We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the first time we have been to Fuerteventura and chose this hotel mainly due to the reviews, but also the location. Both were exactly as discribed by previous reviews and we were very pleased indeed. This hotel is immaculate, the staff are very friendly and all do their best to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed in a junior suite which was a complimentary upgrade, for which i would like to thank the management, it was very much appreciated. The food at this hotel is probably the best we have encountered on our various trips to this type of hotel with Thomson.
Drinks prices do look high,but when you take into account the size of the measure it is cheaper than the UK, beer was a bit pricey at 3.80e for 500ml.
The hotel was fully booked our week so we had to do the inevitable and bag a sunbed before breakfast.The pool area had loads of room,even though all sunbeds were used it was surprisingly quiet,mainly due to the guests all had the same idea; relax.
I was very apprehensive about the two sittings for evening meal and when allocated the 8.30 slot thought that this may be a bit late. After the second night we were comfortable with our sitting,mainly due to the fact that the staff completely reset the whole restaurant tables and food stations exactly the same as the 6.30 sitting.
The beach is miles of golden sand and the sea is not too cold, although there are several rocks beneath the water. If you are not broadminded, don't go beyond the rock piles on the beach as you will more than likely encounter several very large,very brown,very naked people!!! each to their own.
We were very pleased with this hotel and will definately use it again when returning to the island.

Room Tip: pool/sea view rooms have morning sun only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    501
    129
    25
    19
See reviews for
307
994
81
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Over the last few years we have generally travelled to the Caribbean for our holidays, mainly to the Riu Palace Tropical Bay in Negril, Jamaica. This year we decided to find Riu Palace in europe and after advice from a travel agent and also looking at the reviews on this site we decided on the Tres Islas expecting the same standards as we had become used to in Jamaica. We were very disappointed. I'm not sure if it's fair to compare the two hotels really because they are far apart, in service and quality.
First of all the approximate costs. Two weeks in May to the Tropical bay would have cost around £3000 for my wife and myself on an all inclusive basis and that would include upgrading to the premier cabin for the 10 hour flight to Jamaica. The cost for the same two weeks to Tres Islas was approx £2000 for half board. We are not big drinkers and so it looked as tho we would be saving around £1000 for the two weeks. But the prices of drinks at the Tres Islas are extortionate. Most days we bought a newspaper from the hotel shop, a bottle of wine with dinner and a couple of Gin and tonics in the bar. The total price charged for that was about 450 euros. As you can see, there goes half of our saving.
We arrived at the hotel and were checked in quickly and shown to our room which was no where near up to the standard which we expected, I would expect to find a room of this quality in a standard 3* hotel. I complained, and we were upgraded to a junior suite, free of charge. In the Tropical Bay all of the rooms are junior suites.
Breakfast was just ok. They could never get the bacon right, it was either crisp or underdone. One again they did not compare with our expectations judged by our previous experience. The fruit wit breakfast was mostly tinned, in Jamaica a vast array of really fresh fruit was offered. Dinner was generally very good, a good choice of main courses and starters at both hotels.
On our first evening we needed an iron and ironing board, we expected these to be in the room but we called reception who delivered them to us fairly quickly, but requested them back again the following day! Maybe they only had one. There was also no tea or coffee making facility in the rooms, so take your own kettle.
Also the staff at the two hotels are not comparable. In Riu Palace they are superb and really go out of their way to make the guests have a happy stay. In Tres Islas they just do enough.
Lastly the beaches at the two hotels completely different. The hotel beach in Jamaica is the best I've seen anywhere. Calm water which is really warm and as clear as clear. The beach near the hotel in Fuerteventura is just the opposite, ideal for windsurfers but not for relaxing in.
I'm sorry, I'm not normally a moaner but I've just tried to point out the differences between the two hotels as I see them and hopefully it may help others when choosing your next holiday hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t0ny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Tres Isles (3 islands).
How did we rate it.....it was good...... Better than the RiuTenerife.
Food - better than Tenerife - in fact as good as the Riu Palace Madeira I think. Accomm pretty much the same - standard Riu (OK). Overall, it was better than the the one in Tenerife we stayed at last year - quite a bit better. But there's the location......

Out in the sticks. If you like miles of beach either way (it's on the beach) to walk
along - great, fantastic - you'd love it. If you like to sample bars in the evening, have a drink, soak in the atmosphere, walk along a promenade.....then this is NOT for you - there are none, the nearest village is 2-3 miles away) plenty bars etc. there)
Weather Very windy at first (May) but the sun can be deadly). Not as hot as Tenerife was tho'.
So good hotel - better than the Riu Palace Tenerife but overall not as good as the Madeira or Maspalomas....in our opinion.
Two other Rius worth looking at.....
Riu Palace Madeira (better than the Riu Tenerife) - no beach but there is a short promenade and there are some bars etc. nearby. It's only 15 mins on the bus to Funchal. Stayed there 3 times. Great hotel, great staff. Riu
Riu Palace Maspalomas (Gran Canaria). Been there twice (better than Tenerife). Has famous sand dunes, has promenade etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaweedLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived on time from Stansted and made our way to the transfer coach, UNFORTUNATELY the Gatwick flight was late and we had to wait virtually 45 mins for them before we could set off to the hotel. On arrival at the hotel I was very impressed to be greeted with a glass of Cava, and our suitcases to be unloaded and taken to our room. We had a room on the top floor, facing the pool and the view was truly amazing, I had emailed the hotel a couple of days before requesting a high floor room, and it was a beauty (536). We later found out that the balconies facing the sand dunes were so windy they were unusable, our room faced the pool and was totally sheltered from the wind, which was very strong the whole 2 weeks we were there. The room was spacious and very clean, but 2 single beds, the bathroom was sparkling clean, but the shower is over the bath and from what we heard many of the elderly guests found it difficult climbing in, and there had been accidents. The rooms are in need of a refurb, but are perfectly fine for their purpose. There is a mini bar fridge, but as we refuse to pay the silly prices they charge we emptied it and bought our own drinks from town, or the local supermarket (which was expensive but still a lot cheaper than the hotel). The hairdryer in the bathroom is not very powerful, so take you own if you have lots of hair, I wish I had!!! There is a shower gel dispenser on the wall to use, but no shampoo or conditioner, so take your own. There is a safety deposit box which is a key version, and this costs to use. We didn't have any issues at all with regards to security at the hotel. When you go to dinner the first evening you are allocated a table for the duration of your stay. Food is first class, drinks to buy with your meal are expensive, and rather than paying for them on a daily basis you are presented with a bill at the end, quite a shock!! The service in the restaurant is excellent, all the staff in there seem so happy in their work. The A La Carte Restaurant is EXCELLENT, you ask to go there the evening before you want to go and we had no problems getting in either time. You are greeted with a glass of sparkling rose, we tried 2 lots of meals in there, and can recommend the pea soup to start, the salmon, pork or vegetables for main and the chocolate pud for dessert. Breakfast opens at 800am and I would advise getting there earlier rather than later as it does get busy. Great choice of food and drink, and loved the fact you get a whole thermos flask jug of coffee, which keeps hot for the whole duration of having breakfast. Also loved having bottles of chilled Cava...what a start to the day. We love the beach and only spent a couple of days round the pool. You are given a towel token on check in, which you swap for a towel, and can change whenever you want (0800-1300) at the towel kiosk round the pool. If you want a sunbed I am afraid it's a matter of ' if you can't beat em join em'....our German friends are out there at the crack of dawn...nothing new there then :) Entertainment on an evening, is mostly an in house duo, who the Germans love and are very enthusiastic about, they are OK, there are some other acts who visit also, Abba tribute, Elvis tribute, a couple of acrobatic acts and a very good Flamenco act. The drinks on an evening are expensive, 13 euros for 2 G&T's, and NO happy hours, I guess we are a trapped audience there as there is no competition whatsoever. You can walk into town but it would take an hour at least, there are always taxis waiting in the hotel car park and cost 6 to 8 euros. All in all a nice holiday, but unlike a lot of people who return year after year after year, we won't be...there are so many other places to go to! Oh and one last point, if you plan on using the gym all the equipment is way past its sell by date, the rowing machine has no display, the bikes, treadmill and stepper are all broken in there own way, not good for such a nice hotel.

Room Tip: High room, pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliebabes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

after a nightmare flight (thankyou thomas cook) we arrived at the tres islas in the early hours, porter service with bags taken to our room on the 4th floor.
rooms are very spacious, and clean. view overlooking the national park and sea and entrance of hotel, read some reviews about generator noise being a problem, we were just over it and it didnt bother us at all. hotel tastefully decorated throughout,the food was fantastic please read the menu before hand your bound to miss something that you wanted to try, breakfast 8am - 10am. dinner two sittings 6.30pm and 8.30pm. our 11 days were out of this world, it really is a hotel where you dont have to lift a finger, from pool side bar service to the waiters to the chamber maids all the staff work very hard to give you the best holiday experience possible. people staying there are 90 % german so expect the staff to be slightly bias towards them as it seems many of them are regulars every year. no complaints to mention at all, apart from the well to do elderly english couple who's thongs were constructed from dental floss!!! and made a comment about children frequenting this hotel, apart from small minded people like that our holiday was fantastic the hotel deserves the reviews it gets, cant wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craig w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our fist visit to the Hotel and as we are regular visitors to the Riu Hotel chain of Hotels weffoundit to be a very clean Hotel, The reception is beautifully furnished as are the rooms the woodwork in the room we had was light and not dark which made a change.
The service was extremly good and the waiter service around the pool and garden area was superb thanks to the staff.
The only disapointment was going for the evening meal, we were given late sitting of eight thirty and you had the same table every evening. This was a bit late, but you also had to que up if you arrived just prip to you meal time, bit like going to the works canteen.
If you like a drink please be aware that you pay in euros plus the cost of drinks is a bit stiff, two bombay safia gin and tonic will set you back almost 14 euro.
Apart fromthe late meal time and the drinks being a bit steep the weather was great when we arrived and apsrt from two cloudy days fro 4 May to 18 May 2013 it was hot and sunny. We would return to this hotel the beach is fine sand and the sea is acceptable just keep your eye on the flag system. Oh and be aware of the nudist sections on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for or book a Sea Room or you could be looking over the car park or garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We travelled as a family to celebrate my mother's 80th Birthday. From the moment we arrived in reception the excellent service began. Greeted with a glass of champagne to aid the efficient friendly check-in service Bags taken from the coach and delivered to the rooms. We had rooms 128 and 129 which looked over the pool and the sea.

The service in the restaurant was smooth, friendly and professional on your first visit you are asked what time you wish to dine at night either 6.30 or 8.30 and allocated a table for the duration of your holiday. The quality and choice of the food was very good both for breakfast and dinner.

The rooms were very nicely appointed plenty of space even in the room for 3 people, plenty of wardrobe space prices in the mini bar were very reasonable, towels and linens changed on request. Large balcony with a table and chairs and even some where to hang wet swim wear to dry. Safe available to hire, TV with English channels if you feel the need, and a range of toiletries provided for you, fresh fruit and a bottle of wine in the room on arrival. The only thing I would say negatively is that the beds are a little to firm for us, however one conversation with reception and all the beds were provided with a mattress topper problem solved.

The bar staff and waiters both by the pool during the day and bar at night could not have been better. The hotel is isolated about 5km from the resort centre (7 euro) taxi ride or a very nice walk along the beach. There are only 2 hotels on the beach both from the same chain but for a relaxed, good value beach break then this is the place to be. (Pool towels provided) On the last day a room was provided so we could shower and change ready for the journey home.

All in all a great place to celebrate mom's birthday and have a relaxing break, with first class service, good quality food on a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
750 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,180 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing