We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay. Great hotel, food was excellent and varied throughout the 2 weeks. Swimming pool spotless and very quiet althought the amazing dunes are a 2 minute walk away. Bedrooms spacious and well services. Only disadvantage for us was the entertainment in the evening, but saying that we did not go on holiday for the entertainment so it was not a problem.
Would go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have see views, but would ask for main sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from the Tres Islas and as expected had a really good holiday in an excellent hotel. The level of comfort and service were very good but I do have a few reservations.
The hotel is out of town and therefore has a captive audience which reflects in the prices they can charge for drinks. 6.90 euros for a G&T, 5.35 euros for a Baleys. 9.10 euros for a large beer and an iced coffee, are just a few examples. The prices really are a mickey take.
Many of the guests appear to be very well healed and have stayed at the hotel many times over the years, most of them several times a year.They give the impression that they are happy with the drink prices as this maintains a certain standard of guest. In other words, the high prices "keep the riff raff" out, someone elses words, not mine! This group of people appear to control what happens in the hotel as regards to what rooms they want and which tables they want in the dinning room. The management tie themselves in knots trying to please them. Sometimes other guests have to move rooms during their stay to cater for the regulars. I know this is true as it happened to us. Mind you, it was negotiated to our advantage.
Do not intend to rave about the location of the hotel as its been covered many times before.
If you want to pick your spot around the pool area you will need to be out of bed by about 6.30hrs!
The resident group is dreadful but we did see some very good acts during our stay.
One thing that stuck me was that the pool bar staff all seemed very happy working together and gave off very good vibes to everyone.
As we are poor old pensioners we will be looking for a decent all inclusive hotel next year, cant afford another bar bill like this one!

Room Tip: Pool and seaview rooms are best.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cotilloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday overall and the only complaints we had were minor irritations that did not spoil our holiday.

The beach was awesome, I loved it and spent a lot of time walking on it in both directions. The waves at times can be a bit daunting, however, they have fun police, sorry lifeguards who operate a flag system to tell you when it is safe to swim. It was always safe to mess about close in but be warned when the flags are red there can be a strong undertow. Naked people occasionally, further along the beach, but no problem just look away if you can stop yourself laughing!!

Sunbeds are a problem almost everywhere I have stayed. Thankfully, I never had a problem finding one at the Tres Islas when I needed one, which wasn't that often because I preferred the beach! Two beds and a brolly 9 euros. However, we frequently commented on how sad people must be to rush down in the middle of the night to lay there towels on a bed, personally I don't go on holiday to do this and I pride myself in never having done it. We got up really early once to go on a trip and found lots of people running around at 0630 in the morning to select there favourite spot, and they were certainly not all Germans, contrary to popular belief. If this had been a problem I would have been the first to complain to the manager and insist that some ones towels were removed if they been in place all day without being used!!!

The Hotel entertainment was pretty much what you would expect from the Canaries/Med and we enjoyed having a couple of beers with the entertainment as a pleasant back drop. Bar prices were bit expensive I guess. A pint of German beer was 4 euros, whereas in town a pint of Spanish beer was 3 euros with a similar standard of entertainment. Taxi into town cost about 6-8 euros each way! (You do the Math).

Food was really good and I certainly never went hungry. (I think I put on about 6-7 pounds) All the waiters were friendly and I was always treated very well and made to feel welcome in the restaurant and in the bar.

We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the Dunes. So glad I didn't pay for a sea view. We had Sun on the balcony in the afternoon, nice sunsets in the evening and a side sea view. Yes it got a little windy sometimes but the Hotel does not control the weather.

Would we go again? Definately! Loved the Beach location and easy access into town if you needed something a little more busy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the first package tour I’ve done in many years normally opting for independent travel in a more exciting destination but the objective of this week was to relax. If you want a typical costa holiday and its associated razzmatazz this location and hotel is not for you.

Firstly a big thank-you to all my fellow reviewers who were spot on with their recommendations and comments.

We were looking at the 5 star Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real in Corralejo but opted for easy beach access instead with the Tres Islas. We were so glad we did! We strolled past the 5 star resort on our beach walk into Corralejo and you currently get views of an ocean drilling platform and heavy machinery demolishing the complex next door.

We booked via Thomson and were very happy with the experience. Once you clear arrivals, exit to the right and you’ll be directed to a tour desk to collect a card directing you to the transfer bus. It’s a short walk to the bus. It’s around a 30 min transfer and we were the first stop. Your luggage will be collected from the bus and taken in the hotel luggage room.

Our first impression was that the hotel décor is a little ‘chintzy’ (for our taste) but very well appointed and spotlessly clean.

At check in, don't form an orderly line but deposit your passports with reception and take a seat. Complimentary sparkling wine soon arrives. Your name will be called when ready. A room safe is 16 Euro for the week and large enough for one between two rooms. You will be given tags with your room number. Just past reception opposite the elevator is an unmarked door on the left. Find your bags in the luggage room and place the labels on them. They will be brought to your room in due course.

Dinner buffet last admission was 9pm so with no semi formal attire to change into we dumped our personal items in the safe and headed for dinner. We were greeted by the restaurant manager who asks for your preference of 6.30pm or 8.30pm sitting. Your evening table remains yours for the duration of your stay. The restaurant manager then works his way around all newcomers and explains breakfast arrangements. We noticed that late arrivals are well catered for even though the buffet closes at 10pm.

The buffet is exceptionally good with a wide variety of cuisine on offer which is varied each night. We were so happy with the buffet we decided not to bother with the optional formal restaurant.

Rooms are of a high standard and we opted for a sea view, although having seen the dunes view room (see below) we would have not been disappointed with that option either. You will receive complementary water, fruit and sherry. The mattress was very firm but a quick call to reception resulted in mattress toppers which resolved the issue. The only thing to note is that at peak times, water pressure and temperature can flux whilst in the shower. Be careful not to have the shower too hot as it can overheat.

The pool area is equally spotless and quiet with sounds of the ocean and chirping birds. Fuerteventura is windy and this can drop the temperature somewhat. Stick to loungers nearest the reception to lessen the effect and to maintain a WIFI signal. Loungers are on a first come, first served basis but lounger reservation does occur. On the second day we decided ‘if you can’t beat them, join them’. It should be noted that you need only reserve loungers from around 8.30am. One improvement here would be to allocate loungers for the duration of your stay.

Poolside staff constantly circle taking drink and food orders. Although there are a number of seated areas to eat a light lunch including a lunch dining room and terrace you may eat on your lounger using trays.

The beach is great and probably one of the cleanest I’ve seen. In late May it was relatively quiet. You can walk for miles in either direction.
Evening entertainment is OK. View it as background music rather than a world class performance. That said the Chinese acrobats were very good. As the average age of client is 65+, the bar is quiet by 11pm.

On our last evening during dinner the restaurant manager thanked us for our visit and shook hands with each of our party. A nice touch.

At check-out we were offered the complimentary use of a room to shower before our return to the airport and had a view of the dunes from this room.
In summary, this is an elegant and efficient hotel with exceptional staff and I would heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DudleyDerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Was our 1st visit to the Tres Islas and will be the last. Firstly the good points the food is gorgeous with plenty of choice. Now for the negative points well where shall I start how about the sunbed scramble its embarrassing seeing both German and English getting up at god knows what hour to get a sunbed when we was going to the pool at 9AM and there was plenty of beds available get a life people.

The Entertainment provided is pathetic and consisted of a trio called Paloma who mimed everything and every night was the same songs in the same order. A few shows were put on Elvis made an appearance as did Abba but both were horrendous.

Bar prices were a total rip off talk about a mark up also be aware of the safe deposit scheme you get a discount for a weeks hire so it will cost you 16 Euro but if your staying 2 weeks it costs you 32 Euro. However if your only staying 10 or 11 nights you don't get the discount the following week so you get charged 4 Euro a day so you still pay 32 Euro for 11 nights.

Overall this Hotel needs a good makeover and certain staff members should be sent to charm school unless your German then you have no worries as over 80% of guests were German.

The beach is lovely however be aware of naked folk walking along as its a naturist beach as well.

And last but not least please don't change your hard earned cash up at the Hotel because there exchange rate is 0.86 CENTS yes that's right. if you need to change money hop on a bus into town and on the main drag a number of shops are offering 1.14 Euro to the Pound.

In our opinion the Tres Islas is overrated overpriced and needs a good makeover and is worthy of no more than a 3 star plus hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the Dunes as a force 5 gale always blows through the rooms and the whist...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to tres islas, still good but found a few niggles this year that could easily be addressed..reserving of sunbeds ALL DAY but no one using them,very annoying.pool staff could monitor this as people were having to lie on grassed areas because of it. Food still very good, staff very good, found that not as many german customers were there this year. Rooms cleaned by the maids daily. Nice touch of fruit basket, flowers and cava on ice in room on arrival. This hotel is still good for a chill out beach holiday. Spa a little pricey but look out for the weekly special offers as they offer good value. Overall we had a good holiday as all we wanted was to chill and relax, walked in to Corralejo a couple of times along the beach which takes around 1 hour and got a taxi back which cost 8 euros.

Room Tip: all rooms even inland can see the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want rest and peace and quiet this is the place, no loud music around the pool, no close shopping, just long wide beaches the sun and a good breeze, excellent.
The hotel itself is well run food is good with plenty of choice and no shortage, the rooms are spacious and well serviced, the whole place is very clean and tidy, although it could do with a spruce up here and there. The staff are excellent and attentive all in all a excellent place for R&R.
I have only two comments to make, one is the obvious, towels on loungers, every body does it not only the Europeans but Brits as well, come on folks get a life theres plenty to go round, and the other is taking food out of the resteraunt, its becoming a joke now, not the odd peice of fruit or a cake but virtually a whole picknick, with one woman, a Brit took a full bottle of Cava out in a large bag, what a joke.
IF you cant afford to by lunch out dont go their, because it cost everybody when you take food out,
Again wa well run and generally excellent holiday,

Room Tip: We had a junior suit on level two overlooking the pool, great as the music in the bars stops at 11pm...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roaminggeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
959 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,369 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $211 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing