all hotels the safe came at a cost with a refundable deposit on departure and the TV required a remote control although very limited channels in English. You are given a plastic card that you slot into a place on the wall for electricity.
The food in the hotel was good as an all inclusive guest. The breakfasts ranged from full English, cereals, fruit, bread, toast, jams, pancakes and weirdly vegetables. Lunch there was always salad, fruit, burgers, hotdogs, chips, pasta, fish, bread, rice, ice-cream and other deserts. And dinner offered a wider range than lunch and on certain evenings there was themed nights such as Mexican, Italian and Chinese.
The swimming pools and the jacuzzi were all freezing to get in, but once brave enough you quickly adjust to the temperature and swimming is good, however water is salty.
The animation man tries to encourage participation in activities around the pool such as pool/ snooker competitions, darts, water polo and aqua fit. There is also a table tennis table next to the aviary of budgies. Unfortunately it was not always easy to get a sun bed and as with other holidays find yourself having to put towels out early. The coco bar was the poolside bar and offered self service soft drinks, beer, sangria and wine and cocktails and spirits upon request. Food was also available such as toasted sandwiches, chips, hotdogs, burgers and ice-cream.
The main club was very small and it and was underground. There was shows although we never saw any but from what I saw listed there was animals that visited, bingo, discos, singers and comedy plus for some in our group World Cup football matches.
Husband enjoyed a body massage from a visiting masseuse for 25euro.
A trip to the local main supermarket was a short walk away and the main town was 20 minutes walk although taxis are readily available for 3-4 euros.
We had day boat trip to Lanzorote, the local water park and hired a car to see the island. The sand dunes are definitely worth a visit. The weather itself was hot but with a constant breeze.

Room Tip: Poolside, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneChace73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel was good. Room was a decent size and always kept very clean. The staff were lovely and friendly.

When we arrived we were allocated a room but unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work, so we were then moved to another room in the same block but closer to the bar and on ground level. The location of this room wasn't great. It was about 6 rooms down from the bar. Smokers congregate outside the bar and it was quite loud. However, the noise stopped around 11.30-12.00 so if you're out at this time, it would be fine.

Food was good. Not just English food, there was fresh fish and canarian dishes to try.

We were disappointed with the alcohol on offer. Beer was fine and you could help yourself to this, as well as sangria and wine. Spirits however were poor and weak. You could see the unopened bottles lined up on the bar, these weren't sealed properly and all had different levels of liquid.. very odd. I found that sticking to beer or sangria was the best option. There's a good variety of soft drinks.

Location of the hotel is good. It's in a quiet spot in between the sand dunes and the town. We walked along the beach most days to Correlejo town -this took us around 15 minutes. If you walk on the roads it will take you longer - about 25 minutes. We got a taxi back from the town some nights and this only cost around €4.00.

The entertainment was ok. Quite cheesey but funny. Birds of prey show, parrots and reptile show. Lots of bingo games music.

Overall, a cheap holiday and you get what u pay for. I'd stay again but make sure I'm a lot further away from the bar. I

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was a 40th birthday holiday, the hotel was small, friendly but not a lot going on by way of entertainment.

food was not a fab variety, just run of the mill english food and salad

unbranded drinks; the coke was cola!

Staff were friendly. Pool was quite with no children in site but access to the pool is poor with swimming pool steps only, no graduated steps to help thos less mobile. pool was cold.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Gurjit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

this hotel has a lot going for it,especially the staff. the highlight being "super"mario the waiter and excellent barmen a true professional. All the staff are very good and efficent in all departments .
the hotel has 88 rooms 2/3 are located around the pool area and these get sun all day the remaining third are mostly shaded and don't have a pool view , which for those that do like a bit of shade during the mid day sun are ideal.
As with all the rest of the reviews if you like small and friendly this is the place to come . reception will order taxis for you and four euros will get town, or the massive beach by the riu hotel .it also has plenty of leaflets for all the island attractions and a small selection of books to borrow.
the air con is free as is the tv you just pay a depoist for remotes which make working both a lot easy and is the only to make the air con work effectively , the safe is 2 euros a day plus 12 euro depoist and as the content are covered by the hotel is a pretty good deal . theres a kettle in the room and if the waters boiled its fine to drink .
the only point against is the food could be kept warm for longer , its well present and cooked with plenty of variety but is cold quickly .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njmc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.helens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

As all inclusive holidays go, this is about as good as it gets. the food is very good in my opinion with a good selection for breakfast (full English every morning, oh with HP sauce in a dish) the rest of the day you can eat healthily or not its entirely up to you as the selection is very good. Service is always with a smile (thank you guys, as this personable and professional approach is very much appreciated by guests). The bar is self service for beer, wine & soft drinks but again with a very happy and attentive barman to assist with snacks or cocktails or anything else, may I just say "I LOVE THIS BAR" you who have been to this hotel will know what I mean and you who are thinking of going will soon work it out.
Rooms are very well appointed and clean which is always my wife`s "picky thing", she was more than happy so make of that what you will.
Staff - from reception, to waiters, to the animation staff to the eccentric but amazing life guard who is also a self designated gardener/pool attendant/cleaner/juggler, what an asset to the Hotel they all are.
Finally location. it is in a very quiet area but when you get your bearings it is a 20 minute stroll into town and the small Galero beach or a taxi for £4 to the RIU hotels on the amazing Oliva beach. Words can not adequately describe this place so I wont try but you must go and see for yourself, as all I can think to say is "WOW". However, be aware there are some sights you wont want to see, as my neice said "I see naked people". for Gods sake buy some speedo`s.
All in all we had a great stay in Corralejo and met some lovely, friendly guests who made our holiday even better with good conversation and friendly attitude hope you all arrive home safely and are well Thank you from Stu and Angela, Ste and kids .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuAngie49Sthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
0.2 mi away
smartline Playa Park
smartline Playa Park
#14 of 45 in Corralejo
1,626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
23.0 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,415 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: Calle El Moro - La Oliva s/n, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Corralejo
Fuerteventura Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena Corralejo
Hotel Arena Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing