We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent team. So patient with the kids.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Island Surf School

7 Island Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional Surf Coaching and Holidays in Fuerteventura.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent team. So patient with the kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 kids aged 9 and 12) took four days of surf lessons with 7 Island Surf and had a wonderful time. We were taught by both Tom and Greg who were absolutely wonderful with the kids. Our youngest often struggled to get back beyond the breakers due to his light weight, so he really appreciated the many, many times that Greg pulled him out and helped him catch a good wave back.

I believe that the lessons were essential, because without the local knowledge of which beach is good at which stage of low or high tide, we would have really struggled. Our instructors would take us to the optimal beach given each day’s tides, swells, winds and crowds. Something that I would never have been able to work out without spending many months in Fuerteventura first.

We took lessons till our final day in Fuerteventura and our youngest was devastated that he would not see Greg again. On the final night (after our last lesson) he won a bottle of sparkling wine playing Bingo. His first request was, “can we give it to Greg”. We tried to look for the team the following morning on our way to the airport, but alas failed to find the group. He has however been telling his whole class at school how cool Greg was. Thank you very much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7IslandSurfschool, Owner at 7 Island Surf School, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
What a wonderfull review, many thanks for this. It is a great compliment to hear Gregg made such an impression :-) It's soo important to give children that instant confidence when trying a sport like surfing so we're all really pleased to hear it was enjoyed by all the family, and specially the smaller family members ;-) If we can ever help you with anything again, please don't hesitate to let us know.
We look forward hearing from you again, Saludos, The 7 Island Surf Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

learning to surf was very hard work but great fun.The instructors were particularly good with our children aged 9 and 11 who needed extra support. They were really well looked after and had a great time - made loads of progress and want to come back next year ! Organisation and communication by 7 island was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7IslandSurfschool, Owner at 7 Island Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you soo much for the brilliant review ! We try to get everything to run smoothly from the moment you enquire to the moment you are actually out here surfing with us, so it's very pleasant to read that you and the kids enjoyed every single part of the experience (eventhough it was perhaps a bit more hard) :-) If we can ever help you with anything again, please don't hesitate to let us know. We look forward hearing from you again, Saludos from Fuerte. The 7 Island Surf Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Very well organised surf course!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took the four days beginner course and everything went really well and we had a great time. We will absolutely come back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maija-Hii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7IslandSurfschool, Owner at 7 Island Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we will see each other again for some more Surfing in Fuerte here :-) Thanks again and keep in touch, The 7 Island Surf Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic 1st day surfing we are hooked!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Lots of surf school's in corralejo,so glad we chose 7island surf, this was our 1st attempt at surfing and it could not have went any better, from the moment my daughter and I stepped on to the beach, to catching our 1st wave, it was a hugely enjoyable experience. Our coach was very good,very patient and very knowledgeable,thank you Tom and Sara you've got us hooked :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pak6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7IslandSurfschool, Owner at 7 Island Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Many thanks for this wonderfull review !!! I have mentioned it before but will say it again...This is exactly why we do what we do. Getting people hooked on a fantastic sport and to pass on that bug is just soo much fun. Hope you have the opportunity to keep Surfing and make sure to keep in touch so we can hear all about your progress. Best regards, The 7 Island Surf Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Really helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thanks to Sara for all the help she gave to us (non-customers!) in responding to a plea on the Tripadvisor Corralejo forum page - she set up and organised a fantastic transfer service for us, and everything ran like clockwork, even coming into the town to meet up with us and pass some paperwork on. Nothing was too much trouble for her. If this is how they deal with people who aren't even clients, I'd have no hesitation in giving them a try if I was looking to try surfing in Fuerteventura.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoppyMadragora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7IslandSurfschool, Owner at 7 Island Surf School, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you soo much for the wonderfull review. It was honestly our pleasure to help you and your family organise your trip here. Many thanks again ! The 7 Island Surf Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Island Surf School also viewed

 

Been to 7 Island Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing