We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, some positives, some negatives.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Ash Green, Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, some positives, some negatives.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rather than write an essay I would rather list the plus and minus points as we found them.
We stayed for the first 2 weeks in September.

Positives

1. Efficient and welcoming check in.
2. We upgraded to a junior suite at 80 euros per day supplement. This gave us far more wardrobe space, large bathroom, lounge area and pleasant glass fronted balcony.
3. The cleaning of the rooms couldn't be faulted. Sheets changed daily, towels twice daily.
4. We went for the 20.30 dinner sitting and were able to secure a table, for our stay, close to the buffet, but not hemmed in as some tables were.
5. Restaurant staff were very helpful and the table was cleared promptly.
6. The food was, on the whole, prepared to a high standard with a good selection of local and international styles. The vegetarian options were well thought out.
7. The breakfast choices were varied with fried eggs, omelettes and french toast being cooked to order.
8. The wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced.
9. The bar was waiter service which was quite efficient (we only went before dinner, when quite quiet)
10. The prices of drinks were what you would expect to pay in a 4* hotel.
11. The pool bar service was good and the pool bar menu was varied and the food freshly cooked to a very high standard.
12. The pools were clean, and not too busy.
13. The pool loungers were not crammed too closely together and free pool towels were provided daily.
14. The adjacent beaches were amazing, almost as good as Porto Santo. Long walks could be made in either direction. The sea was sometimes choppy, but lifeguards were on the lookout the whole time.
15. Limited loungers and umbrellas were site on the beach for a daily hire of 3 euros each item.
16. There is free wi fi in the reception area, which extends to parts of the pool area for those that want it.

Negatives

1. The lifts are quite small resulting in queues at busy times.
2. The restaurant rule requiring men to wear long trousers needs to be rethought. Of course no one wants to see vests and swimming trunks / football shorts at dinner, but whatever you say, this is a self service buffet and more akin to a canteen than a restaurant. Tailored shorts should be acceptable as this is a holiday destination in a hot climate and not an old peoples home. Some old duffers were even parading around in suits - if this is what you want, go on a cruise.
3. The menu during our 2nd week was the same as the 1st week for 5 of the days, only being varied for 2 days, which was a bit of a disappointment.
4. The menu in the "a la carte" restaurant didn't change for the 2 weeks that we were there.
5. If only the entertainment in the "Piano Bar" could've been a pianist playing a piano as ambient background music. Unfortunately the hotel management have identified the 70 - 80 year old age group as their target audience which resulted in a husband and wife combo playing insipid 60/70's middle of the road classics every night with a bit of oom pah pah and Strauss thrown in for our German cousins.
6. Oh, I forgot, they had an Elvis impersonator one night - enough said!
7. The pool lounger reserving thing was a sight to behold. As I'm used to getting up at 5.45am to go to work, and as our balcony looked directly over the pool, I was able to observe these ghostly wraiths creeping around the pool area, in their white dressing gowns, at 6.00am, bagging all the "best" loungers. The strange thing is that most of the toweled loungers remained empty all day.
8. Hugely fat men in speedos!
9. Even fatter women in bikinis!
10. For the record, points 8 & 9, above, are not the fault of the hotel.

All in all we had a good, relaxing stay in a very pleasant hotel, which is exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    501
    129
    25
    19
See reviews for
307
994
81
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here back in June. Greeted in reception with a glass of champagne and quick check in. Fantastic large room with wonderful view of the beach and sea. Greeted by all the kitchen staff on the first day - nice touch. The food was amazing - fantastic variety and buffet style meant you could choose your portion size, Very attentive in the restaurant and quick to help. The pool was lovely and the beach right there. The only thing that I found frustrating was the Germans 'saving' their sun beds and then not even using them. I feel the hotel should address this problem. Also the staff are far more attentive to the Germans than the Brits. Probably because they are bigger tippers and are more demanding. The beds are very hard but they soon brought mattress toppers to soften them. On the last day we were promised a room where we could shower and change but there were not left. SO they gave us the penthouse suite - Wonderful! I wouldn't go back but only because the island is quite barren. Great hotel and I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are a family of three, mum, dad and child of 14 years. Our preference is to have easy access to a beach, a clean, large pool and a gym. Additionally, we want to go on excursions to see something of the island and its people. This was our first time in Fuertaventura, although we have visited other Canary islands.
The island: Fuertaventura is a volcanic island and very rocky and dry. Therefore, there's not a lot to see. The sand dunes to the south of the hotel are visually stunning, however. With Thomson, we did an island trip and saw some pretty villages, Antigua, Betancuria etc, an aloe vera factory and a goat farm. My daughter and I also visited the zoo, Oasis Park, and experienced the 30 mins camel 'safai'. As a family, we visited the local water park (where we had to pay 4 Euros each for the rubber rings, which are only needed for 3 rides; poor value). Shopping in Corralejo's high street and Sunday market was also interesting. Taking a ferry to the nearby island of Lobos, is a good idea for a change of scenery. It only takes 15 minutes from the port of Corralejo. It has two beaches, one larger than the other and there is an information centre and a small family restaurant. Please note that you must book to eat there, as they get very busy. You can also take a 3.5 km walk to the old lighthouse, but wear comfortable shoes, not flipflops.
The hotel: We found the hotel very good. Although it is was outside the main town of Corralejo, there was a regular bus service. The 2 beaches were easily accessible and beautiful, with soft, golden sand; very good for families with small children, as it was very shallow. The reception staff were helpful and informative. They spoke very good English (better than our Spanish). The room that we had, facing the East, was comfortable with a wonderful sea view and we saw a glorious sunrise in the mornings, if the sky was not overcast.The cleaning staff worked very hard, keeping the room thoroughly cleaned, giving us clean towels and bed linen almost daily. The dining area was bright and airy, with a wide selection of good quality food. The two maitres d'hotel were very helpful, making my husband's porridge in the microwave each morning, as porridge was not on their menu. Having two evening sittings for dinner, one at 18:30 and the other at 20:30, was good as it meant that there was not a rush and a scramble to find a table. The rule of having men wearing long trousers to dinner, was most welcome, as it brought a sense of occasion to the dining experience. If you needed to change sittings, there was no problem. They also had a small a la carte restaurant called The Krystal, which made a nice change and the food was tasty. However, the menu remained the same over the two weeks and we feel that they could have had a different menu for alternate weeks. Initially, we were reluctant to sign for drinks and snacks, but we kept a daily record and our total was the same as the hotel; there were no hidden extras. If you wanted to pay cash at the pool bar or the snack bar, you could; there was no problem.The pool and piano bar staff were efficient, receptive and friendly. The WiFi was intermittent, but we were on holiday, so no big deal.
The only drawback was the gym. This needs to be refurbished, as it lacked a treadmill and the exercise bikes had seen better days (rust was visible on both of them). There were exercise stations for the legs, but nothing for the upper body.
Our holiday was enjoyable, we had a good rest and felt that the staff wanted us to have a good time. If you want a relaxing holiday, the Tres Islas hotel would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room at the end of a corridor, as it minimises the noise of other guests passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were greeted by efficient!friendly,well spoken english receptionist,a glass of champagne while we were checked in.our cases taken to our amazing room with pool and sea view.All rooms at front of hotel don't have balcony.Water,fruit and wine as standard in rooms.Plenty of choice with food,but layout of hot food creates long slow queues,as food stations set close together.Beach entrance through gates is amazing,pure white sand,clear blue sea,like the carribean.watch out for the nudist bathers all along beaches!will be returning

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank she00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time to Fuerteventura and the journey from the airport to the the hotel put a downer on the holiday before it started. Its like travelling over the moon, until you get closer to the hotel when the landscape then changes to a sandy desert.
Upon checking in at the hotel at 1730hrs we were told our evening meal sitting was at 1830hrs..which was fine after a long day, but then told the men had to wear long trousers...Which I hadn't brought any. Trying to explain this we were told there is no exception and we would have to buy some. With the hotel being in the middle of nowhere we had to wait until the hotel shop opened at 1930hrs, then take the later dinner sitting. Eur100 later i had a pair of trousers. Nothing that we had while booking the holiday mentioned the restaurant has this policy. Even though women can where anything....and next to nothing, without a problem.
The food in the restaurant is one of the best points to this hotel, the variety and quality of the food is a real plus for the hotel. The only irritation is the greed and selfishness of people at breakfast when they take far too many pancakes...especially when they are freshly made and there's a long queue waiting for them.
Sunbeds....all I can say is you need to be up by 7am to get your beds bagged otherwise they are taken by the Germans. Check this vid out... ( youtube.com/watch?v=vQETh9gidyA ).
We saw on a number of occasions Germans taking sunbeds at 7am and then not using them all day or coming back at around 4pm in the afternoon after spending the day on the beach.
Note : This hotel is not a 5 start hotel (as sold by Thomson). Even the hotel shows itself as a 4 Star. It may have been 4 star in the 1970's, but these days, the décor and furniture is very dated and looks tired, although it is clean.
The location to the beach is a real plus. The beach, especially on the northern side of the hotel is great and the Atlantic sea is Blue and inviting. One thing you have to get used to is a constant wind, sometimes quite strong. (as well as the odd nudist)
Overall : Good location for the beach, Bad location for any civilisation. Pools are adequate, but nothing special. Sunbeds and the Germans domination of them is irritating. Food in the restaurant is the best thing about the hotel. Hotel rooms are OK, but certainly not 5 star. The views from the sea view side are worth an extra payment to have. Hotel entertainment...AWFUL.
If your 65+ and stuck in a 1970's time warp this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to have a Sea View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

You will need to check the bill everyday to keep track of what you buy as they will charge you a random amount and add charges to your bill. The drinks will be charged at different prices each night. The bar service is terrible as is the reception. A few of the staff are very rude and didn't seem to have much time for the english. The roof in the room leaked twice in a row and the shower won't stay at one temperature it keeps jumping. There was a cockroach in the bar and they have a problem with pigeons about the bar, pool areas and balcony. If it was updated in 2007 there's nothing to really show it. The food isnt particularly nice and drinks expensive. The entertainment is shocking and you are better to get a taxi to correlejo in the evening for a drink as its cheaper and entertainment much better. Beach is absolutely amazing along with the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripReveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited the hotel during the first two weeks of August. We had a second floor suite and it was perfect for the three of us. (Partner and teenage daughter). On arrival we where greeted by a smiling porter who took our bags and gave us a glass of sparkling wine. We relaxed in the magnificent lobby and waited, briefly, to be checked in. The room, located at the front of the hotel, had two fantastic views that looked directly out to sea and then across the beach towards Lobos. It was stunning. We could lie in bed and see the waves or on our, very large, terrace and read quietly and undisturbed. The maid service was very good and they always managed to clean our room when we popped out.

The food was really good and a varied selection for breakfast and each night. The waiters where always smiling and very helpful. We really appreciated the way Rafa looked after us.The Krystal Fusion restaurant is worth a visit. The décor is beautiful and the food is presented really well. Although we enjoyed it my teenage daughter was not a fan- it is not a restaurant for children.

During the day we usually visited the beautiful golden beach next to the hotel. The pool area is very nice, however, I do not see the appeal of lying next to a pool all day, although I did use it to swim on several occasions. There are two beaches next to the hotel, the busier one is in front and accessed via the pool bar area- this was great for wave jumping and on calm days swimming to the rocks. The quieter beach is accessed via the spa area and is frequented by kite fliers and wind surfers-it is beautiful. (note- you do encounter some nudists in this area).

We ate most nights in the hotel, however, we did go into Corralejo on several occasions and ate at some of the lovely restaurants and bars near the harbour area of the town.

The entertainment in the hotel was 'entertaining' and most certainly 'hotel' entertainment- we enjoyed it. The waiters in the bar were lovely and worked hard to ensure everyone was served promptly.

We took several trips out- one on a boat to Lanzarote and saw flying fish- a major highlight and another around the island in a 4x4 jeep- this was a fantastic day as it allowed us to explore the top end of the island and the dormant volcanos of Fuerteventura.

This was a fantastic and relaxing holiday and we really enjoyed it and it was made special by the lovely staff at the hotel- Thank you everyone!!!!

Room Tip: Corner Suite on Lobos side have fantastic views and huge terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flossymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
750 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,178 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing