We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach - nice hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing beach - nice hotel but...”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited in May for 11 nights with husband - had read previous reviews so expected a quiet holiday and that is exactly what we got. The clientele average age must be mid-60s at least so as a couple in our 40s it was nice to feel amongst the youngest in the crowd and the hotel was very peaceful, almost library like round the pool and lounge areas at times. The downside to this is if you want a bit more life you have to go into town - 8 euros each way in a taxi or 1.80 on the bus.

Decor is what I'd call classic and suits the general guest base although a couple more years and with a bit more wear and tear, this could be verging on classed as outdated. Cleanliness excellent throughout.

Entertainment at the hotel wasn't to our taste + the resident band played same tunes every night + all in bed by 11.30 pm. Although the bar advertises its open till 1 a.m. nobody stays up + on the one occasion we went into town + came back just after midnight the place was deserted.

Food was good and varied although somehow the two sitting idea for dinner, whilst it allows the hotel to accommodate all guests in what is a relatively small dining room for the amount of people thete, does create a mad rush for the food stations which I was glad to leave behind after 11 nights. I know what the last reviewer meant by the 'being stared at comment', think we were sat quite near them + hope this didn't refer to us (?!) but it is rather funny. Having your own table is quite nice though. Food in the A La Carte venue excellent but again zero atmosphere, library-like hush with no background music and stiflingly hot down there.

Room was lovely - emailed ahead and requested dune view with sun in the evening and also requested matress toppers in advance having read about the hard mattresses - all requests were met no problem and slept soundly.

Beach is really amazing - enjoyed that aspect of the holiday the most + would be the draw for me returning to the island, if at all. Beware the wind though - when it whips up you can get sandblasted - should probably have invested in a beach shelter - many used them and saw them for about 12 euros in supermarket in town.

All in all a very relaxing holiday with fabulous beach - would I go back? Probably not - prefer somewhere a tad more upbeat and scenic in terms of overall island landscape.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    502
    129
    25
    19
See reviews for
307
994
82
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have just read the review of Tres Islas by Chunk2 and am astounded by the arrogance of the man!!
I agree that the hotel is superb in every way as I have stayed there in the past and will be there again in June but for him to judge other visitors in this way just because they are older than him is truly awful and extremely bad manners. These people have lots of life experiences, including pregnancy and child rearing so perhaps instead of denegrating them he should have taken the trouble to interact with them. He might have learned something instead of making fun. Cheap laugh.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went to the hotel with my wife for our last holiday before we have another addition to our family. We chose Fuerteventura as we normally travel long haul but felt this was far enough as my wife is pregnant. Therefore we were hoping for a nice relaxing week and the hotel did not disappoint. We didn't want to do anything apart from relax and we certainly did that.
Good points are the beach (great for an early morning run or walk if you like excercise), great pool and nice bar area and the hotel is kept clean at all times. Bad points are the bed we had was as hard as a rock which was not good for a pregnant lady but in fairness after asking could they make it more comfortable there was a softer matress added straight away.
Food is good - had to put up with the same table old people scenario every night but it does work well considering the amount of people in the hotel. Also make sure you try the a la carte restaurant one night - no charge and was really good food.
One tip to younger people - you will get stared at....constantly... by people who I have no idea why they are on holiday as all they do it sit in silence and stare at everyone else because they have been married far too long and just given up about ten years ago. If you can handle this then fine but just a warning. It is actually funny in the end.
Good hotel though - great location and if you want to relax you can keep yourself to yourself and enjoy the weather which is always about 5 degrees warmer than advertised in reception. Watch out for burning as there were some major red specimens about.
One last good point, we did not leave until 7pm on the Saturday and we could not keep our room but they did give us a nice single room to get showered and changed in so we could enjoy our last day. In fact the bed was just as big as the double room but just no balcony so if you are travelling on your own I would also recommend this hotel.
Oh and one little extra - to the couple who jumped in front of my pregnant wife just to get a table at breakfast with the worst manners I have ever seen - hope your highly stacked plate of food made you sick, because that's how you made me feel!

Room Tip: Pool view is probably the best but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisWhiting77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for a week in May. We booked it through Thomson and the transfers and flights were good (apart from the rep shouting quite happily at the driver that she couldn't speak Spanish when he asked her a simple question. How pathetic not to have learned at least a few sentences when working in someone elses country. Not impressed.)
The hotel was fabulous. We had a wonderful sea view, as did many of the rooms and a balcony. The whole hotel was spotless. The layout of the pool, gardens and bars was excellent. The breakfasts and evening meals were super. A huge choice to suit every taste. Well done to the chefs who deserve every credit. All staff were helpful and friendly and great effort was made to accommodate guests choice of table. There was a good menu for lunchtime as well. The prices were reasonable.
Our room was a good size as was the bathroom. A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of fino, mineral water and a basket of fruit on arrival.
The hotel is remote which we loved, but the bus stop is a five minute walk from the hotel. The beach on which the hotel stands is amazing. It stretches a long way and is beautiful soft golden sand.
We loved this hotel and highly recommend it particularly for adults.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PILAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tres Islas between 4th to 11th May, we booked a sea view room and I requested a high floor and we were not disappointed as we were allocated Rm 339 which had great views from our balcony! The room itself is cosy and although dated in fashion is well kept and very clean. There is a mini bar in the room, however there is no tea or coffee making facilities which was a disappointment.

The location of the hotel is great for the beach, which is better than some of the Caribbean beaches we have visited. It is particularly entertaining if you walk out further to the sand dunes and realise you are on the nudist beach! You can walk along the beach to Corralejo which takes approx 1hr, bus on main road takes 20 mins and costs 3euros for a couple or a taxi takes 10 mins and costs 8euros. There is a beach cafe located on the beach between the 2 Riu hotels and we enjoyed having lunch here most days.

As previously mentioned you are allocated one of two times for dinner and you are given a table number on your first evening by head waiter, we were not sure about this but works well and your waiting staff know what drinks you like etc.

The evening entertainment! Enrique and the Golden Oldies singers, average piano bar singers who sing the same songs every night! We watched the Flamenco show which was good, but the other entertainment was not for us.

We did not use the spa or gym but they looked ok, tennis is very popular at this hotel with a pro giving lessons and always people playing on one of the 4 courts we wish we had taken our trainers. There are 2 main pools around the pool bar, the large one is freezing but the smaller one is slightly warmer. It was busy getting sunbeds with people putting towels down early, you can change your towels daily between 9am to 1pm. There are also sun bed toppers which make them more comfy, 2 stop you getting a numb bottom!

Although this is not an adult only hotel there are very few children only a few younger ones as no kid facilities most clientele are 50 to 60 couples many who have stayed year after year!

If you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday in a good quality hotel this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiggeronTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks relaxation. The hotel is isolated but if you want more there are regular taxis to the nearby town costing approx 7 euros. The hotel is spotless , the staff are friendly and the food is great some say repetitive but not one night did we eat the same check your menu on table prior to going up for your dinner. The entertainment is not too bad some repetition from the resident groups but to entertain for 3 hours is not easy. The acts that were brought in were excellent especially explosion and abba. The beaches are clean and picturesque if you want to spend the day on the beach there is a charge of 3 euros for the lounger and the umbrella around the pool no problem getting loungers. The weather was fantastic but be aware of that wind because you will burn. Would we return definitely probably one of the best Riu hotels we have stayed in yet . So thank you to all the staff who made this holiday so enjoyable and hopefully we will see you next year.

Room Tip: Our room faced the windsurfing beach which was enjoyable when sitting on balcony in evening as a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at the Tres Islas and we found it as good as the fist time we visited in 2007. The hotel is located right on a beautiful white sandy beach at the edge of the nature reserve, with long uninterrupted walks in either direction. It may not be for those who want a vibrant nightlife due to its remoteness, however for a romantic or peaceful break it meets those needs very well. Everything is well maintained and spotlessly clean. The restaurant has a huge choice of food which changes daily and the mix of vegetarian, meat and fish is always very plentiful and of good quality given the numbers catered for across the two sittings. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and have been there for years making them very familiar to the many returning guests seen at the hotel. So, is the Tres Islas recommended - definitely and will we be returning a fourth time - absolutely !

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely worth the small extra charge - amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telvenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
751 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,181 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing