We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey-CI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very good hotel. There's a 420 room block comprising the main hotel. We stayed in the annex over the road which is an asymetric bundle of 2-4 storey buildings. Lucky enough to get one of the very few two storey rooms, facing west, with a balcony on each floor. Tv shoed a few English crime channels if thats your way.
Reception and restaurant staff were ultra- attentive and very polite. Food served, for the most, in the large featureless basement hall and predominantly catered for the Germans. There was always something to eat, just not very good in parts; congealed pasta, cold sausages, under cooked hamburgers but , hey, as I said, there was always plenty of salad, breads, fresh pizzas
Never had a problem getting a sunbed. Even so, some insisted on 'reserving' theirs with a towels weighted down by chairs as it was raining and no-one was going out that morning - Doh!
Gym was just about OK; six fixed weight machines but only three pins. Two bikes and a rower with a bust computer. Judging by the look of most holidaymakers, this room wasn't going to be a priority.
The beach outside the hotel is nice but the sunbeds are another concession (cE3 a day). It looks like (from the number of lifeguard stations and sideays current at Corralejo) that rips might be an issue.
Can't comment on the entertainment; not for me and guess it wasn't going to be geared for Brits anyway
The hotel itself is about four miles from the nexus of Correlajo and would recommend a pretty shore line walk to it and a bus back (E1.30).
I didn't pay very much at all for this weeks break and so regard all the above as good value for money. Fly factor 1/10. Five sunny days out of seven.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2324
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    1,459
    574
    189
    84
See reviews for
1,029
1,868
102
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited this hotel in the winter for a weeks break, a last minute deal.

We got a good price for a week, about the same as a lot of half board places and some self catering places.

I have to say we had no real complaints and found the whole place to be excellent value for money. The food wasn't Michelin star but come on what do people want for £400 a week, we've stayed in far more expensive hotels and fund the food to be on a par.

To answer some previous issues raised, yes the entertainment is focused towards Germans but so what. If the s the biggest thing to worry about is a 1 hour show which to be honest would be as poor in English and beach volleyball in German then you have really won a watch. We stayed in the annex and for some reason we didn't get beach towels provided, bit of a let down from a large chain and one that is providing all inclusive accommodation, and also on the subject of the annex, I have read people moaning that they are isolated but again we would not agree with that in anyway, yes its a slightly longer walk but we are not talking a hike we are talking about 3 minutes walk. The main resort is a distance away but we found it close enough for a leisurely walk.

All in all a good cheap week away to a clean hotel with the back up of it being part of a chain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kodi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

With this being the 5th Riu I had stayed at I had reasonably high expactations but to be honest it was a little disappointing. I should say the weather didn't help, only 2 days without rain and 2 hours on a sunbed in a week was not what I was expecting. Still nothing can be done about that but it can about the hotel

We stayed in the hotel and although the rooms were small and the decor a little tired, it was handy not to be in the annex which in the rain seemed a long way away.

Service is absolutely top class, never had to wait for anything, the reception service was excellent and the bar service lightning quick so no issues at all there

Rooms was comfortable and the bed was very good and as is the norm for a Riu cleanliness in the room and the public areas was no issue. Glasses were cleared almost as you emptied them and one report said about flies, that is the case but it was the case in the bars I used in Corralejo as well so not sure I put that one down to the hotel

The food and restaurant were my biggest issue. First the positive, the Canarian and especially the Asian theme restaurants were very good, the main restaurant was not. At no point in the week did we walk in to fins a clean set table, the food was bland, extremely repetitive and frankly of a poor quality. There is clearly a love of rabbit in this hotel, never seen so much of it. Breakfast was TOTALLY geared for ther German clients with an excellent selection of salads but sod all for us traditional Brits, we saw bacon twice in 7 days and it was uncooked and greasy, the frankfurters each day were dry and cold and generally the quality was extremely poor. There was simply not enough staff clearing tables. They also closed the restaurant in the annex for the week and this put additional pressure on the main restaurent

So the poorest Riu I have visited and very disappointing. Did the weather taint my view..........maybe but not sure it would have changed it that much

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Riu Oliva Beach from 7th November 2012 - 21st November 2012 having booked at fairly short notice as we intended to go to Jamaica again, but tempted to try Riu Oliva due to the Caribbean looking sea and golden white sands at a fraction of the price of Jamaica. We were not disappointed.

I don't know which hotel some of the negative reviews were staying, but they seem poles apart from how we found Club Oliva.

On arrival mid afternoon we were quickly seen by the friendly reception staff and directed downstairs to get a drink and some food. By the time we came back up out keys were ready, and we were accompanied to our room.

Rooms:
We had paid for a sea view room, highly recommended, which overlooked the beach, sea, and the neighbouring islands. We were originally on the 1st floor, which was fine, but overlooked the only clump of Canarian Pine Trees which I am allergic to, so we were swiftly, and efficiently moved to the 6th floor, which was equally clean and also had fabulous views.Both rooms were immaculately clean although a little dark. The balcony was appreciated, although on the non pool side the balconies do not get any sun. I would advise taking a travel kettle if you are like me and need two cups of tea before facing the day. The Bar staff are very amenable to giving you a carton of milk which was a God send.

Staff:
The staff seemed so happy, and nothing was too much trouble. They came across as a great team determined to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Tables were constantly being cleared in both the outside areas, the bars and restaurants, along with the ashtrays in the outside areas.

Food:
We found the food to be very good, with ample choice, and given that we were there for two weeks we didn't find it repetitive. If you don't like boiled to death vegetables theirs are the best! We are not vegetarian, but I could have survived quite well had we been. The food was not piping hot in all cases, but 5* hotel food is never piping hot either. There was always an abundance of fruit, puddings plentiful, even cheese and biscuits. The soups were lovely, fish tasty, Shrimps, Smoked Salmon, Steaks, Chicken, Pork, Pasta dishes etc etc.

We found the late afternoon tea menu to be a bit limited and sparse, usually slices of cake, Burgers and Hot Dogs, but there usually was a bit of salad also, and of course ice-cream, but if you skip lunch and are hungry at about 3.30 - 4.00 there is not much to snack on.

We ate in the Speciality Chinese Restaurant one night, the food was good, but it was brightly lit, with no ambience and self-service. We didn't try the Canarian Speciality Restaurant as it looked to be the same sort of thing with different food.

Shops on Site:
The hotel newsagents/shop was very useful and reasonably priced, and there is a mini-market close to the annex accommodation. I suggest that you buy an umbrella and windbreak from the hotel shop on your first day as it will save you 3 euros a day and they only cost 14 euros as the beach is very breezy.

There is free Wi Fi in the Reception which was quite quick.

Entertainment/Activities:
There was plenty going on for those who wanted to participate, but it was not rammed down your throat which was nice, as you weren't made to feel a 'party pooper' for not wanting to join aerobics or water-polo etc
I thought that the evening entertainment was well thought out and just that - entertaining. The Terrace bar had live music/bands/singers most nights, mainly geared to the 40+, but hey ho! It was nice to see people doing some ballroom dancing, jiving, and bopping. There is also a disco/Nightclub that is open until 2am.

Drinks:
We found the drinks to be ok. The red wine was good, although better from the restaurant, as for some strange reason they insist on keeping it chilled in the upstairs bar like white wine. The Cocktails are all right, unlike what a previous review mentioned. You just have to ask to have one made up and they will oblige.

Clientèle:
When we were there it was 90% German, 1% Russian, 1% French, 1% Swiss, 1% Italian, 1% Spanish and 1% English/Scot/Welsh. There were very few children, but that was perhaps the time of year, and the age range was 20-80. A lot of Germans were in fairly large parties, but I would not dissuade anyone from trying this hotel. I think that it would be perfect if you were holidaying there in a foursome or as a family. We found that we didn't really meet anyone as we only heard English on a few occasions, and they were in a group of 4+ anyway.

Pool:
With a crystal clear sea we didn't use the pool, but neither did many people. The beds around the pool always seemed to be full though.

Beach:
The beach was gorgeous, with soft white sand, but you have to pay 3 euros for each sun bed and umbrella which tots up if you're there for 2 weeks.If you don't pay for a sun bed you can't sit within the sun bed area, but even though the beach is miles long you don't have to trek for more than 5 minutes to find a spot. The beach is quite windy and we bought a wind break for 14 euros from the hotel shop which was brill.

Naturism:
You can't expect to go to either Fuerteventura or Lanzarote and not encounter Naturists. At this hotel it is ideal, as within about 200m to the right of the hotel it is mainly naturist. It doesn't entail a long trek over headlands, nor climbing down difficult paths, and there is a snack bar if you can't be bothered to walk the short distance back to the hotel.

Bus into Corralejo:
This is great, and runs from just outside the hotel every half hour until 10pm. It takes about 20 mins into Corralejo where the shopping is good and there are plenty of restaurants.

I hope that this review is of help to anyone who is considering this hotel. It is much better than it appears on the holiday sites, and we would definitely consider returning again.

Room Tip: I recommend the main hotel and not the annex which is a little walk from the main complex. Higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DebnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The beach was fantastic and we spent most of our time on there. The pool area was full of flies, Riu need to improve the cleanliness of this area in particular, they need to clean tables after every use as this is what is attracting flies. I cant believe they don't wash and disinfect this area regularly, it is unbelievable.

The food was ok, but very repetitive.
We stayed in the hotel which is in desperate need of updating and renovation.

I would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j1ck23ly4ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from the Riu Oliva Beach, Corralejo, Fuerteventura. Although the weather wasn't as expected, it rained on a couple of the days, the resort and hotel lived up to expectation.
We were in the annex and the room was very spacious and clean, perhaps in need of a re furb but the housekeeping was impeccable. The food was all buffet style and enough variety to satisfy even the most fussy of eaters. All beautifully presented and freshly cooked. We ate in the seperate dinning areas, on two occassions and enjoyed the smaller quieter experiences. You need to book at reception for the following evening,
The reception staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Pool areas were well kept, clean and plenty of room for everyone. The bar staff equally attentive and efficient.
The beaches are amazing and it's a really lovely walk from the hotel into the town of Carralejo. Plenty of shops and bars with some bargains to be had, if shopping is your thing. The bus stops at the end of the road and is a couple of euros into Corralejo or to the Port.
An enjoyable week away before the onslaught of Christmas.

Room Tip: Annex sounds a bit misleading, it's a large complex away from the main hotel, lovely and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank colettemorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
287 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel and the beach was wonderful with such soft white sand and the weather was warm throughout our stay.

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable and the room was spacious and so clean. There was so much to do here in the range of activities and the food was excellent with a huge amount of variety. The all inclusive option was terrific value for money and we couldn't believe our luck.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel is surrounded my massive sand dunes which look beautiful at sunset. I recommend a walk up the beach to have a beer in the small bar which was lovely. A highlight was a giant paella that the resident chef cooked whilst singing which was great fun and the paella was delicious. Great place and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing