We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Four of us went on a girly holiday to this hotel in June and we thought it was great, we had the time of our lives, location and beach fantastic, beautiful scenery. we stayed in the Annexes. Rooms spacious and very clean. Staff fantastic especially Fabio. The food was edible but not fantastic, it did get a bit repetitive even though we only stayed for a week, the Asian restaurant was nice though. We met some fantastic friends who we are keeping in touch with and we will definitely return to this place again next year. We did not rate the entertainment very good but we made our own entertainment and had a scream. I holiday a lot and have been to many places including the caribean and I have to say this beach definitely takes some beating, its beautiful. Look out for the nudists though, there are no signs telling you which part they are on. Each to their own but we couldn't help but feel that some of them were not just there for the naturism and were pervs, not nice when you've just had a hot dog for dinner! I definitely recommend this hotel but don't expect too much entertainment although they do try bless em.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    1,424
    559
    182
    80
See reviews for
1,000
1,830
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel, three days were spent sick with food poisoning. I wasn't the only one, many went down sick. Many completed forms about their illnesses with the rep Annaka.
On my last night, I noticed predominantly raw chicken being placed in dishes ready for guests to help themselves.
I notified the head (ruddy faced, large waiter) he went to the smaller chef who "cooked" the chicken to let him know. No wonder so many were sick. This really annoyed me, as it's so important to make sure chicken is cooked. There were many pregnant and elderly guests, this could have been much worse for them.

The hotel has thread bare, dark green carpets, chipped dark wood furniture, and is dingy.
The beach is amazing and can't be faulted. The waves are powerful though so use caution.
The entertainment is terrible and is like being stuck on a bad cheap cruise. I went to bed as it was too bad.
The drinks were sickly, syrupy, mass produced slosh in a plastic cup. No imagination or care went into cocktails at all.
Sunbeds are taken early, a crack of dawn rise is needed if you want one for the day.
I would not go back, as it's just too dated to feel like your on holiday. It's like going back in time.
Not to mention, uncooked food is not what I want to be looking out for on holiday.
Noisy rooms at night over the pool -just not for me. The hotel is aimed at the Germans, so all literature and notices are mainly in German. The reception area is crammed with bored holiday makers using Wi Fi on their phones as its the only past time. You can only get Wi Fi in the reception area which is crammed and you often can't get a seat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I won't write a long-winded essay but I will say this hotel and its staff, amenities, food, etc are just the very best. The beach is about as good as any I've ever seen: crystal clear water, golden sand, and so clean.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the main hotel and ask for a pool-beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyf11Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went here for 2 weeks in July with my wife. My 1st impressions if I'm honest were poor. Reception was rammed and there were people everywhere. This is big hotel and was pretty full. However, as my time progressed I grew to like the hotel. The hotel is generally a German/Dutch hotel. i didn't encounter many British people whilst I was there but that was not an issue for us.

The food is really good, we had no problems at all with any of it. It's a buffet type scenario and they have to prepare a huge amount of food but it was all tasty, well prepared and with a good selection. There are 2 bookable restaurants, one Chinese and one Canarian. Both were very good.

The daytime entertainment was very good and I played Beach volleyball twice a day.

I never went in the pool but had no trouble finding sun beds in the various locations. We tended to go on the ground floor as the breeze was quite cooling there.

The evening entertainment was quite good but we tended to have early nights!

The hotel location is quite a way from Corralejo, we walked there one night via the beach and it took 2 hours.

The hotel is right on the beach and near the dunes.

The rooms are clean and tidy if a little dated.

I did a lot of SCUBA diving using Dive Center Corralejo. I can highly recommend them as they have a great facility and a good boat to take you to the dive sites. They also picked me up from the hotel for my 12 dives.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a room at the end of a corridor if you want a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffBrycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed in Corralejo twice before and other resorts on the island and have seen this hotel on my travels, so I thought it might be nice to go there. Yes, the position is one of the best, a huge pale sand beach that won't ever be too crowded, clear, safe, blue sea, if its not too windy and sun loungers, umbrellas and a beach bar. What a pity I came to the hotel 20 years too late. It doesn't look if much had been done to it since it was built. That said, the staff were all very good, but a lot of the guests were not. Everywhere you looked, there were used glasses and crockery, near the lifts on various floors in the main hotel and all over the gardens and pathways around the Annex, even though there were plastic boxes for guests to use for empties. Obviously, the hotel were trying to alleviate this problem. The place on the whole was kept reasonably clean, but no amount of dusting can improve peeling paint, scratched furniture, cracked tiles and small windows and bird droppings. The food in both restaurants was the usual All Inc fare, but we did get a Bucks Fizz one morning and a freshly made tropical fruit juice another day at no extra charge. The Canarian restaurant was good, except for the non existent watercress soup, which I was looking forward to. The bedrooms in the Annex were a very good size and everything worked OK. The towels, though plentiful, were probably the original ones. Come on, RUI hotels, you have a good reputation. Give this very dated and tired hotel an urgent re-furbishment, it's certainly overdue and then I, and a lot more people, will be pleased to return. One last thing, this was the only hotel I can remember staying in that didn't charge for the in- room safe or the late check out (5pm) from our room. Thank you for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suziesuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip to this hotel, I really love it! The location is amazing, the beach and waves are fantastic. It's near a small town easy access, lots of things to do, the sand dunes are well worth exploring as is the island of Los lobos. The weather was great, not too hot due to the breeze. The hotel staff are extremely friendly, I asked for extra pillows-not a problem, people who I was travelling with asked to move rooms-not a problem. This hotel is great value for money. In the interest of balance I need to mention the extremely hard beds! Also for vegetarians the variety of good isn't that great, but if you like pizza it's fine. The rooms are spacious but a little dated. My main issue of which many will understand is the sun loungers, people still reserve with towels at unreasonably early times in the day. I cannot understand why hotels do not deal with this problem. Everyone has paid so everyone should have the right to use a sun lounger AND parasol. We did have to go indoors one afternoon as we couldn't find any shade to sit in. The hotel has a cat sanctury where they feed the stray cats which is a lovely thing to do but if they can free someone up to feed the cats perhaps they can free staff up to throw people's towels off the sun loungers if they are not using them all day. I would really be interested to know why not just this hotel but many hotels cannot stop people reserving sunbeds!! Rant over. I would also warn people that the waterpark although great for the kids is 25 euros for over 11yrs it makes for a costly day out. Otherwise I really do rate this hotel and fuertuventura for a holiday and would recommend to others especially if they can sort out the sun lounger issue!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our second time to an all inclusive in Fuerteventura and will certainly be our last .
Firstly I have to say I adored Corralejo and will definitely return to this Island but in a villa or bed and breakfast .
The beach the Hotel is located on is stunning , just beautiful , which in all honesty was a good job as the Hotel pool area was awful.

I will try and be as constructive as possible on this review but any positives are few .
The Hotel is so depressing . We stayed in the main part on the 3rd floor , the views from the room were gorgeous , the room was cleaned every day but it was so tired . The bedding awful and everything was so dark .
The food in the Buffet looked ok but if I'm honest I ate nothing at all at breakfast or lunch and we went out every night for food to escape the "zoo " that was classed as a dining room.
This leads me to my explanation as to why I couldn't eat there .
The problem was ALWAYS the German guests , which , I would guess made up 80% of the Hotels occupancy on the week we were there.
They have no manners ,no thought for other guests and no dignity. Picking food up and then putting it back , it was disgusting and the Staff were aware they were doing this . The children were rude and mealtimes were horrible as they were running around all the time , I've never been a fan of wandering around with my plate but here you couldn't anyway as everyone was barging into each other whilst putting their sweaty paws on all the food .
The drinks were self serve also , we even witnessed a middle aged lady spraying cola everywhere from the dispenser then proceeded to wash her hands under the tonic water dispenser. This again , witnessed by Staff who did nothing .
This behaviour is unfair on other guests and has to be addressed by this Hotel .
The snack area by the pool was even worse to witness , people getting out of the pool , wet through and dripping over the food was the final straw for us , why people feel the need to parade their fat saggy bodies in trunks and bikinis whilst devouring 13 burgers and hot dogs is beyond me . One family proceeded to totally dry themselves off in the snack bar area whilst people were eating . It was awful.
I would suggest that the Hotel adopts some kind of policy that Guests need to put some clothes on before subjecting everyone to their "I'm on holiday and I don't care " attitude. We were convinced that people left their dignity at the airport .
Every day we went to the beach , even if we had wanted to stay around the pool all the beds were gone fairly early , also the sewerage smell was unbearable . We were charged 9 euros per day for the beds and umbrella . But I hate to think what we would have done if the Hotel had not been located on this beach .
Every night we went into Corralejo and the taxis were around 8 euros .
We ate in most of the restaurants at night and the prices for drinks and food was really good .
The Mojito Bar did great drinks and nice wine , had a lovely relaxed vibe which was a million miles from the Hotel .
Only when we returned on an evening did we witness terrible entertainment and dreaming kids as we walked through the lobby to get to the lift to our room .

All in all this turned out to be an expensive holiday and all we used the Hotel for was a bed and a shower, I would never go on an all inclusive in Europe again .
I echo what other reviews have said in that it needs closing down and refurbing .
The annex looked better , or better still a different Hotel altogether.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachMarkSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
2.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.9 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing