We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* holiday for a 3* price”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I came to the hotel arena with low expectations as I had read some poor reviews and I didn't pay a great deal for it.
On arrival I was very impressed with the reception staff who pointed me in the direction of my generously sized room and balcony. The room was cleaned daily and towels and bedding changed on request.
The pool area was clean and plenty of sun loungers. The pool bar was great with self service lager, coffee, water, juice, pop and a small selection of cakes. If you wanted cocktails or spirits there was a member of staff to get them for you. The restaurant was clean and the staff were very friendly. The food was nice for the price. (This hotel is not the Hilton)
The gym was open from 9 until 9 and you had to get the key from reception. It wasn't the best gym in the world but I was on holiday.
The entertainment was ran by Oscar. He seemed to be at the hotel day and night runing around like a nut job. Games by the pool during the day singing dancing and being genraly silly by night. We went out on dune buggys on the Wednesday and he was even there (he actually sorted it out for us but that's a different review).
This is a small 100 bedroom hotel witch has everything you can ask for and a little bit more. 15 mins walk from town centre, 5mins from local shops, 10 mins from amazing beaches and is right on the edge of the national park. Add all this together and throw in some sunshine in the middle of winter and you won't wont to go home.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuartcharles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

we visited in Feb between 14-21/02/2013 . got there the door room handle broken our request was family room which wasn't made up.the food was edible the local wines were OK did like sangria.the entertainment crap its OK if you like quizzes main shopping area 20 min walk the local beach 10 min.there was only one staff member helpful the handy man called wanton .The rooms do get cleaned everyday and fresh towels.I would not recommend this hotel to my friends and family.it looks nothing like the professional photos.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballychand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose this hotel for our stay based on the reviews we read here. The hotel was pretty much as expected from reading the previous reviews.

An important thing for us was a good room that was clean, and the Arena didn't let us down. The rooms were fairly large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The rooms were cleaned daily, the towels changed daily. The rest of the hotel was also spotlessly clean and it made for pleasant surrounding.

As others have mentioned the staff of the hotel are brilliant. Attentive, funny and always there to help. They do genuinely make the place.

Things that maybe were not so good are things already highlighted by other reviewers. The food isn't amazing, but myself or my wife never went hungry and always found something to eat. I would recommend walking down into Correllejo town for an evening meal maybe just to break up the dinners, Corralejo being worth the evening walk anyway! Breakfasts at the hotel were good, lunches ok and dinner acceptable.

We were not surprised by the edge of town location having read the reviews so it wasn't a surprise to us. The hotel is about a 20 - 25 min walk into town, but this is either a pleasant walk along a nice beach or an equally pleasant walk down the high street. The location means that it is almost halfway between town and the exquisite Flag beach / sand dunes in the other direction. I say almost as these are about a 30 - 35 min walk away, though again the walk is worth it as it takes you through a sandy nature reserve. A cab ride to either town or the beach will be under 5 euro each way, or there are buses to the Flag beach.

The entertainment at the hotel is hit and miss, some things funny and others cringeworthy, but it's free and it's what you make of it really, we had a good time.

I would recommend both the hotel and the island to anyone thinking of going there. If you want spotless rooms and attentive staff I don't think you could beat this hotel. Yes it has it's slight faults but overall a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0sc0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel after being turned away from The Playa Park. Were lucky enough to be given a poolside suite which was a bonus as the room was huge,bright and spacious.
Pool area-altough well kept we found it to be a bit cramped for our liking. Pool bar was ok but the service from Alvaro was first class.(please consider heating your pool)
Food-we found it to be of a standard we would expect at a good 3 star.
Drinks-this is the first hotel I have visited that does not supply branded soft drinks. Coke was so bad niether of us could drink it.(this hotel is 4 star rated?) Beer good,spirits normal local brands.
Entertainment-shows we did see were of a normal spanish hotel standard,but the lack of seating in the lounge area meant you had to arrive early to get one.
Service-found all the hotel staff to be very pleasant and hard working.
All in all after our initial disappointment of not getting our original hotel choice we had a pleasant stay at this hotel even though there are a few issues that need addressing.

Room Tip: Although there is only about ten in total the poolside suites are excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muppetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hi, just to let anybody know that is considering going to Hotel Arena please read on.... arrival in reception was good knew my first name before even speaking!! Impressed quickly into room and that was just after mid-day check in. Room facilities decent, other half moaned hairdryer wasnt powerful enough other than that very clean. Towels changed daily and room cleaned with fresh bedding or at least made. Didnt pay that much attention being a bloke!!! Pools clean one was cold though! Enough loungers to go round. Pool bar good Al the barman is a bit of a Tom Cruise ask for the ice trick!!!! Breakfast probably best consistant meal for me cereal, full English ad pastries if desired. Lunch and evening meals similar some strange menu's but didnt have trouble filling up and wasnt ill. We ate out a couple of nights in Corralejo quite reasonable and quaint restaurants in old town near music sqaure if your a romantic or just like good sea food etc. Drinks at Hotel all local ones I stuck to wines at meals and brandy & coffee around 5pm after day in sun which was enjoyable. Coffee machines were available all day expresso, americano and latte all tasted as good as my machine at home.
Entertainment was at hotel if you wanted magicians, dancers etc at night and around pool asking you to join in pool games, table tennis and a few others if you liked but no pressure. Only downside we found was after evening meal the only place to get a drink was in main bar under reception which hosted activities and we thought was a little dated to 80's but each to there own and some do enjoy. What im trying to say could of done with a bar where you could have a bit of peace to chill out or chat if thats what you like but it didnt. All in all very good holiday, weather was good, staff at hotel up there with the friendliest and most helpful I have seen anywhere in world. Its probably only 3 star realistically but a good one at that. Lastly beach was 5-10 mins walk away and a little further round coast for golden sand dunes and beaches and main town 15-20mins walk. We had a taxi back at night which was around 4 euro's but if we popped out in day which I did for paper distance wasnt an issue. Hope this review is useful for you making your decision we would go back which means something however like visiting different places in world so will not be for a while... D & C

Room Tip: Ground floor by pool is where e stayed and had terrace you could sit out on. Probably best location...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is most definitely no more than 2.5 star. The rooms are spacious and very clean however, we visited in February and the weather was very poor....not their fault, but the heating/air conditioning units were not functioning and having been given a room on the shady side it was cold all the time.... (they did supply extra blankets and pillows promptly) They moved us to another room (sunny side) on the 3rd day of our one week stay, an improvement! (A/C , heating system also not functioning)
The staff were really nice, very helpful within their limitations. The buffet food was dreadful, 90% was the same everyday, the hot food was often only just warm and when you complain about that you are shown to a microwave at the end of the servery!!! Breakfast was a bit better than the other meals...had to resort to eating out. The "spirit" drinks were undrinkable. This holet is situated within a residentual area and 20 minutes walk from the main area of interest. Taxi cost 4-5 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sunny side otherwise you will not get sun at anytime!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CASBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Visited here in January for a week. The Hotel rooms were big and spacious, cleaned every day with a good shower and toilet facilities. The only thing I would say is that you could be unlucky to get a room in the shade like we did and no sun at any time of day. Saying that they did offer to move us half way though our break if we wanted, however we were there to get out and about and not be stuck in the room! The facilities at the hotel were good and quite surprising really and they really tried on the entertainment front of things. The food was fine, spirits and minerals not great but in all the time I was there we didn't hear any complaints from anyone. Basically you get what you pay for! The staff are what makes this place a good choice it is really friendly and although located slightly out of town, taxis are cheap. There are also lots of choices from pubs, bars and good restaurants in the town and pretty cheap to eat and drink so why would you want to spend the entire time in the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny room if possible
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
0.2 mi away
smartline Playa Park
smartline Playa Park
#14 of 45 in Corralejo
1,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atlantis Dunapark
Hotel Atlantis Dunapark
#24 of 45 in Corralejo
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: Calle Moro s/n, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $106 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Corralejo
Fuerteventura Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena Corralejo
Hotel Arena Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing