We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Security issues, villa broken in and valuable taken”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galera Beach Resort
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Security issues, villa broken in and valuable taken”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'm really not one of those people to write a bad review on a place Ive stayed as people have different options/expectations of what they have been sold but it's important people are aware of the security issue, when we got to the villa there was no reception open and we were greeted by a letter on the reception door informing us the key had been left on the floor by the door ????? so we were unable to book in and obtain a safe key ????? The next day we returned to the reception only to discover it was still closed ????? That day we went out around 7pm and returned around 9pm only to discover that the villa had been broken in through the sliding door and a considerable amount of valuables had been stolen, up on further inspection of the sliding door it was easily opened even though every precaution had been taken to ensure the door was locked ???? Once again we went to the reception and once again closed with a sign on the door for an emergency number which we rang numerous times to no avail ???? As you can imagine this was highly frustrating and annoying that our valuables had been taken so easily, the next day we went to the guardia civil and hired an interpreter and they informed us that this Galera beach has been informed to improve there security but had failed to do so, I could go on and on about how poor the staff and security is but the moral of the story is if you treasure your valuables and you want a holiday without worrying that your villa is safe and not a massive inconvenience whilst on holiday DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed in a villa at Galera Beach owned by Agni Travel in February this year. The villa is very close to the beach and is also in easy walking distance to the town centre and its amenities. The villa had three bedrooms and was spacious and clean. The pillows were very firm! The villa had an outdoor pool which was advertised as heated but it was not and was too cold to use during our stay. The villa had wifi but it was difficult to connect and very slow. The whole complex was very quiet and for a relaxing place to stay for some winter sun it was just right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MJWRGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I returned to Galera Beach yet again in November for 4 nights and as always have no complaints with this lovely little complex.

As many have mentioned the location is key, right on the beach and within a few minutes walk of everything but quiet enough to provide a peaceful restful break.

yes some of the apartments are a little tired - I always request the upstairs one beds as these seem a little more modern than the downstairs ones - but they are clean and functional with tv, toaster, 2 ring cooker, appliances and a safe. There isnt really any more you could need. The balcony overlooks the ocean and the pool area is clean and quiet and sheltered, a complete sun trap. The pool is the perfect size given that this is a small complex.

the owners and staff on reception right down to the room maids are all friendly and polite and always with a smile. I stayed here alone and never feel unsafe. Will return again and again.

Room Tip: Request a second level room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank halfpint08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Apartment was very basic, tired looking and not that clean in the bathroom and bedroom. The beds had duvets on but no covers!?! The bathroom towels were so thin and old and frayed they should have been thrown away years ago. Plus a few squashed flies on the walls that have never been cleaned away..... Swimming pool too small to swim in

However, Nice friendly receptionist and Location of Apartments is wonderful on the beach, but will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been to Corralejo several times and love the place so it was an easy choice for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay somewhere special with fantastic sea views and had noticed the Galera Beach complex whenever we had walked up the beautiful beach. A quick search on the Internet lead to their website www.galerabeach.net where there are some good photos and information about the place.

A quick email with an enquiry about our dates requesting a sea view and a double bed (hey it’s a honeymoon!) and prices yielded a fast response and a discounted rate. Only the two bedroom apartments have a double bed but they only charged the single bedroom rate as we were staying for 17 nights. There isn’t a facility for payment on their website but they included their bank details which as I use online banking was a painless method of paying the deposit. A confirmation of the booking arrived the next day.

On arrival at the site at around 9pm we found our name on the reception door along with our apartment number and key location. We had been informed of this approach by email as reception closes at 6pm. We duly found our room, dropped off our cases, had a quick change of clothes and headed out for a drink.

The apartment was quite large with two bedrooms, one with two single beds and another with the double. The main room had a small patio with fantastic views of the beach, the sea, Corralejo and the Island of Lobos. There’s a built in wardrobe, a chest of drawers and a bedside table with lamp. The room was quite hot at night as there was no aircon but we expected that. The furniture looked a bit dated but had been freshened up with a coat of varnished paint. The second bedroom had a window overlooking the pool area and similar furniture to the main room. My wife used this room as a dressing room. The apartment was in good condition but a little tired, it could do with a bit of money being spent on the complex to renovate and rejuvenate the rooms.

We went to reception the following morning to pay our balance and were greeted by a very pleasant English and Spanish lady. They were both helpful and welcomed us and provided some useful advice. We were given free WiFi access for the stay which wasn’t expected but was used extensively - mainly from the balcony as the signal was strongest there. Reception also sells bottled water which is handy. The complex is quite small which was ideal for us. The clean and tidy pool area was nice for privacy with comfy sunbeds and the pool was refreshing.

Galera Beach is within walking distance of the town centre and its nightlife, bars, restaurants etc. El Campanario commercial centre is also only a five minute walk away where there is a supermarket and various other shops and restaurants and bars.

We really enjoyed our stay at Galera Beach and will definitely return, it was sad leaving our slice of heaven behind.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor sea view room, the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteGaryga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

While on holiday in Lanzarote we took the ferry from Playa Blanca to Fuerteventura. Back pack just in case we stayed over night. So glad we did. After trying a few hotels, came across this small complex. Girl on reception was friendly and only took five minutes to book an apartment. No 9 upstairs we didnt expect too much. Wow - apartment, one bedroom & lounge/kitchen dining area was lovley, clean and most of all the view was fantastic. Balcony from bedroom & also one from lounge. Stunning. Would most definately stay again. Didnt use small swimming pool but looked clean with plenty of loungers. Peaceful and right on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginge1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

After staying at this establishment for the second summer , I returned for many reasons ,the location, and above all the good customer service and relations. This time round I am sad to say the customer service leaves allot to be desired . Businesses are built on return custom ,and looking after there customers . I was shocked after staying at the establishment for three and a half weeks ,and asking for a late check out , I was told it was told it would cost an additional 20 euros .No alternative was offered , even though the place was empty and after vacating our room it was left with the key still in the door after we left
All this after asking for a new mattress as the bed was awful.Not once during our stay in a small apartment block were we asked how our stay was . I honestly felt they were doing them a favour.
The receptionist is the eyes and ears of a business ,I believe there to welcome customers and deal with any grievance. This certainly was not the case ,we were even asked to forward and mail our booking reference to her .
I can honestly say there was no attempt to make us feel welcome. How sad that the basic principles of running a holiday apartment bloc are neglected . Take care of your customers as they are your business .returning customers can make a business ,I certainly wont be returning .

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms upstairs ,and away from the noise of the front bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#9 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.4 mi away
LABRANDA Bahia de Lobos
LABRANDA Bahia de Lobos
#13 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galera Beach Resort

Property: Galera Beach Resort
Address: Calle Poseidon 1, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galera Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galera Beach Resort Corralejo, Fuerteventura is a frontline beach resort consisting of 16 family apartments and 5 villas. It is perfectly situated being on the beach and within 10 minutes walk of all the local shops, bars and restaurants. This resort is ideal for families/couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Galera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galera Beach Hotel Corralejo
Galera Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing