We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, but not perfect.”
Review of Casa el Morro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa el Morro
Ranked #1 of 5 Yaiza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Very quiet place. A long way from most places so you'll need a car. However, the village has a supermarket which is only 5-10 minutes walk away. The apartment we had was clean and comfortable, with a nice patio outside with table and chairs. The pool was lovely.
I think my only real gripe with the place was the fact that it's self catering, and they provide cutlery, crockery and a couple of small pans, albeit not very good ones, but they don't provide anything to wash them up with. I don't know whether they keep all of the washing up liquid left behind by guests but it seems odd to me that they wouldn't provide this. Having said that we asked for some and got it. The rooms are also very dark, as another reviewer mentioned, but we didn't spend too much time inside anyway.

Overall it was a great stay and just the thing to get away from a UK winter for a week. We'd go again.

Oh, watch out for mad woman across the road who doesn't like you turning your car in her drive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anonym0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at casa el morro.
About the lady who lives nearby, we need to mention this is a very small village with particular neighbours, this lady you have mentioned is not happy when cars go into her property to reverse, she is just proud of her garden and gets annoyed when a car spoiled it.
We have to say we are now providing soap for the kitchen.
We hope this don´t put you off, We would love to see you again in casa el morro soon.
Kind regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Casa el Morro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

We've stayed with our two teen sons and my husband and I loved this place. It's very quite with nice surroundings and it has a very relaxing atmosphere. Don't expect a lot of restaurants near this place, but if you're looking for a peaceful place; this is the one. Huge daybeds at both our apartment and the swimmingpool made our sons even get to read a book. Our bed was quite firm, slightly too firm to my taste, but better too firm then too soft. Raquel made us feel at home and the place was cleaned every day. You need a car to overlook Lanzarote, but you will need one even when you're in Playa Blanca or Puerto del Carmen. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gea_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about casa el morro. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We would love to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is a lovely spot for a relaxing holiday, as long as you hire a car and are fairly self sufficient. It is ideally located for exploring the interior of Lanzarote, Timanfaya National Park and some of the more characterful villages by the sea, including El Golfo. Car hire is absolutely essential: the roads are excellent although not always lit for night driving.

We found the local villages of Uga and Yaiza quiet to the point of completely deserted (you could almost see the tumbleweed), apart from the local Spar and a coffee bar, but Puerto Carmen and Puerto Calero are quite close for the standard Brit bars, pubs and tourist shops, which make you appreciate the tranquility of Casa El Morro even more.

Best things about Casa El Morro: the relaxing and tranquil ambience, the pool area and quirky apartments; the friendly cats and occasional lizards. Wonderful views of the volcanoes and ideally located to visit the vineyards of La Geria and inland towns. Raquel is very kind and helpful. Worst things: don't come here if you want room service, good local restaurants and everything on tap - the apartments are self catering but if you want to eat out, you tend to be stuck with the tourist menus of the Playas which are not on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyS241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. we are very happy you have enjoyed your stay at casa el morro.
We would love to see you again soon.
All the best,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We are thirty somethings with an 11 month old baby and loved this small, intimate place. It was the perfect location for exploring the island and we loved the huge day beds (on our terrace and by the pool) for reading/snoozing whilst back at base. Raquel went out of her way to make us feel welcome bringing beach toys for our daughter to play with and offering to supply us with a babysitter. It was a little too cold and windy for us to enjoy the terrace in the evening (it was November after all) but some braver than us made use of their private grills and ate al fresco. We would usually be much more active on our trips but since our daughter isn't yet into hiking we were much more 'hotel bound' and couldn't have picked a better place to do that - there was even yoga on offer!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southeastlondon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about casa el morro. We are glad you had such a fantastic time.
Looking foward to seeing you in the near future.
All the best,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holidays on the island of lanzarote. We saw the website we decided it was a very good choice to go with our 10 month old daughter for a first holiday together as a small family
We felt very welcomed and loved in this house, every thing here is done with care and attention. The situation is perfect for just relaxing and slowing down from our busy lives in london. The village is very near by so we went walking every day to enjoy the tapas at the nice local restaurant, there is a lovely park as well with trees and plenty of birds. The views from our house Uga was amazing with the best sunsets we have ever seen in our lives and we are a well travelled couple. At night we could really enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace. The owners have dedicated all their lives to this place and the vibes there are of tranquility and love. two nice details are the vegetable patch and the free range chickens . They have children as well so it is a very familly wellcome place, we could use the toys from their little one and that helped a lot as well. I think this is going to be our perfect choice before we can trot again arround the world as we used to do before we became parents...
A good tip is to have a Thai massage in the Yurt,

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPerikito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. We really appreciated your comments. It´s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We would love to see you again soon.
Kind regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We were very disappointed with our stay at Casa El Morro. We booked into the largest of the apartments, Raquel. We found the apartment to be full of dustballs in corners and under the beds. The bedline was thin and bobbly, the lighting so dim that it was almost impossible to read in the sitting room in the evenings. We tried to spend as much time as possible outside becasue we found our apartment to be so gloomy and lacking in light. Our apartment was listed as having two bathrooms. It didn't, it had one upstairs, with the 'bathroom' downstairs being a toilet with sink. When we did try to use the upstairs bath to bathe our toddlers in the early evenings, there was never any hot water, so we resorted to boiling the kettle and putting pans on the stove, which we then carried upstairs.

From a security point of view, we felt a little unsafe as there were several instances of strangers wandering into the courtyard and looking into rooms and apartments. They were innocently looking for a reception or manager but there was never anyone available to take enquiries.


Positives: the garden is very pretty and well-tended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank littlemissmuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We are very sorry you felt this way staying at casa el morro. We appreciated your review but we have to say the room you have book it´s the bigger of the house and very popular between guests. It´s a two floors big country house with all the necessary for a family up to 5 people. We have regular guests who come every year to this suite as it´s one of most beautiful in casa el morro.
We don´t understand what you mention about the security, this is a very secure place. We are not sure if you knew you were coming to a small rural village where casa el morro is situated.
We are very sorry to say we are dissapointed to receive this review as it´s totally untrue.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hotel is centrally located in a rural setting and is ideal for day trips to all parts of the island or alternatively for passing the time exploring the area by foot. The daytime hours can also be spent enjoying the gardens ,the beautiful swimming pool area or the terraces of the individual apartments. The apartments each have a lounge, dining area and kitchen and are tastefully finished to a high standard . The staff are very friendly and helpful. The owner's son is all to willing to play with any children. All of the above comes at a very reasonable price,on a beautiful unique island in the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elsietom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunikiran, Director de Recepción at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely words about casa el morro. We really appreciated your review. We are glad you enjoyed you holiday.
Looking foward to seeing you again en the near future.
Kind regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
2.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,942 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
128 reviews
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
572 reviews
8.5 mi away
Casa Tomaren
Casa Tomaren
#1 of 2 in Mozaga
181 reviews
20.0 mi away
Casitas Tabayesco (Cozy Casas Canarias)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa el Morro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa el Morro

Address: Calle Morro 1, 35570 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yaiza
Price Range: $138 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa el Morro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Casa el Morro we offer Environmentally Friendly Holidays in unique & stylish accommodation for groups, couples, families & solo travellers away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas, near Timanfaya National Park and the vineyards of La Geria. Our Yurt, Suites, Cottages and Villas are situated in Lanzarote´s most unspoilt areas. We serve only farm fresh, organic food, and Yoga Classes, Massages, Ayurveda treatments and therapies will add a very personal touch to your holiday in Lanzarote. At the family-owned finca of Casa el Morro we offer 7 individually designed, fully equipped and self-contained suites and cottages and a yurt, plus 4 traditional Canarian farmhouses (“fincas”) in the countryside of Lanzarote (Charco el Palo, La Geria, Femés and Maguéz), and a 2-bedroom, 2-floor apartment with spectacular views right next to the beach in Mala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa el Morro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Morro Hotel Yaiza
Casa El Morro Lanzarote/Yaiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing