We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and interesting food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Caracoles

Restaurante Caracoles
Ranked #188 of 366 Restaurants in Corralejo
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Easily the best food we had in Corralejo, delicious and extremely well prepared. It is not really tapas (ie snacks with a drink), more small dishes so you order several different things to make a varied multi-course meal. There were some very interesting combinations of flavours, all the ingredients used were clearly of very high quality and they are used expertly to produce delicious food. Over two visits we tried eight different savouries, everything was very good, the carpaccio particularly deserving a mention - wonderful. There is a small choice of desserts, they were fine, just a little ordinary when compared to the savouries. The choice of wine is limited, but both that we tried were very good. The service is pleasantly informal and makes for a pleasant evening. The meal was a little more than we paid elsewhere, but given the quality it was well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    21
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Different style of tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The tapas here are larger than the usual cooked to order, very delicious and tasty, the house wine was the best we had during our 8 night stay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tapas with Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited 4 times during our 3 month winter stay. Between Nov 2013 and Feb2014 the menu did NOT change. There are about 20 dishes to choose from. Size of each dish is best described as 'large tapas portion'. We went as a couple, then group of 3 , then group of 4 . It's best if you are all willing to share - you can then order , say , 8 dishes between 4 people . You'd get a small taster portion per person from one dish . The lady owner who waits on tables asks if you want to share. Her husband and co-owner is the chef. He cooks in the small restaurant , so you can see him making your meals. It is a tiny place - only 16 covers. It's best to book ( only open evenings , so you have to go one night to book for a future date . ) we booked every time. You could walk in at 6.30 when the doors open , see all 8 tables empty and she could tell you they are fully booked ! They are quite content to have each table only used once in an evening . Most casual callers-in were turned away. The house wines are very good. It's not too expensive ( only compared to the steak n chips places nearby). It is the place to go to get a flavour of Spanish -with-an-international touch . the little Asian stir fry dish for example is lovely ! Don't choose lobster if it is on the menu - you get 2 teaspoons of flesh from it ! The duck, stiffado, lentils, sole,black pudding,scallop, beef fillet with aubergine : all very tasty.
The place has no special 'ambiance' : it has a bit of " a small cafe" look and it's DARK : most tables you can't see what is put on your table ! It's a shame as with hardly any expense it could be made to look really something cosy and Spanish . Other reviewers are right when they say there is no written menu in English : it's all chalked up on boards. The lady tells you - in English - all 20 dishes ! By the time she reaches the 5th dish you are losing track !! The place is closed 2 days a week . In Jan and Feb they were closed Sat and Sun's. In Dec they were closed Sun and Mon's. You just get the feeling they are not in it for the money ? If you like big meals don't go. If you like sharing several tapas dishes it's good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TarletonTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
269 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We tried to get in one night but it was very busy so returned another night. It was quite quiet on the night we went. The lady who served us was very nice however I think they could save time by writing one of their blackboards in English thus saving the lady having to explain all the dishes to you. We only had 3 dishes, scallops (or should I say scallop) and black pudding, omelette with prawns and stuffed peppers (best dish) would not return.

Helpful?
Thank fatbobscotlandAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tapas++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Came across this cosy restaurant by chance. Only seats about 20 people and menu changes daily, written on boards on the wall. Attentive service from multi lingual front if house who patiently explains the Spanish menu; the whole place seems to be run by just 2 people. Food is tapas style but with a little more finesse than your standard fare. We sampled e.g. sea bass fillets with a champagne sauce, scallops with black pudding, duck with lentils, smoked salmon rosti and found that the suggested 2 dishes per person adequate. Settling on the dishes was usually quite problematic however as we really did want to try them all! This is not the cheapest eating option in Corralejo , but in our 11 night stay there, this was the only place that we were more than happy to return to, both for the cosy atmosphere and the superb food and I hope very much that it will still be offering such a quality dining experience should we ever return.

Helpful?
Thank m-gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caracoles also viewed

Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Restaurante Caracoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing