We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Holiday”
Review of Cay Beach Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cay Beach Papagayo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional Holiday”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from Hotel Cay Beach and we had a great time, accommodation 1st class, and very spacious.clean and comfortably furnished. Food was excellent not four star,great fish, stews,paella,steaks and salads, but on the whole more than adequate for my wife and I.Pool and bar area fantastic, no sun bed problem, nice and clean and lots in abundance. Jacquezi brilliant, pool a little cool.Only problem we encountered , no night life easily resolved though across the road there is a Ibrostar hotel with lots going on 200m away.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a relaxing Jan/Feb holiday.
The receptionist on duty is so helpful and there is nothing she will not do for you, and finally beware of winging southerners from.
Stephen&Denise F

Room Tip: If you want an extra room when booking ask for an end room as these have a separate bedroom and loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    61
    44
    31
    34
See reviews for
44
105
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have been to alot of hotels in my time but i have to say this hotel takes the medal, the staff are very helpful and polite,they make you feel completly at home, just let you help yourselves.If your expecting 5* treatment don't bother!!!!! but if you want to relax,chillout and have a friendly laid back atmosphere with 4* treatment then this is the place for you.The hotel is situated within easy reach of the local town 'Playa Blanco'which in it self needs exploring to find the 'Nags Head' enough said !!! great place !!!
or 15 mins walk and you are on the most incredible beaches,absolutly beautiful.Mind you i would advise to advert the eyes now and again because it reminded me of the fruit n veg section in the local supermarket!!!! You'll see what i mean but don't let it put you off , they are stunning beaches .
In the evening if you fancy something a bit lively then a short regular bus will take you into town for 1 euro 30 cent or a cab for 3 euro 50 cent.

Room Tip: try and be round the pool area but all rooms are very easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here from 30 December - 6 January - all in all a very nice location, good size clean rooms and really peaceful. The cleanliness could not be faulted. As with many all inclusive deals the food was not fantastic but able to choose something from the choices. Would not recommend going here if you are looking for entertainment [which we were not] as there is only a self service bar service in the evenings with just a CD player for entertainment. However, the marina is only a short distance away where you can find as much entertainment as you wish [or dont]. It was really peaceful and we enjoyed making the most of the day beds - lovely not to have to fight over sunbeds and really quiet with only about 6 other couples staying in the hotel. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking for a really quiet but beautifully located hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Touringfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here 16th-23rd Dec 2012 and would have to agree with John M regarding our stay there. This hotel is ideally suited to adults looking for peace and quiet. The beatiful Papagayo Beach is a bit of an overland trek, or reached by car.... not just a stroll away. Playa Blanca itself is a good stretch of the legs in the opposite direction along the promenade..... 30 mins to the Marina (lovely bars, restaurants and shops) and a further 30 mins to the bars and beaches, although there is a local bus service right outside the hotel costing 1.30 Euro any distance.

We had a couple of minor irritations with the service (not at the pool bar which was excellent) and having cold water only in the wash-basin and perhaps not everyone would appreciate the peacefullness of the resort as we did. Also they will want to charge you for wiifi but you can get it free in the shopping centre across the road.

Far more positives than negatives, A Lovely Relaxing Holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here between 16th & 23rd December 2012. I would say that this would be best suited for couples aged 30 upwards. I stayed in one of the one bedroom bungalows adjacent to the pool area and I could not fault them. It was very quite, there were probably only a dozen other couple's at most staying there. During the evening's the 'disco' bar was occupied by maybe only 6 people. The pool bar ( daytime only ) was very good, It was mainly run by a dutch guy called Mark who was very friendly and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was okay, nothing fancy but I didn't go hungry. The drinks at both bars were generally self service. This hotel is certainly not suitable for couple's with young children, there is no entertainment what so ever. The marina is about a half hour walk and there are some good shops and a market if you wish. Papagayo beach is one of the best beaches I have been on out of all the canary islands, proper golden sand, about 500 meters long and very quite. The weather I had in December was fab, no clouds with temperatures between 24 & 27C.
In summary, I had a very relaxing break in a quite, average hotel with good accomodation and great weather. I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from cay beach, had an amazing time, very quiet & relaxing! Not suitable for children as there is no entertainment for them! Went up to cay beach sun (sister hotel) for new years eve where they had childrens entertainer, bingo & quiz which we all enjoyed! There was also a games room for the older kids! Would certainly go bk to cay beach papagayo as it was very peaceful & no clambering for sunbeds! If you want you can use your band @ other hotel whenever you want some entertainment but for relaxing it was excellent!

Room Tip: Think I must have had best apartment as we overlooked pool & had most amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a week here over christmas. didn't choose this hotel "got moved to our sister hotel" by our chosen hotel.
Thought we would give it a go. Problem is it's an all inclusive hotel and we were not all inc. So straight away we were fish out of water. We looked at the food and it looked pretty poor. We were glad we hadn't paid for it. Couldn't find the bar and the supermarket was never open.
The pool is open to the "sea breeze" and felt cold and uninviting.
Rooms were ok but the bathrooms were lacking in a major element. Hot running water in the sinks on most occasions. If you want a break away from Playa Blanca by all means stay here. It's a 25 min walk to the centre. We won't be booking this place again.

Room Tip: Face the sea and it's burning hot on the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lumpyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yaiza hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,312 reviews
19.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,570 reviews
19.9 mi away
Diverhotel Lanzarote
Diverhotel Lanzarote
#29 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,520 reviews
19.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cay Beach Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cay Beach Papagayo

Property: Cay Beach Papagayo
Address: Urb. Las Coloradas, Playa Blanca, 35500 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cay Beach Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Papagayo Hotel Yaiza
Cay Beach Papagayo Lanzarote/Yaiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing