We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great bar with great music and great staff”
Review of Rock Island Bar

Rock Island Bar
Ranked #1 of 44 Nightlife in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Rock Island Bar, Corralejo's longest running live music venue. At 'RiB' the music is always of the 'unplugged' style. Yes folks, no backing tracks!If you're looking for a chilled out vibe with top class acoustic live lounge sessions, look no further. Rock Island Bar welcomes all nationalities to share in its cozy vibe and enjoy our beers, excellent wines, ciders, soft drinks, long drinks and superb extra cold Guinness.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
n.ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a great bar with great music and great staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we have been going to rock island for the past 10 years. the music is always excellent. currently james gillespie plays several nights a week and is an outstanding musician, his vocal range and style are almost unique. gary the owner plays acoustic bass and sings backing vocals (hes not the messiah, hes a very naughty boy) and his wife mandy runs the bar. this is a must visit venue if you like a chilled friendly bar with great music. appeals to all ages and nationalities

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank baldnangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    43
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highbridge, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the football”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We watched the Spain V Portugal match here and really enjoyed the place, well worth a visit and next door is a great place to get cheapest excursion deals

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilNew221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Number 1”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is without doubt the best bar/music venue in Corralejo.

If you miss it then you'll miss out.

I have nothing more to say.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've just got back from a lovely 10 days in Corralejo. I cannot recommend this bar enough. Both Mandy and Gary are lovely and hospitable, the drinks are reasonably priced and the music is immense!

James Gillespie is so talented, happy to sing requests from sitting at the dock of the bay to a bit of Britney Spears (just for fun!) I happily bought a recording of the night, and it has made the holiday blues much easier!

Dave Hedley and Gary are perfect together it's like a live comedy night with amazing music.

If you're there on a Friday you'll see James and Gary perform together, If it's late enough in the evening and enough rum has been drunk, then ask them to sing Girl:-) it's fab!!

Really loved this bar, and I will definitley be returning, a lovely place to spend your holidays.

Helpful?
Thank ManchesterDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralejo, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great music bar”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a charming little bar with very friendly staff. Add to that, the fact that very fine acoustic music is played here means that it is a must to visit. Don't be put off by the description acoustic as you could hear anything, Stairway to Heaven features and the night we visited we were even treated to a Rage Against the Machine number, splendid.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Island Bar also viewed

Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Rock Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing