We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galera Beach Resort
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I returned to Galera Beach yet again in November for 4 nights and as always have no complaints with this lovely little complex.

As many have mentioned the location is key, right on the beach and within a few minutes walk of everything but quiet enough to provide a peaceful restful break.

yes some of the apartments are a little tired - I always request the upstairs one beds as these seem a little more modern than the downstairs ones - but they are clean and functional with tv, toaster, 2 ring cooker, appliances and a safe. There isnt really any more you could need. The balcony overlooks the ocean and the pool area is clean and quiet and sheltered, a complete sun trap. The pool is the perfect size given that this is a small complex.

the owners and staff on reception right down to the room maids are all friendly and polite and always with a smile. I stayed here alone and never feel unsafe. Will return again and again.

Room Tip: Request a second level room .
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank halfpint08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Galera Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Apartment was very basic, tired looking and not that clean in the bathroom and bedroom. The beds had duvets on but no covers!?! The bathroom towels were so thin and old and frayed they should have been thrown away years ago. Plus a few squashed flies on the walls that have never been cleaned away..... Swimming pool too small to swim in

However, Nice friendly receptionist and Location of Apartments is wonderful on the beach, but will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been to Corralejo several times and love the place so it was an easy choice for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay somewhere special with fantastic sea views and had noticed the Galera Beach complex whenever we had walked up the beautiful beach. A quick search on the Internet lead to their website www.galerabeach.net where there are some good photos and information about the place.

A quick email with an enquiry about our dates requesting a sea view and a double bed (hey it’s a honeymoon!) and prices yielded a fast response and a discounted rate. Only the two bedroom apartments have a double bed but they only charged the single bedroom rate as we were staying for 17 nights. There isn’t a facility for payment on their website but they included their bank details which as I use online banking was a painless method of paying the deposit. A confirmation of the booking arrived the next day.

On arrival at the site at around 9pm we found our name on the reception door along with our apartment number and key location. We had been informed of this approach by email as reception closes at 6pm. We duly found our room, dropped off our cases, had a quick change of clothes and headed out for a drink.

The apartment was quite large with two bedrooms, one with two single beds and another with the double. The main room had a small patio with fantastic views of the beach, the sea, Corralejo and the Island of Lobos. There’s a built in wardrobe, a chest of drawers and a bedside table with lamp. The room was quite hot at night as there was no aircon but we expected that. The furniture looked a bit dated but had been freshened up with a coat of varnished paint. The second bedroom had a window overlooking the pool area and similar furniture to the main room. My wife used this room as a dressing room. The apartment was in good condition but a little tired, it could do with a bit of money being spent on the complex to renovate and rejuvenate the rooms.

We went to reception the following morning to pay our balance and were greeted by a very pleasant English and Spanish lady. They were both helpful and welcomed us and provided some useful advice. We were given free WiFi access for the stay which wasn’t expected but was used extensively - mainly from the balcony as the signal was strongest there. Reception also sells bottled water which is handy. The complex is quite small which was ideal for us. The clean and tidy pool area was nice for privacy with comfy sunbeds and the pool was refreshing.

Galera Beach is within walking distance of the town centre and its nightlife, bars, restaurants etc. El Campanario commercial centre is also only a five minute walk away where there is a supermarket and various other shops and restaurants and bars.

We really enjoyed our stay at Galera Beach and will definitely return, it was sad leaving our slice of heaven behind.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor sea view room, the views are fantastic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteGaryga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

While on holiday in Lanzarote we took the ferry from Playa Blanca to Fuerteventura. Back pack just in case we stayed over night. So glad we did. After trying a few hotels, came across this small complex. Girl on reception was friendly and only took five minutes to book an apartment. No 9 upstairs we didnt expect too much. Wow - apartment, one bedroom & lounge/kitchen dining area was lovley, clean and most of all the view was fantastic. Balcony from bedroom & also one from lounge. Stunning. Would most definately stay again. Didnt use small swimming pool but looked clean with plenty of loungers. Peaceful and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginge1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After staying at this establishment for the second summer , I returned for many reasons ,the location, and above all the good customer service and relations. This time round I am sad to say the customer service leaves allot to be desired . Businesses are built on return custom ,and looking after there customers . I was shocked after staying at the establishment for three and a half weeks ,and asking for a late check out , I was told it was told it would cost an additional 20 euros .No alternative was offered , even though the place was empty and after vacating our room it was left with the key still in the door after we left
All this after asking for a new mattress as the bed was awful.Not once during our stay in a small apartment block were we asked how our stay was . I honestly felt they were doing them a favour.
The receptionist is the eyes and ears of a business ,I believe there to welcome customers and deal with any grievance. This certainly was not the case ,we were even asked to forward and mail our booking reference to her .
I can honestly say there was no attempt to make us feel welcome. How sad that the basic principles of running a holiday apartment bloc are neglected . Take care of your customers as they are your business .returning customers can make a business ,I certainly wont be returning .

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms upstairs ,and away from the noise of the front bar.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

4th visit to corralejo and 1st time at Galera Beach and we loved this place even although some updating is required, the location and cleanliness more than made up for the dated appearance.
This is a Small and calm complex of 16 apartments with a small but nice pool / lounge area (a real sun trap) ample sun beds. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Fantastic Location which is the main selling point of the place, right on the beach with a nice beach bar within 100m. A 10 min walk to main road with supermarkets, restaurants and shops or you can take a nice walk along the beach instead. Great clean beaches with a few nice bars. Truthfully the apartment we stayed in (no. 5) was a little dated and in need of new microwave, fridge (very clean but some rust spots) however, the whole place was spotless. Twin beds were a little bit too narrow for us but had average comfort certainly didn't stop us having good nights sleep. The complex is on a windy corner and the sea breeze could get a little chilly after a while but also welcome on very hot days. If you like small quiet self catering holiday and don't mind some dated facilities this would be a great choice but not for those who like a modern high spec social and active accommodation. Despite some of the less positive truthful comments we will certainly return to this place due to the great location.

Room Tip: Think we would have preferred an upstairs apartment as bigger balcony and better view of the sea fro...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShazWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week in August 2012, very good value apartments, we only booked a double room but ended up being given a huge two bedroom apartment.

Kitchen was basic but fine for simple meals, fridge big enough for food and drinks. Swimming pool wasn't the best but being right on the beach there is no need for it! The shower by the pool was pretty useful for hosing yourself down after a day out on the beach.

Bar is one of the best things about this place, run by very friendly Portuguese guys, who made amazing cocktails. Guitarist / singer would play at the bar most afternoons which was nice as the sun set.

No negative points, if you want a good spot near Corralejo, that's nice and quiet, yet right on the beach, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shilton_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
959 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galera Beach Resort

Address: Calle Poseidon 1, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Corralejo
Price Range: $153 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galera Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galera Beach Resort Corralejo, Fuerteventura is a frontline beach resort consisting of 16 family apartments and 5 villas. It is perfectly situated being on the beach and within 10 minutes walk of all the local shops, bars and restaurants. This resort is ideal for families/couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galera Beach Hotel Corralejo
Galera Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing