We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal of the holiday!”
Review of La Chama - CLOSED

La Chama
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worst meal of the holiday!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We saw this restaurant whilst chilling in the chill bar opposite (would def recommend!) it seemed very busy so after a few nights decided to give it a go. House wine was ok, I had salad husband had the Iberian ham, which is on a stand outside the restaurant uncovered! A Spanish couple came and sat at the side of us and received completely different service to us. They were explained the menu and offered different dishes to us, a disappointing visit would not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giraffeWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tapas to share”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were recommended by the hotel reception and the taxi driver this place. It's also known as oscars tapas. Apart from a huge list of tapas they have tapas for two if you can't decide. We opted for the tapas and a lovely Albariño wine, which is an easy white wine and went well with the tapas. The tapas consisted of tomato bread with Serrano ham, salchichón and chorizo,pimientos de padrón, fish stuffed peppers with a side portion of rice, prawns and mushrooms in garlic and then an assortment of cheese, grilled, fried and bacon wrapped dates. There was lots of food so make sure you are hungry. Tapas for two cost 28 euros total so it's a good price for good food in an area with atmosphere. The place was full and even as we were leaving after a late dinner the tables were still filling up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastico!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have eaten at this family run restaurant, many times over the years. During December the restaurant recently moved to the cobble street at the back of the music square. The food is fantastic and the service is great. The staff speak very good English and communication is not problem. The Tapas selection is good and the quality is great. This restaurant also gets a lot of the locals eating here and getting takeaway Tapas - always has done, even at their old premises. We will always eat here when we come to Corralejo and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CsWorldtourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what we ordered”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We came here for; as the menu says; cold meat & cheese, with fish. We got a full tapas, which if that is what you asked for would have been a good selection. Being gluten intolerant, a succesion of foods in tempura means it's not a good choice. When we queried, staff were curt. Not a good experience at all

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemahejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another Fab Meal”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Discovered La Chama on a previous visit to Corralejo and had enjoyed it so much the first time it was a definite to return.

The restaurant has recently moved from the previous location into the main area of the old town where the majority of bars and restaurants are.

Again we had an outstanding meal here, opting for the tapas selection of the day, which I think cost 14 euros per person.

I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to try the local cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chama also viewed

Corralejo, La Oliva
La Oliva, Fuerteventura
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing