We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved our stay at the Riu Palace Tres Islas! We would rate it 4/5 stars. It looks great from the outside and we had a champagne on arrival, our cases were delivered to our rooms for us. One of our cases was taken to the wrong room by accident, but it was sorted immediately. We had a junior suite on the first floor, which was amazing, with a separate lounge as well as a bathroom and bedroom, as well as dressing gowns to wear throughout our stay. I recommend being upgraded to this room. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have fans and are very cool, so we all slept very well. Our room had a pool view, two flatscreen tvs and sea view, which was lovely, some of the other rooms overlooked a car park and sand dunes.
The pool area was lovely. People got up early for sunbeds near the pool, but if you wanted a lie in you could probably get one further away from the pools, or on the beach. If you reserve a deluxe suite you get sunbeds on your balcony! There was two large pools, which were not too crowded, as well as a children's pool. There was also two Jacuzzis' - one near the children's pool and one behind the spa, which you can sit in while looking through the glass walls at the beach.
We never visited the spa, but it looked nice and was open 6 days a week. There was also a gym next to the spa, which was quite small but fine. At the spa you can get different massages, facials, hair treatments, etc.
The beach was amazing and reminded us of a Caribbean beach, the sand was almost white and the sea was very clear, a bit choppy, but there was lifeguards on duty, who kept an eye on everything and told people if they were heading too far out to sea. We spent some time by the beach, because it was breezier than by the pool so we didn't get as hot. There was a small restaurant on the beach, but the standard of the food there was very average. We mostly had lunch in the hotel, which was very expensive but nice, although we did notice that the bar staff gave free olives to some people as a starter before their meal, we worked out that this was for the people that tipped them, mostly the Germans.
The food was nice, however it was nicer in a 4 star Riu hotel we stayed in earlier this year. There were only queues if you wanted something like pancakes or omelettes, which the chefs were cooking constantly as they were so popular. The restaurant staff were friendly, and so were the reception staff and the maids, but the pool bar staff were miserable and seemed reluctant to serve us hot drinks. They seemed to prefer the Germans, probably because they left tips for them all the time.
This hotel is located right on the beach, in a quiet area in Correlejo. There are lots of excursions available. It is about a five minute walk to the local supermarket and bus stop, where you can catch the bus into the centre of Corralejo. There are plenty of shops in the centre, and also a cheap supermarket, as the local ones are expensive.
Overall, we had our best holiday yet and would love to return here!

Room Tip: Junior suites are lovely, and so are sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my fourth visit to Tres Islas and it still is my number one destination in Europe. As always we had champagne on arrival and were given rooms with a sea view as requested.

Unlike previous visits there were five of us in the party, and so when it came to dinner we were unsure if the buffet restaurant could accommodate us when we wanted to eat at the later sitting. However we were very pleased that one of the head waiters (Bernado) was able to fit us into the sitting, and gave us a very nice table which was not squashed in (which we were concerned they would do). Throughout the ten days the food was delicious, and there were different themes every night. The dinner staff and chefs were all very nice and were all very friendly and good at making conversation.

During the day we mostly stayed around the pool area, we did find that unlike previous visits the beds did seem to go very quickly in the mornings, (but this may just be because we needed more beds than usual) so we were the people getting up and 6:30 to get five beds together. We also went to the beach quite a lot of the time where there are always plenty of beds together.

The pool bar staff were lovely as always, Luz and Wilbur had the best customer service skills and had really bubbly personalities. If one of us from the group went to the bar they would always ask how we all were and if they would be seeing us all for lunch! From the lunch menu the satay chicken, mini burgers and Cesar salad are all a must try!

If you don't fancy the pool bar for lunch everyday, we went into town a few times in a taxi which cost us around 7 Euros. The taxi rank in Corralejo was right near a supermarket so we got a few bits from there instead of supermarket Diana (located near the hotel). The supermarket in town is much more cheaper and better stocked than supermarket Diana.

Looking back at all our visits to Tres Islas, the evening entertainment wasn't the best this year, however our visit was just before the summer season, unlike most years when our visit was during and the hotel was much busier.The drinks and cocktails were very good and the alcohol measurement were very generous as usual.

This was the first time we had visited and had an evening flight home. This meant we had to wait around the hotel until around 6:30 in the evening, so we wanted to have a shower before we left so we didn't have to travel home smelling of chlorine from the pool. Once again the hotel staff were quick to get us a room in which we could wash and change into our travel clothes.

I shall be returning to the hotel next year. I love everything about this hotel and I understand that it's not to everybody's taste, however for me and my family it is luxury with only a 3 - 4 hour flight! All staff members of the hotel are very good at their job, and I must say we do tip well because we appreciate their work and efforts to make our holiday enjoyable. Unlike other hotels the staff are very grateful for the tips they receive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLouise1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our 6th visit to the Tres Islas and our second visit this year we love the hotel and the location it would be very difficult to improve on.
We contacted the hotel prior to our arrival and requested a high floor room and were given our usual room 534 this room only has a shower no bath which suits my partner after having knee replacements.
I can only reiterate what i have said previously the hotel is spotless (thank you all the cleaning staff) the grounds and pool area are very well looked after and there are plenty of sun beds to go round.
The restaurants serve a large selection of well prepared food and i can assure you the food offered at this hotel will not disappoint.
All the staff are exceptional but a special thank you to Raquel a very charming young lady who looked after us so well Raquel is a credit to Riu and Riu are very lucky to have staff so dedicated to providing total customer satisfaction.
I read people complaining about the price of drinks have these people bought the same drinks in 4 star hotels back home in UK ?
The measures given are treble those given in UK and unless your an alcoholic the price of drinks will not be a problem the alternative is a taxi into town to go into a noisy bar just to save a few Euro !!
To pick fault in the Tres Islas would be very hard to do and the only negatives i can say are ones the hotel has NO control of.
(1) Why do parents take babies into the adult pool and by babies i mean 18 month old when there is a children,s pool surly such young children cant say they require the toilet .
(2) The hotel seem to let people make up packed lunches at breakfast for eating later in the day it was bordering on the ridiculous and the food being taken has to be paid for THE HOTEL SHOULD PUT A STOP TO THIS PRACTICE .
All in we enjoyed another great holiday and thank all the staff and management at the hotel for your efforts they are greatly appreciated
Will we be back ? YOU BET !!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view and try to secure a high floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOLDSTAR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing holiday at Tres Islas, the experience was fantastic. The hotel is better than we expected, when we arrived there was a glass of sparkling waiting for us which was a good start. The entertainment was also great we really enjoyed relaxing in the bar listening to the pianist Enrique Alcazar and band Paloma with a glass of wine before dinner. All staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and attentive. The food was delicious with a great range of variety each morning for breakfast and in the evening also. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the beaches and views are lovely. We are looking forward to going back one day soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 129ChristineWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived at the tres Islas expecting something special,what a disappointment
,after having paid an extra £500 for a junior suite we were given a suite in the middle of the hotel above the
restaurant and entertainment bar,we were expecting a suite on the end of this hotel but it seems these suites are senior suites which they don't tell you will cost another 40 euros per night ,it seems the hotel dont sell the senior suites you have to go through a travel agent but they don't tell you this when booking directly with them ,the junior suites are not worth the extra money, they are tired and tatty,with hindsight we could have saved £500 and booked just a standard room this was an expensive mistake on our part,also if you book with a travel agent you will recieve cava and fruit or flowers , but if you are returning riu class member for more than 15 years you do not get anything , we knew before we came here the drinks were expensive but not extortionate,most people sat watching the entertainment (acrobats) without ever buying a drink.this hotel is just not worth the money,also the reception staff are not the usual standard we have come to expect over the years,would we come back to this hotel, (never) we feel let down by the riu chain who it seems are only interested in making money .

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank quentana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here end of June beginning of July for 11 nights. We had been before about four or five years ago so knew basically what was in store. No disappointments at all! Spoke to hotel in advance to get mattress topper, quiet room, sea view etc and every request was met. Check in as usual fab, and a wonderful cold plate awaited us in the restaurant as we arrived too late for dinner on our first night. All staff really good and some even recognised us from the time we had been before. Food really out of this world, fresh, tasty, wonderful presentation and an amazing choice. The beach here is fantastic and we were always able to get a sun bed and parasol (which you do ave to ay for) unlike those round the pools which seemed to be reserved from 7am in the morning even though no bodies appeared until sometimes 4pm! We do feel management could enforce their rule about no reserving better. The hotel is spotless in every area and has a calm and professional air though all staff are friendly. Would we go back again - without a doubt. Love the island love the beach and LOVE this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MAGHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay. Great hotel, food was excellent and varied throughout the 2 weeks. Swimming pool spotless and very quiet althought the amazing dunes are a 2 minute walk away. Bedrooms spacious and well services. Only disadvantage for us was the entertainment in the evening, but saying that we did not go on holiday for the entertainment so it was not a problem.
Would go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have see views, but would ask for main sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
951 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,366 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $208 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing