We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a great stay at this place from 25th May until 1st June 2013. As mentioned by nearly everyone else, the staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. I couldn't fault them at all. A lot of reviews have mentioned the poor evening entertainment but I thought the guy did great. Every night there was a kids disco from 8:30 (which never seemed to actually happen since there were virtually no kids there) and then there was usually a quiz (logo quiz, general knowledge, music, movies)+ followed by some other entertainment (Mr Hotel Arena, Kenya Boys dancing / acrobatic show, a guy singing Reggae songs (forget his name but he was good) etc - something every night, not all of it to my taste but most of it I enjoyed and you have to remember its catering for a cross-section of people.

The other often mentioned topic seems to be the food - personally (like many others) I found itperfectly fine. Definitely not The Ritz but you (hopefully) won't have paid those sort of prices either. Anyway the food consisted of:

Breakfast = cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats (salami etc), a few salad bits, lovely fresh bread (three varieties usually i.e. sliced and then tasty loaves) cooked breakfast bits (bacon - not like home but not too bad, sausages, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, omlettes, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms (with some other green vegetable) and then some days it was croisants, pancakes and / or churros... probably was more stuff I have forgotten but thats a great selection anyway to be fair.

Lunch = salad bar, lovely fresh loaves of bread and bread rolls, sometimes soup, cheeses and probably 8 hot options plus accompaniments like rice, pasta, chips etc, fruits (fresh and tinned style), ice cream, cakes.

Tea / Dinner = soup (different one every day), breads again, salad bar same as lunchtime plus ready made salads with tuna / pasta / cheeses / meats and dressings in/on and again about 8 or more hot options plus accompaniments like rice, pasta or chips.

Hot options I can recall from lunch / tea over the different days include spare ribs (not sure what the sauce was but meat and sauce was nice), various fish dishes, goat (why are people complaining about this?), veal, pizza, various hotpots / casseroles with meat in, steak, chicken, pasta and sauces, paella (Spanish night), fajitas, noodle dishes.... I could go on and on. People moaning there isn't much selection must be mad. What I did find was that every night I would try a bit of everything (in case they didn't have it on again) which did mean it felt a bit repetitive but it didn't bother me for a week. If it bothers you then I suggest only eating one option each night like you would at home, do this and you would never need to eat anything twice.

My only slight complaint about the food was that sometimes it wasn't very hot - a microwave is provided to heat it up and you can understand its not an easy task to display / serve foot and keep it hot.

The booze isn't strong at all which is why the staff give you such huge measures yet you'll never have a hangover (or at least I didn't anyway). The coffees out of the machines in the restaurant / pool bar and night bar are nice. Even better when you have it with Baileys - they put in as much baileys as coffee and it tastes great. Beer is nice and as other said, the pump faces out and you help yourself. Various other cocktails and spirits on offer most of which I didn't try but the Amaretto was nice - just a shame about the mixers as others mentioned, they are mostly awful, no fizz, too much syrup or not enough syrup... buy a bottle of coke (or whatever) from the shop and use that with the Hotel's spirits.

Not that we go on holiday to watch TV but they did have ITV+1, ITV2, BBC1 and BBC World Service, you just need to flick through to find them, could be as high as channel 60. We didn't bother with aircon as wasn't stupidly hot at night.

Special mention to three members of staff, the Italian guy doing the day/night entertainment speaks numerous languages fluently and flicks through them with ease and works hard. The bald lifeguard who doesn't speak much English but is a lovely bloke, works very hard (cleans up when no one in the pool etc) and is really friendly and finally the young guy with dark hair and a fair bit of hair gel behind the bar at night (and also restaurant in the day), again really friendly and works so hard manning the bar on his own and clearing tables etc. All of the staff work so hard from first thing in the morning until last thing at night.

Location of the hotel was not an issue for me, the beach walk is about 15 or 20 minutes right into the centre of town but not easy going on the beach if you have a pushchair, but it is nice and scenic and flat. Otherwise you can walk on the road which is probably 25 minutes but easier with a pushchair and take in some shops - free maps in reception to find the way. There is the shopping centre and a few other mini-supermarkets / corner shops within 5 minutes walk. The blue flag beach (left out of the hotel, left at the main road and follow it as far as you want to go after the roundabout - look out for the kite surfers as a reasonable gauge) is also a reasonable walk and is nice sandy beach with easy access to the sea (rather than the volcanic rock access in some places).

Finally a little tip - on the last day they will charge you 30 euros if you want to keep your room on later which seems steep to me. However they have a shower room in the Sauna with towels provided - ask for the key at reception. They will even book slots for you so you know you can use it at the time you want it.

Room Tip: We asked for ground floor and got room 113 which is really 'below' ground floor level, down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gk141054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at hotel for a week returned 28th May! Couldn't fault service, food or room! Agree that entertainment is poor! But a holiday is what you make of it. Ideal for a relaxing week. Try catamaran trip out into bay, good value and crew really nice! Good selection of shops in Corralejo!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eyj301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from a week at this hotel. Hotel is small, very clean with large rooms and bathrooms. Food is plentiful and there is something for everyone. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The downside is that it's a good 20-30 mins walk to the beach which is not great if you are looking for a beach holiday as this hotel is just outside of the main town. Once you get to the hotel and check in you then have all the extras to pay for (safe yes, air con control, tv control) and I would suggest only paying for air con control in height of season as we only used it twice. Obviously would recommend the safe but this is not a new one but the old fashioned key type so you need to keep the key safe too. The pool area and other communal areas are kept extremely clean, with the lifeguard also collecting any rubbish around the pool. Entertainment is extremely poor. Would recommend hiring a car and travelling around the island. We went to Jandia twice which is beautiful. If not the local buses are very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Hotel is 3floors only but first floor is practically basement so ask for 2nd floor, quiet rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eileenstevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was the first time that we booked an all inclusive holiday so was a little apprehensive. However we couldn't have hoped for more. Good food, cheerful, helpful staff and spotless accommodation. We don't normally go back to the same place twice, but with this hotel we might make an exception! Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The rooms next to the pools are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ok its not a 4 star but it was cheap, the room was clean, the food varied, the staff are attentive especially the Portuguese chap in the pool bar Alvero. It is a walk into the main drag, but hey ho your on holiday, taxi any place 5 Euros. If the entertainment had been better would have given it 4 rating

Room Tip: Try to get the ones by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blues54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week in a party of 6,from Saturday 18th May 2013.

Due to a delay at both airport and with coach transfer ( they lost someones case) we arrived at the hotel at 11pm. Other reviews had mentioned that food was made available on late arrival, this was not the case for us. We checked in and went to the Bar, unfortunately this had also just closed. We had no food or Drink after leaving for Fuerteventura some 10 hours earlier.
Whilst Reception was helpful, we still couldnt eat or Drink. We found a flier in reception and got them to order Pizza takeway to hotel. This was done, but we still had to foot the Bill, not really what you would expect from an All Inclusive !!..

We retired to our rooms, we had asked for 3 rooms close together and this was actioned. The rooms were spacious and clean, no issues whatsoever. Bathroom was of a good size with decent shower ,. lighting and hairdrier available.
The beds were firm but comfortable, tea and coffee avaialble with Kettle in room and TV and Fridge, all in all very good room facilities. We were on 2nd floor overlooking the pool, so again no issues and all pleasant and quiet. The beds were 2 singles pushed together so dont think by hotel pictures they have double beds, they dont.

The food was always varied and plenty of it. B/fast good choices of hot and cold and some decent sausages. Lunch and eve meal all Buffett and again none of us had any issues with the food, choice or standards. The drinks machines were the only down side within the restaurant. Poor standards of Coke and Orange pops and the fruit juice were overly watered down. Tea / Coffee machines no issues.

We never experienced an issue getting a sunbed, always plenty around, this was probably due to the pool temperature being very cold. Excellent pool Bar and again very genuine friendly staff. Drinks in abundance and good snacks throughout the day.

Entertainment was poor, one lady who was only covering for the week. Example of entertainment was , Guess how many pieces of pasta in a jar, exciting stuff. Evenings wernt much better, we had 2 outside shows a Magician who did tricks we saw years ago, 3 metal rings inter connecting and another night a 20 minute Parrot show, that was as good as it got, so if you want soemthing to do, get out into the town.

Good Bars in old Town. Alis Bar new and Paddys Bar near Flix, which has lost its Mojo from previous stays in Fuerteventura.

Overall a great week we would go back but not to this hotel. Its a 3 star at best. Very friendly Staff though.
Suit couples and older families. Good quiet Break.

Room Tip: Not Below ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Well 1st time to this lovely island , from the flight to the hotel everything went perfect , the hotel staff were lovely all times nothing ever to much trouble the food was lovely always something for everyone ,and I class myself quite fussy but never ad a problem . The hotel room we ad was lovely n clean everything we needed including a kettle n cups lovely balcony , the pool was a wee bit cold so the jacuzzi was just perfect to cool down in I enjoyed it so much I'm going back in 3weeks . Just ad a wonderful holiday .

Room Tip: Room 205 to 207 are very good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
smartline Playa Park
smartline Playa Park
#13 of 45 in Corralejo
1,802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,091 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: Calle Moro s/n, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $115 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Corralejo
Fuerteventura Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena Corralejo
Hotel Arena Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing