We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in standard of hotel, the amazing beach is amazing thou” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Chingford, London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed in standard of hotel, the amazing beach is amazing thou”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner and our son aged 14 stayed here for 1 week all inclusive, 30 mins transfer time from airport is great, however very disappointed in the standard of the hotel, very dated in need of maintenance, it was clean, but shabby something you do not expect when paying £2,300 for a week. We were given a annex room 2 single beds and a sofa bed which was supposed to be a family room?, Room service was okay however I did notice they hadn't changed the sheets left us with no toilet roll one day and no clean towels. RIU need to spend money on this hotel badly. Food was okay but had a bad tummy, entertainment was dire, wi fi had to be purchased and you could only use it in the main reception which I thought was very unfair. No bottle water, and no courtesy room on last day as you have to vacate at 11.00 guests had to use shower room near pool, bit of a shambles had to wait for towels and there was a mass exodus of people waiting to get showered. The beach is amazing though. There are only 2 hotels near the beach both owned by RIU this would explain full occupancy, I have reservations of returning there purely because of the standard of the hotel. But Fuerteventura is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building seem to be less shabby but very dark décor, see view room is nice but cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seandeb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    1,424
    559
    182
    80
See reviews for
1,000
1,830
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Feel free to read through my previous reviews from this hotel.

We just keep coming back here, great value for money, fantastic entertainment, amazing location, just a perfect holiday for us.

Every holiday we look at is measured against this one which is why we keep returning here. The staff now remember us and we email the hotel prior to our visit to let them know we would like to stay in the same room (4th time) and they always manage to sort it for us.

The only let down this time is the bottled water is no longer given complimentary which was a disappointment but there are plenty of self service areas you can help yourself to water.

I would still highly recommend this hotel and we will most definitely return again,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loula_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went back to the Oliva Beach for the 2nd time in 2013 and wasn't disappointed! Our last trip was in January so the weather in August was a lot warmer and sunnier, with just a few hours overcast which cleared by lunchtime on one of our days we visited.

We were in the annexe complex again and this time on the 1st floor. We got a call on the first day to thank us for returning and asking if we were happy with our room - which was a really nice touch.

A couple of little changes this time in that there's no more free bottled water and wi-fi is now payable. I paid for 7 days unlimited access but the wi-fi was slow and signal kept dropping off. its also only restricted to the lobby area and can get very busy at certain times. I asked for a partial refund as I've stayed in hotels all over the world and payable wi-fi service should be of a better standard than they were offering. As a good will gesture they gave it to me.

The food again was absolutely OUTSTANDING! I cannot believe that people moan about the food and can only think that if they are looking for crispy pancakes or lots of other processed foods, no wonder it isn't to their taste? The food is freshly prepared and tonnes of choice on offer. Each time i visited I was always faced with the dilemma of what to have as I could have easily had 3 or 4 choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The grounds are kept spotlessly clean and the beach and the sea were as nice as any carribean destination I've ever been too.

We will definitely go back again xx

Room Tip: We stayed in 2226 in the Annexe and 2115 - we liked 2226 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank librasmile05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a great holiday at the Riu Oliva. Have stayed there before for a week and enjoyed it so thought it would be good for a fortnight.
Hotel is in a fantastic position. The most gorgeous beach just outside the hotel. Miles and miles of powdery sand and beautiful turquoise seas. Fantastic waves for bodyboarding most days too.
We paid extra for a family room this time and are pleased we did as we had so much more space and had a stunning huge balcony overlooking the dunes and sea with table and chairs and 3 sunbeds. Really quiet room too - had emailed the hotel in advance requesting this.
The hotel is very very clean. Waiters and waitresses are constantly clearing away dirty plates etc - sometimes as you just put your knife and fork down. Food is plentiful and very good choice.
Lots of sunbeds. Even available at midday (if ur not fussy about getting a parasol as well).
Entertainment team work really hard. Some of the shows are good, some are dire.
The one disappointment about the holiday was the service we got from the First Choice reps. First we were given a letter to say the welcome meeting was at 10.30-then at 10.30 we were told this was wrong and it was 11am. No one could hear what the rep was saying and it took them 10 minutes to find a microphone. No one wants to sit around waiting for welcome meetings to start on their holiday! Also we had MAJOR cock ups with booking a jeep safari through the reps. The first time we were let down and the jeep did not turn up (think this was the safari company fault). The rep promised she had rebooked it for the following sunday, but it did not turn up again. The jeep company said they did not run safaris on sundays - so the rep had obviously not phoned them at all! Not really good service! Two early starts and a disappointed child looking forward to an excursion - not really what you expect from a reputable company.
Neverless, great holiday. Would stay at the hotel again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank WelshTina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the write up and other reviews we were not expecting such good hotel as it turned out to be.
I had requested a room in the main Hotel and we were very pleased to be given this as it was better than the annex. block with a really wonderful sea view from the room.
The staff were really helpful and actually seemed to be pleased to be there with a welcoming 'Buenos Dias' in the restaurant and bars as well as the cleaning staff and reception.
The food was of a very high standard and we enjoyed all of our meals,
Definitely try the Asian Restaurant as this was of very high quality and exceptional service.The Canarian restaurant was good but not up to the Asian for atmosphere and variety of food.
There were ample sun beds and we always were able to get one. Loads of places to sit, lay or walk in the grounds.
The Beach is fantastic albeit a bit on the windy side but a walk up and down the beach was always good and probably better than laying out provided you get oiled up before you go,
All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to this Hotel.
The staff were excellent and as far as we were concerned made the stay here much better as they were all helpful and efficient and so cheerful.
Well done RIU staff.

Room Tip: Main Hotel provides better views and access to the amenities but the annex has bigger rroms but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GravesendPocahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well I will start by saying what a lovely location. The hotel itself should not be rated as a 4 star though. The rooms were clean but very dated. Most staff were polite until I pointed out that the chicken was raw, they then was very rude and said " well if you get ill I will call you a doctor " No apologies at all. I then woke up the next day and needed an ambulance to take me to hospital. Next thing I remember was waking with a drip in my arm. The doctor had taken bloods and confirmed food poisoning. I had only eaten at the hotel so I knew it was the chicken. My poor children were stuck in the hospital all day because of this. My husband was told the next day that another family had also cut into some chicken and it was raw. We have taken photos and it was raw. The food was also repetitive. I was ill for about 5 days which is not what you need when on holiday. I will say though the pools were nice and entertainment good. The staff were really good with the children also. I will agree that there was some very ignorant people. My son also felt very uncomfortable around the pool with all the topless women. Would I recommend to a friend? NO!!!! Also no chance of sleeping as noise is ridiculous. We did meet some lovely English people though. We were also disappointed that bottled water was not supplied as we were under the impression it was and the water they had on tap smelt awful.....not what you need when ill and it being so hot. Also the air con not working did not help cool the children when they really needed it. I do agree with all inclusive you should be able to get a drink on the beach, even if it is just soft drinks. Overall nice place, nice country but I will not be using Thomson/First choice again as they failed to deal with things in the correct manner. i.e they know best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikemahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Firstly let me say - don't read too much into some reviews on here regarding certain aspects of this hotel. Yes, the decor is a little dated, but who actually goes to a hotel to spend a lot of time looking at the "decor" anyway, this is a 3 star hotel and if you want it to be a bit more modern then book a higher star rating. It is kept very clean at all times, always staff around cleaning the toilets, lobby and pool area - It is a lovely hotel in my opinion.


I think we got very lucky with the room - in the main hotel, right on the top floor, 1 balcony away from the end - the views were spectacular - I never wanted to come home after waking up to seeing the sun rising from the sea and setting over the endless sand-dunes ! The actual inside of the room was not anything massively special but the air-con (which has a sensor on the balcony door so will turn off if the doors are open) worked and everything was clean and the beds were relatively comfy which is all we wanted as we barely spent any time in the room apart from at night.


The food is the standard buffet affair, there's quite a large selection though - breakfast has pretty much every type of egg variety going, beans and a vast variety of breads, yoghurts, meat and cheeses - lunch generally tended to be pizza / pastas / fish / a huge salad bar and dinner was more of the same with cooked meats, fish and a couple of other dishes changing on a daily basis - there are loads of cakes, deserts and ice cream as well. One day they had a chef show cooking mussels in a big pan in the restaurant, another day they invited everyone to paella and sangria outside near the pool area which they cooked in a HUGE pot, was very impressive (and very very yummy as well!), also there was a snack bar just behind the pool bar which was open in between meals which had pizza, burgers, salads etc. if you do get bored there are 2 speciality restaurants (1 Chinese and 1 Canarian) which are well worth a visit each.


The drinks bar near the pool is open from about 10.30 onwards, all of the cold drinks (including beer and wine) are self serve, the Slushie machine got a lot of use! The bartenders will make you cocktails, which get gradually stronger and stronger as the day goes on I think! The bar in the main hotel opens at about 6pm and it's in the same room that the entertainment shows are in the evenings - I didn't actually stay to watch any of these all the way through, but they did musicals, had Irish dancers and one day the kids from the kids club put on a show that they'd obviously been rehearsing for which I thought was quite nice.


If you like to go on holiday to do loads and loads of things then I probably wouldn't advise this location, unless you want to fork out for trips every day, the hotel is quite remote (luckily there's a bus stop right outside the entrance that goes into Correlajo every half an hour, it's about a 10/15 minute journey for about 1 euro 40 cents) - but if you want a nice relaxing holiday then this is your place. The sea is lovely and clear blue but very wavy at times, I went in the sea most days out of the 7 we stayed there and it's not as cold as I was expecting.

I didn't want to leave and hopefully I can return here some day.

Room Tip: Top floor of the hotel for AMAZING views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loria-Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
2.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.9 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing