We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel , excellent Thomson Rep service !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was our second visit in the last ten years to this hotel , the only negative I can say us that the decor was just the same and needs updating in some areas , however as most people would agree , cleanliness is paramount and the standard of cleanliness was more than acceptable ! The towels were thin and one had a hole in it in our room , however that is not a complaint , as it can happen anytime ! My husband and I travel a lot , over the past twenty five or so years have had many holidays , and this location is so beautiful set on the most stunning beach , the weather was beautiful for the first 4 days then the wind got up. , but for December we considered ourselves lucky , we found we enjoyed this holiday very much , food was good for all inclusive , staff were helpful and polite , and most of all our Thomson FIrst Choice rep DAN was so helpful and friendly , went that extra mile to help , as I stated we have been on many holidays and most with Thomson and Dan will not be forgotton one of the best !!! Thank you Dan and all the best for your future !! Hope you remember us from York ? We just love the hotel and location so much , but there's a big wide world out there , so sadly must say it will be many years if ever to return to the Oliva beach ! A big thank you to all staff !

Room Tip: Main block of hotel , high floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 3,772 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Ignore any negative reviews, Hotel is spotless, location, food, staff, rooms and that beach I could not fault, I only had a small gripe, no sun on my balcony, 5th floor, but I had great views of the sea and dunes, single room double bed, what more could I ask for, the whole experience was magical, my first time away in December. Mandarin Restaurant 5*, you serve yourself as many times as you like, the annex part of the complex was more families. Dan the Thomson rep was great, I liked
the rural location and the wind was part of the attraction. Enjoy. I will return.

Room Tip: Any high floor, pool side will get the sun on balcony, but all rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lov2holidaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fourth time at this Hotel, always have a fantastic time, Hotel very clean, food great plenty of choice, staff very friendly, OK entertainment could be better, but had choice of another bar to go to. Stay always in the Hotel block which has a large room, very clean, fridge a bonus. Hotel has plenty of areas to relax in, will be going again. Hotel is right on the beach, cannot explain how great the beach is. Would definitely recommend this Hotel, ignore all the negative comments and see for yourself, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in late December 2013 when we arrived we were herded like cattle into reception where we were greeted by a man who could speak little English he proceeded to check us in and place the wrist band on our arms using scissors to cut off the excess and In the process causing a cut to my arm anyway we were shown on a map to our annex which we may aswell have caught a taxi to on arrival we noticed a large infestation of ants in the room and the tv not working after brushing these two points aside we went for dinner confronted with an array of German guests who were abrupt to say the last. After this we retired to the entertainment down at the disco tech we noticed people being taken out the back which we later found out was for cocaine and after confronting the staff we were told in polite words to go away needless to say the disco was shut for the remainder of our stay in short the food was repetitive the Germans abrupt and the cocaine use unacceptable I have video evidence to back all of this up which I've forwarded to Thompson! Ps Carlos behind the bar was excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosephW1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous week at the hotel. I'm not going to repeat what the most recent reviews have already said other than to say if you have read some of the more negative reviews please, please don't let them put you off. We honestly can't find anything negative whatsoever to say about the hotel, food, staff, beach and surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dink069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stay at the Olivia Beach Resort for 1 week in early September. To be honest our first impression of our room left us a little disappointed. The room and the hotel is in need of a refresh and some fresh furniture that has not travelled from the 1970's. However, after a day, the room really grew on us.
We were staying in the annex section of the hotel on the top floor about as far from the main hotel as you can get. The room was very large and airy with a separate sitting area from the main bedroom. This made a big difference to us during our stay.
The balcony we had was about the same size as the room and had a couple of sun beds along with a table and chairs for 4 people. The location away from the main hotel meant that it was very quiet in the evenings and allowed us to enjoy a relaxing wine on the balcony in the evening before dinner. The views of the sand dunes and the beach were outstanding. The cleanliness of the room was pretty good and we had no reason to complain.
The grounds of the hotel were immaculately kept and were well looked after.
As with every all inclusive hotels we have stayed in, you find that the food does get repetitive after a few days, however, the food was tasty and presented. There is also plenty to go around, considering our prevalence to eat late in the evening to miss the masses. You also never felt rushed by the staff or pushed to finish your meal. Each meal that we had was thoroughly enjoyable. In other hotels we have stayed in you feel like it is feeding time at the zoo. Not the case here.
The location of the hotel is excellent, it is right on the beach and you can walk straight out of the hotel down to a fantastic golden strip of sand. Do not head too far down the beach if you have children as the wrinkly, saggy and leathery old nudist are not very far away, which we discovered to our shock (especially my 9 year old niece who was travelling with us). This really limits how far you can go down the beach, but there is still plenty to see if you walk up the beach. While the hotel is a little outside of Corralejo a couple of Euros will buy you a trip into town with a taxi. Alternatively you can catch a local bus, which stops outside the main hotel on the main road and is about a 5 minute walk from reception.
Our only complaint of the hotel stems from an incident in the dining room during breakfast. A gentleman collapsed during breakfast and we were disappointed that the staff did not stop to check on the gentleman. Myself and another lady attended to the gentleman until security arrived and called an ambulance. The gentleman was attended to by the lifeguard, who had no idea, along with the other members of staff about first aid. He did not even know how to use the oxygen bottle and mask. It was only when the medics arrived to attend the gentleman did we feel that he was left is capable hands.
All in all, if you are visiting Fuerteventura, then I would recommend a stay at the hotel. While our first impressions left us a little disappointed, your room does not make your holiday, that is up to you.

Room Tip: Gp for the annex. The further from the main hotel and pools the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been coming now for over ten years, I have been reading other reviews and thought I would give anyone looking to stay at the Oliva Beach Hotel our views.
First of all this hotel was one of the first large hotels built on the island of Fuerteventura for the German Holiday makers not sure about the date but would love to know.
Now us English have also found this great hotel that is right on the beach and dunes.
We always go of season in January February or March and have found the weather hot enough to sunbathe from 09.00 in the morning to 17.00 hrs.
The hotel staff are great so friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean.
Each room has a mini bar that we use to keep our drinking water chilled.
Food is a big part of the Riu Oliva Beach Hotels appeal , it is all cooked fresh and of good quality and choice. I can not imagine anyone complaining about the quality and choice of the food on offer hear. We have stayed at other hotels on the island but no other hotel compares to this for choice and they never run out of bread or other food. The chiefs are busy all the time cooking fresh food and stocking up all the time.
The drinks in the bars are very good local beers and spirits and the bars are staffed by very friendly staff.
Entertainment is a little repetitive in the bars, but ok and you can have a dance to local singers and musicians.
The hotel entertainment crew do shows most night in the main hotel bar area.
As with most of Europe now its all NO SMOKING in all bars and eating areas around the pool bars. This is much better now as it was not nice having to put up with the second hand smoke.
Some areas of the hotel are in need of a little TLC but this should not distract from a great holiday.
Pools you have two main pools one in the main hotel and the other in the annex and kids pool also.
Going in to town of Corralejo is just a short bus ride of 5 euro by taxi just out side the hotel.
If your looking for a great hotel to relax and a beach holiday you can not go wrong.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends. It may not be good for the teens or young people as it is not got enough going on for them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,974 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,005 reviews
54.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $144 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing