We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu spend some monney.In need of a spruce up.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Maulden, Beds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Riu spend some monney.In need of a spruce up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from the Riu Oliva beach and overall quite impressed with the facilities on offer. First off you cannot fault the staff for their attention to detail especially in the bar areas and the restaurants in quickly clearing away old plates and glasses and very happy to do so aswell.
We paid extra for a high up sea view over looking the pool ( room 537 ) which just blew me away the the views of the dunes and beach, found this was worth it.
Food was your typical buffet standard which was quite good on some days then let down on others and the bar areas were always clean and tidy and good to have self service drinks available all day.
We went out a couple of nights into Correlejo and it was nice to buy a drink and also be served your meal.
Plenty of sunbeds available with your normal 7 am lets put the towels down and the bugger off.
Go to the beach instead but you will have to pay for the sunbeds ( 3 euros all day ).
I think that the hotel is in a need of a good spruce up especially painting the outside of the hotel but in the rooms all the furniture and carpets need to be changed as these are quite dated.
Only 3 out of 5 but room to improve.

Room Tip: Higher up on pools side for better views. When leaving ask for late check as we did not pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonkytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    1,440
    567
    186
    80
See reviews for
1,013
1,846
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

"i had a wonderful time- but slightly disappointed - 3 out of 5 rating!" is just one comment that amazed me from some of you guys.
i think TA is there to review your holiday based on expectations from the category/price/hotel rating that you have paid for - not on some utopian image that every £400 hol will be faultless.
this is a brilliant hotel and it is set in a stunning location. everthing about it ticks the box for 5 out of 5 based on wht i expected. the staff are amazing, although too many in number for some discerning reviewers! i think they are all a credit to the way the hotel is run and the ethos they share for helping people to enjoy themselves. the food police will never be satisfied - pay more go elsewhere. the food here was lovely and drinks were plentiful.
you could do as little or as much as you liked and were never pestered by the very good animation team. who do people think they are going to see when they put on a show?
what a beach!!!!!! shame about the meerkats who inhabit various hidey holes and feel the need to display with hands on hips and legs akimbo! there - each to his own but please dont bend down in front of me missus when i have just had me brekky!
you wont be disappointed by this hotel unless you are the type who even brings his own table tennis bat on hols! (yes - saw this)
get whatever room and dont spend too much time in it. meet some people and have a laugh!

Room Tip: get on with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank pad-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from a two week holiday at Oliva beach and both of us expressed our delight in having chosen the hotel and Feurteventura for our vacation. We travelled with Thompson's and enjoyed the upgraded seats which offered us great leg room. Having passed swiftly through customs and very quickly collected our luggage we were greeted at the front hall by our Thompson rep and directed to our waiting coach. All very professional and welcoming.The thirty minute journey to the hotel was no hardship. Booking in went quickly an smoothly; the reception staff being most curteous and welcoming. Our room in the annex was twin bedded being very clean if a little basic. This was no trouble to my wife and I who slept every night like logs. Mind you we did get involved in almost all the animated activities each day! As well as eating at the main buffet we also tried the Mandarine (our favourite restaurant) plus The Caneria. The food was, at all times, good and plentiful with a varied choice of menu. There was a show every night; two nights each week professional entertainers were brought in to entertain the guest. The animation team performed all other nights. The beach just outside of our hotel was beautiful however the sea can at times be very rough. We enjoyed our two visits to Correlejo Town with its lovely harbour and plentiful shops. Our return trip was a repeat of our outward journey...very good. A special mention here of the great animation team, all of whom were always friendly and fun.
All in all a great holiday experience and very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spassspass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Rui Olivia Beach had a wonderful time. found the Thompson reps Chris and Jacky brilliant and very helpful ...hotel staff very helpful beds a bit hard and uncomfortable our room was on 5th floor with loverly view of beach just a shame it was in shade. we both thought that although the food was in plentiful supply but the same thing every day it started to get very boring,Saying that the Manderin restaurant was wonderful
. Entertainment was in the Butlins catagory young people with lots of energy nice costumes miming to Abba or show songs (not very well by some of them) very repetative and boring by end of week. A sign in hotel says not to put towels on sun beds to reserve them seems that does not apply to the Germans, And talking about them this hotel is definatly geared very much with them in mind and despite not having any opinions about them before this holiday we now think they are rude arrogant and treated other guest with a definate lack of respect , A little inprovement and this could be a perfect holiday

Room Tip: try to get a room in main hotel higher the better and on south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionelkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Me & my husband stayed at this hotel for 1 week 20th April it was just fantastic cannot fault any of it. Hotel, food, staff, location was amazing. We were given an duplex apartment which was wonderful. Choice of 3 diff restaurants was brilliant ........you have to try the Mandarin Restaurant
but the hotel could not do enough for you. First time we have been to Fuerteventura and we just loved it. Weather was 32 degrees but with the lovely breeze it was lovely. Not like Egypt where you just fry !! The beaches are just out of this world and its unbelievable they are just on your doorstep. Will def be going back had an amazing holiday and the Germans and French were all lovely in the hotel with all their families. I am in 50s and hubby in 60s and loved the entertainment, loved the All Inclusive ........Thanks Thomson for fab holiday xx

Only fault would say gym needs improving, equipment out of date

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl_greer228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel that's away from it all.. surrounded by nothing but sand dunes and beaches..this is the place for you.

If you decide to come here your first decision is annexe or main hotel?.. unless you have kids..you definitely want to pay the little extra and stay at the hotel..The times I went thru the annexe just to get to the Chinese restaurant.. I wasn't impressed with it..most of the apartments seemed to have unusable balconies.. either people walking right past the ground floor ones or the 2nd/3rd floor ones with awful outlooks.
If you do decide to go for the hotel.. your next decision is whether to try for a sea view or pool view.... Sea view has fantastic views of the nearby Los Lobos Island and across to Lanzarote..and you get the sunrise and sunsets ..Pool view..as well as a view of the pool area you get the miles of spectacular sand dunes and sun in the afternoon. Whatever side you get..1st floor is to be avoided..and the 2nd floor for that matter.. they're noisy and have restricted views.. 3rd floor is your minimum requirement.

The hotel's public areas are in good maintenance but the rooms.. well our room. .was tired and run down. .a chipped tile..peeling paint.. rusty plug hole in the bath.. stained toilet seat etc..but you know.. 10 days all inclusive here was cheaper than half board at the neighbouring Riu Palace Tres Islas.. so you get what you pay for.

Sun loungers were generally available all day.. thou the best ones with sea views were usually snapped up by the early brigade..so if you want one of those.. you know what you have to do.. thou not too early.. One morning I saw a staff member clearing towels off the beds at 8.30.

Drinks at the bars were OK with not too much queuing. The entertainment was also generally watchable.. best of the bunch were their versions of The Rocky Horror picture show.. and Grease.

As for the dining room..I wasn't too impressed with the food or the layout of it..there was little variety for breakfast..Bacon only twice in 10 days (streaky at that) and not once did we get proper sausages.. lunch wasn't any better.. but what bothered me was actually trying to get the food! They had plates at both ends of the main English.. hot..buffet type food area.. so people started filling their plates at different ends.and. . .then clashed in the middle!.. honestly at times.. you felt traffic lights were needed..or give way signs! The tables are well spaced..so once you've got your food you can enjoy it.
They have two speciality restaurants..which more than make up for the dining room shenanigans..one Chinese and one doing local type food.. thou the one time I went to that place I just had a typical roast dinner!.paid 3 visits to the Chinese. you can go as often as you like.. you just have to book in advance.

The pool area was probably state of the art when it was built in the 70's.. but now it resembles an old fashioned Lido.

The clientele was mainly German.. but there were 30 people at our welcome meeting.. so there's plenty of English there.

Check-out time was 11am and our flight wasn't till 9.25pm.. but they let us keep the all inclusive wristband all day..which was a nice touch..All the staff speak English and are very pleasant and helpful..they're nice people.
Overall I had a good time at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed2010NorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to Fuerteventura several times before but always to the south of the island - and to the same hotel in Jandia.
So for a change we went to a new location.

Firstly - The very good to outstanding.

The hotel's location is breathtaking. It's set in the middle of a nature reserve 4 miles from the nearest town and with a beach that seems to go on for about 10 miles inland. If you like a desert type environment made up of white sand then this is for you. The hotel has seven floors - request any room in the main hotel overlooking the pool area from floor four upwards and you will really enjoy the spectacular views. Pay a little extra and stay in the main hotel itself, as opposed to the low rise 'Annexe buildings' which are pleasant enough but lacks sea/beach/sand dune views.

The staff are very good. They go out of there way to help and are very friendly.

Secondly - The less good to average.

The hotel itself. It was built in the 1970s and displays all of the same design faults found in medium sized council housing blocks of flats built in the 1960s. It's layout is a bit bleak. Getting from one place to another never quite seems to be sensibly designed. The rooms are rather jaded but seemed OK to us - but the beds were not comfortable. Also - as standard - one of the three lifts in the hotel seemed to be out of action, so there are often queues and delays. You should not pay a lot of money for this hotel.

Thirdly - The less than average to poor.

The food was generally poor. Bland, cool to luke warm, monotonous stuff all served up in a manic, chaotic canteen environment. Dinner time was particularly bad.
A tip: when you arrive you'll be told that there are two 'special' dinner restaurants - the Canario(?) and the Mandarin(?) - and you must book 24 hours in advance at Reception. These have wine/drinks waiters, the food is at least warm, often tasty, and you don't have to pay extra to use these restaurants. But, the impression given is that you can only do this once during your stay. After a couple of dinners in the chaos of the 'canteen' we decided to try to book in every night in one of the two 'special' restaurants - so we did and no one stopped us.
Another tip is that the hotel should be avoided if you're not into kids. There were lots of toddlers and infants = lots of screaming and bawling at meal times.

Corralejo is disappointing. It has one main shopping street with a couple of shopping malls with shops similar to those in the UK - with similar prices. Even what passes as the 'old town' is small; and the fact that it appears to be dominated by an Angus Steak House kind of suggests that this is not a traditional Spainish enviornment.

Lastly - Would we go there again? Only if the price was really very, very right.

Room Tip: Main hotel 4th floor or above and overlooking the pool area. More sun and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing