We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderful friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this holiday as a late deal with Thompsons. Although we hadn't visited Fuerteventura before we weren't disappointed.

Flights were on time, the only thing was at the airport it wasn't clear where we should go to get the coach for the Hotel. The lady at the desk wasn't very helpful she just indicated that we go outside to row A. It was quite late and very dark outside, not easy to see where the row was. We just followed other people and found it that way. More explicit directions/rep are needed to help people.

The hotel was fantastic. Greeted by very friendly professional staff and champagne. We didn't have to wait long before we were allocated our room, luggage followed almost immediately.

The room was very clean, fresh, and cosy. Very well furnished, pictures on the walls, TV etc, everything one would need.

Breakfast was plentiful in choices of cereals, hot and cold buffet, and again champagne for those who would like a glass.

Towels were allocated and sunbeds round the pools were plentiful. The staff from the snack bar were very efficient and friendly, nothing too much trouble.

The restaurant was first class. The staff greeted you as you entered, which was a nice touch. Again plenty of choice and seeing the food cooked before you was very reassuring. So much choice, too much choice! We would have liked coffee to be included with the evening meal though.

Entertainment was good. However the resident band was a bit boring as the girl kept singing the same songs every night and it wasn't music younger people would have danced too, ie Take That, etc would have made a change.

Reception staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we were even given a courtesy bottle of Cava because we didn't like the bottle of sherry which was put in the room when we arrived.

I would have liked the hotel to have been a little nearer the village, but having said that the bus ran hourly and taxis were plentiful. We visited the market and bought a few leather goods for a good price.

We would certainly visit this hotel again, in fact its a definite! We would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing holiday. We went in October so the children were at school and it was nice and quiet. I would think this hotel was geared up for adults more than children.

As regards room location. We had a room which was at the front of the hotel. We heard the delivery lorries early each morning so the rooms overlooking the pools would be quieter.

Thank you to everyone at Rui Palace Tres Islas for making it a truly wonderful holiday and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms overlooking the pools if you want a quiet location. We didn't get the sun on ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ednamay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    481
    123
    24
    17
See reviews for
299
955
76
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a number of reasons that were advertised:
1. Heated swimming pool (for our 3 year old).
2. Child friendly
3. Close proximity to kitesurfing
4. Trip Advisor recommendations, especially with respect to food.

Sadly, other than the view to the north towards Lobos, we were pretty disappointed.
When we arrived, we (3 yr old, mum, dad) found that we had all been put in a twin room, where they had installed a camp bed for our 3yo. We had to have chairs and tables removed so we could move, it was so cramped. Not what we'd expected when we were paying full price for each of us.
Our first trip to the pool was also a disappointment, it was freezing, especially the kiddies pool. We found out later that it was actually a lot colder than the sea. Other than the temperature, the pools are lovely, but if they are so cold your kids can't play in them till late afternoon, not much good. However, get the kids onto the beach between the 2 Rius and it's lovely, beautiful sand and safe bathing.
The hotel is predominantly geared towards the over 60s, with a distinct lack of facilities or amusements for anyone who wants to do more than go on organised tours, eat, drink and lie on a sun lounger. Internet access was only available in a small area of the lobby and the hotel's system didn't work the whole week we were there.
The evening dining system is a bit archaic. Once you've sat down for an evening meal, that's it, they won't let you move from there for your stay. Men have to wear long trousers to dinner.
The food was again a disappointment, generally overly salty and fish (my passion) was generally cooked to a mush (I'd not had mushy monk fish before). It's all just OK, but get out to a local restaurant in Corralejo or Cotillo and you'll really understand what the food should taste like. Having said that, the buffets are extensive so there's always something that is OK.
This hotel could, and should be so much better, sadly, for the younger and more active, it's an expensive bed and buffet. We will not be going back there and wouldn't recommend families to go here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank mungomck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is our second time at this hotel. We had a junior suite with a living room and balcony on the first floor overlooking the pool. The staff at this hotel work really hard and go out their way to please their guests. The rooms are tidied to a high standard and are kept very clean. We went on a half board basis which is better value than b&b the buffet food at breakfast and dinner is very well managed. The food is plentiful with lots of different cuisines. At lunch times we ate at the pool bar one of the other restaurants which were good value. The staff are always smiling and greet you all the time. You can take the hotels towels to the beach and return the next day for fresh ones. Taxis are always outside should you wish to visit the town which we did once.
The only let down is the evening entertainment which is poor and just laughable although it is aimed at the over 60's I think. Also I emailed the hotel several times to ask for mattress toppers on our beds and they never did but I requested again at reception which they duly did the following night. The beds are quite uncomfortable without them. The beach is out of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the view and mattress toppers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just returned from Riu Tres Islas Palace, it having been our third visit. The hotel is just as wonderful as ever. All the staff, and I mean all the staff, were just so friendly and very very helpful. The food is as good as ever. We had a sea view room on the second floor and the views are just amazing. Can't wait to return. If anybody reads any negatives reviews on here please ignore them because there is always somebody ready to moan and there is nothing to moan about at this hotel. We will certainly be going back time and time again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank westond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

For past 6 years all our holidays have been in Riu Hotels mostly Palaces
I have to say that this hotel was the worst for smoke..... They would not open the theatre for the entertainment but chose instead to use the terrace area where you were surrounded by smokers there was no where to sit without smoke apart from the bar which only seated about 40 people
The entertainment was stuck in the 1970-80s with oompah music! Beijing acrobats, abba and even Elvis
Fantastic beaches a plus for this hotel but not the usual Palace standard

Room Tip: Most of the sea view rooms don't get the sun on your balcony although you do get magnificent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blusneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel from 16th - 23rd October.
The hotel is set on a beautiful stretch of beach. It was ideal in the morning after breakfast to go for a long walk and burn some calories.The hotel is a little old fashioned in parts but it also has a nice homely feeling in the lobby etc.The rooms are adequate but again could do with a bit of a refurb.The rooms are kept spotlessly clean each day by the pleasant ladies.
There are two pools. These were cold to get in initially but once in were very pleasant. There is also a small childrens pool and two jacuzzis. It was also nice to swim in the sea but the waves can be quite forceful at times. There are nudists further down the beach so if you are offended by this it is not the place for you.
The restaurant was very pleasant with a wide variety of food each morning and night. I did not find the staff in the restaurants particularly friendly. I asked one for advice about the choice of wine but she was not very helpful. They are however extremely busy with lots of tables to attend to. Went to the Krystal restaurant one night. Do not be put off by the disgusting appetizers that they serve first. After this it was very nice food but not very big portions if you are hungry.
The entertainment at night was a bit boring at times, same resident singer and keyboard player. There were other acts occasionally which were quite good. The music and entertainment stopped at 11 oclock every night. I thought the price of some drinks were expensive. Expect to pay between 7-8 euros for a cocktail. Spirits were 6-7 euros and then the price of the mixer. Sangria was very nice at 4.5 euros.
There were some nice touches in the hotel like a basket of fruit, half bottle of wine and full bottle of cava in the room on arrival.
Went into Corralejo a couple of nights. There are some nice bars to sit and listen to music or there are a couple of rock bars with good bands. There is usually someone waiting outside who would be willing to share a taxi and share the costs. 7-8 euros into Corralejo.
We have stayed at the Riu Oliva two years ago, and these two hotels are poles apart. However the Oliva is still good value for money.
All in all we had a pleasant stay and a nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 550. This room did not get the late sun but had fabulous views over to Lobos and Lanz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coralUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel and we will be going back next year, the setting is fantastic with beaches that can easily rival the Caribbean. Staff are all friendly and the food is just soooo good, I defy anyone to find fault with it!!
Room was spacious and as we were there for 14 nights we upgraded to a sea view and what a view.
This is not a hotel for non stop night life and if you want to be in the centre of things then I suggest that staying at Corralejo would be best for you, but if you just want to relax and unwind BOOK NOW!

Room Tip: If staying longer than a week upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
2.5 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#10 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing