We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term break”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after our half term break with our son and daughter in law along with a 10 month old baby and enjoyed a week in the sun!

We arrived late on a Saturday evening via a coach transfer from the airport that took around 40 minutes. The hotel is on the fringes of the town and was the first stop for the coach which was a bonus.

Unfortunately due to a computer glitch the hotel was overbooked and my wife and myself had to stay the night at a neighboring hotel which was both disappointing and frustrating as we had booked this trip several months in advance so not the ideal start to the holiday. The reception staff were, I believe, sincerely sorry and apologetic and whilst this was inconvenient, it wasn’t a disaster and to be fair they did everything possible to make the best of a bad situation. These things happen but we were in our room the next morning and the problem was soon forgotten.
We had two rooms next to each other on the ground floor and very close to the pool which worked well for the family group. I agree with other reviewers who have said that the rooms are a little dated but they were spotlessly clean and of a good size. We were fortunate enough to have areas at both the front and back of the rooms where we could sit whist on babysitting duties which again worked well.

As mentioned, the hotel was fully booked but it never felt overcrowded and we were always able to get sunbeds (there was a certain amount of early towel placing going on!) and also a table in the restaurant (high chairs supplied).

The staff were amazing and worked their socks off to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves. We were on an all inclusive deal and the food was fine and we could usually find something that we liked but I would recommend a visit to the old town which was around a 30 minute walk or a 3.5 Euro taxi ride away (reception will call you a cab and it was always there within minutes). There are some very nice restaurants and bars on the sea front and all seemed to be reasonably priced. I am not saying that we were unhappy with the hotel food but it was nice to have a change on a couple of occasions.

My wife and I took a day trip to the neighboring island of Lanzarote and to the National Park to see the volcanic lava fields which were spectacular and well worth a visit (also reasonably priced at around 45 Euros).

Flight out with Thomas Cook was on time but full to busting and the seat pitch and lack of legroom made for an uncomfortable few hours. Our return flight was with Norwegian who operate a new fleet of aircraft and there certainly felt like there was more space to move. I would have no hesitation in recommending this carrier.

Overall impressions of the hotel were good, maybe not quite the 4* but certainly a good 3 in our opinion. Would I stay there again? Yes, and would I recommend it to another family group? Yes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks in august with 3 teenagers and a 5 year old.

Our rooms were lovely and clean, food was excellent and well presented and staff couldnt do enough for you.

The evening entertainment was good and lawra the entertainment coordinator worked really hard to get people involved during the day and in the evenings.

Lovely holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and i arrived on 2nd November for 1 week.we found the room very clean but furniture a bit dated.Beds we felt too hard for us and i didn't sleep that well.
The food was ok but nothing special could find something for most tastes.Alcholic drinks poor certainly the spirits.I would say this is a good 3 star but not a 4 as it needs a few improvements to bring it up to a 4 star.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterd1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week at end of oct , nice hotel for family's , overall it's a good hotel , good size rooms , we were lucky to overlook the pool . Food is ok , had better at other 4star hotels but you can find something you like most nights . Drinks were the most disappointing , beer was ok but the spirits deff not 40 % , doubt even 20% , and the wine red or white is poor . Good location walk into the Main Street about 15-20 mins and taxi back is 4 euros ! Also taxi to the sand dunes beaches is 5-6 euros , which is a must !
Best thing about the hotel is the staff , very friendly and helpfull . Check in was nice and easy , and Mario the batman made our holiday . Would we go back ? Overall a yes but hope they improve the drinks ?

Room Tip: Think we had one of the better rooms at 216, 316 would be good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I returned from Fuerteventura on Friday after a very relaxing week there. Being the first all inclusive that we have done, we were impressed with the service, quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff.

The room was more than adequate with all the usual facilities and well kept. Beware that a charge is made for the tv and air con remotes. Fortunately we were able to switch the air con on by standing on a chair and the tv was used minimally.

The towel reservation system for sun beds can seem a little ridiculous but it is the only way to grab a decent spot before they are all taken.

Granted, the main area of Coralejo is a little walk away but everything required is within the hotel. There is a small shopping centre about five minutes walk from the hotel which has a supermarket and various restaurants if required and also nightly entertainment within the main square.

All said and done, if you are simply there to relax in the sun you can't beat Arena.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RudeNot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived around midnight and were given the only room without a balcony. I was told to report to reception at 8o/c the following morning and my room would be changed without a problem which duly happened.

All of the staff were all very helpful and friendly. I felt the hotel was a little dated and rough around the edges. The rooms were spacious but out air con did not work

The food was more than adequate with all of the restaurant staff being very hard working and helpful. One minor complaint here is that there is no salt and pepper on individual tables.

The hotel is around a mile walk to the area where the main shops and bars are situated. It is situated approx. two miles from the old town which is very nice with its bars and restaurants, so be prepared for a lengthy walk back.

Room Tip: avoid block 2 if you want a balcony which has sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genuinejenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

staff was so very friendly could not do enough for you, they worked so hard, rooms clean and tidy, food was good and choice was also great, pool area really clean could do with more sun beds,all in all strongly recommended great value for money

Room Tip: the ground floor apartments by the pool looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guesty975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
0.2 mi away
smartline Playa Park
smartline Playa Park
#12 of 45 in Corralejo
1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,048 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: Calle Moro s/n, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $51 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Corralejo
Fuerteventura Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena Corralejo
Hotel Arena Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing