We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you like chips”
Review of Cay Beach Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cay Beach Papagayo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
glos
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great if you like chips”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this hotel a while ago and it had good reviews then ,like others we were dropped off outside the other hotel, no problem for us as we had read the reviews on here thanks. Found our way down to the reception and booked in , they gave us a really nice room with the most fantastic views over the other islands, we were very lucky others had views of a black wall.
food could have been better. The staff do a great job and are very welcoming,we met some very nice people there and was even given some yorkshire teabags by one couple thanks,as said before this hotel is not exactly on the beach but a good 20 or 30 minute walk to papagayo or dorado beaches , both are very good but not if you have trouble walking.
As for the drinks the wine was ok as was the beer and spirits , just help yourself .pool was nice as was the spa pool , we had no problem getting sunbeds but there was not many people there.
This is not a bad hotel for anyone who likes peace and quiet , and you will get a good nights sleep, would we go back to this hotel? probably not due to the food, but otherwise its a good base to explore this lovely island,just dont expect four star.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is higher up the steps and you should get great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budgieGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    62
    46
    32
    37
See reviews for
46
109
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room We booked a week all inclusive from 2nd october. It was a late flight and we arrived at 11.30 pm. to be dropped off at a hotel next door without any explanation. The receptionist gave us room keys for our hotel and pointed us in a general direction of our room. We carried heavy bags down steps and eventually found our room. ( These appeared to be numbered in some random system ) Once inside the apartment we had booked was clean and spacious, and close to the pool. The hotel was deserted and there was nowhere to even get a drink of water. The following morning we discovered our reception was only open a few hours a day, and the hotel was run with almost no staff. One cook ,one waiter, and a lifeguard. They did not employ a barman ! This must be the only " 4 star " hotel on the planet witour a barman. The food was not too bad by Spanish hotel standards, but not always very hot, and the advertised pool snacks, we discovered, were only available by asking the lifeguard to get the cook to make something. The beach was, as stated only about 400 yards away, was just rocks, and no facilities. The nearest good beach was at Papagayo which was a good 20 minutes brisk walk away over very rough hilly ground. ( Not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties ). Evenings were not much better. There was a disco bar ( Unattended ) and with no disco inside, just CDs playing when the waiter found time to put one on. And a help youself bar as long as you only wanted the basics. Even fruit juices were kept out of reach in the evenings. the only redeeming factor was an excellent very clean pool and plenty of sun beds.. In my opinion this is only a 2 star hotel, mainly because of the lack of staff. There may be more at the height of the season, but in October there will be no returning customers I`m sure.

Martin from Folkestone UK










Do you have photos to share?
(optional)






Add a photo




Submit your review



I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review. I understand that TripAdvisor has a zero-tolerance policy on fake reviews. Learn more






Submit your review
Preview your review

Recent reviews of this property



JHFD




“Love Playa Blanca”


Been to Playa Blanca for past 8 years in March to a different AI hotel in the same area, we are aware of the distance from P. Blanca centre and Rubicon Marina, not like many other guests staying at Cay Beach Papagayo. It is a pleasant walk along the coastal path once you find your way to the seafront. Turn left out of main...
more





John A




“September break”


Arrived at the hotel around 7pm and was directed to our apartment. Had to climb several flights of steps with four cases. Found room to be quite acceptable and clean. Went down to get our evening meal a very sparse restaurant with minimum choice of food. Food ok but could have been better problem was the choice was...
more





Gee M




“Another Honest Review”


We've just returned from a 7 day All-Inclusive Holiday. We (4 adults) were dropped off at the hotel at 3pm only to find that the reception was closed until 5pm. No notices on the door to direct or advise us. We stood in the blazing heat with our luggage wandering what to do. We had to ask somebody (not a member of staff...
more



Tips for writing a great review

















.




About TripAdvisor® TripAdvisor features reviews and advice on hotels, resorts, flights, holiday rentals, holiday packages, travel guides, and lots more.

Reviews and advice on hotels, resorts, flights, holiday rentals, holiday packages, and lots more! Visit TripAdvisor's international sites:





























About Us | Write a review | Careers | Owners | Help Centre | Business Listings | DMO/CVB


© 2012 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved. TripAdvisor Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.


We booked a week all inclusive from 2nd october. It was a late flight and we arrived at 11.30 pm. to be dropped off at a hotel next door without any explanation. The receptionist gave us room keys for our hotel and pointed us in a general direction of our room. We carried heavy bags down steps and eventually found our room. ( These appeared to be numbered in some random system ) Once inside the apartment we had booked was clean and spacious, and close to the pool. The hotel was deserted and there was nowhere to even get a drink of water. The following morning we discovered our reception was only open a few hours a day, and the hotel was run with almost no staff. One cook ,one waiter, and a lifeguard. They did not employ a barman ! This must be the only " 4 star " hotel on the planet witour a barman. The food was not too bad by Spanish hotel standards, but not always very hot, and the advertised pool snacks, we discovered, were only available by asking the lifeguard to get the cook to make something. The beach was, as stated only about 400 yards away, was just rocks, and no facilities. The nearest good beach was at Papagayo which was a good 20 minutes brisk walk away over very rough hilly ground. ( Not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties ). Evenings were not much better. There was a disco bar ( Unattended ) and with no disco inside, just CDs playing when the waiter found time to put one on. And a help youself bar as long as you only wanted the basics. Even fruit juices were kept out of reach in the evenings. the only redeeming factor was an excellent very clean pool and plenty of sun beds.. In my opinion this is only a 2 star hotel, mainly because of the lack of staff. There may be more at the height of the season, but in October there will be no returning customers I`m sure.

Martin B from Folkestone UK




















* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... (more)

TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yaiza hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been to Playa Blanca for past 8 years in March to a different AI hotel in the same area, we are aware of the distance from P. Blanca centre and Rubicon Marina, not like many other guests staying at Cay Beach Papagayo. It is a pleasant walk along the coastal path once you find your way to the seafront. Turn left out of main entrance cross over road and follow high wall round to right and carry on until you arrive at Promenade (in front of Dream Castillo Hotel) or take the service bus No 30 outside main entrance every 30 mins, 1€ 30c.
Our rooms were clean and spacious with lounge/bedroom/bathroom/kitchen and outdoor drying area ideal for wet beach wear etc.There was an interconnecting door to next apartment, a little disturbing at first as voices could be heard at times. The 11 nights we were there 2 days only we had no cleaner or the beds made up, on one occasion though our towels were removed and not replaced, so had to ask at Bocayna reception next door as our reception was closed and we needed them as we wished to shower, we rang 3 times no towels forthcoming, eventually our reception re-opened and we were asked to go up and collect them, not the best service, not what you expect.
Lovely quiet pool area, BUT!! not enough sunbeds for the number of guests when hotel full and certainly not enough sun umbrellas or shade. I do not enjoy lying in full sun in the heat of September, so for the very 1st time ever we resorted to join the early risers and grab a bed with shade (not good, felt awful) also on the subject of shade, the eating/drinking area adjacent to restaurant is lacking in tables and ,half a dozen tables extra with cover would be ideal for use of an evening when guests may wish to stay around the hotel to have a drink and NOT TO HAVE TO SIT IN THE AWFUL SO CALLED DISCO, listening to the same bang, bang bang music tape played continually, the room has nil atmosphere, could be a comfy lounge with low background music, where guests could enjoy a chat, read whilst enjoying a drink.
The restaurant/dining room is no better than a school dining room, (I should know as an ex school meals employee) so hot and stuffy, no air conditioning. That is where the similarity with school ends. Soft drinks and wine in plastic cups, understandable by pool but in a restaurant? Glass ones are like goldust, sure some kept them at all times. Always a shortage of dessertspoons but plenty of plastic teaspoons (why??) and most days at breakfast a wait for cups, on the plus side breakfast was fine, usual stuff eggs bacon, sausage and lovely baguettes but I missed yogurt, there was something similar but not to my taste, orange juice was not very good, I bought a carton and had that.
On 2 occasions the small pkts of jam were well out of date 2011, I showed them to the waiter and he shrugged and smiled, poor bloke, they are very hard working, very understaffed in all depts.
Lunch each day, salad with tuna, I like tuna but everyday!! Pasta with sauces meat and fish, and chips, if nothing else you could be sure of chips. The trays were not refilled before they ran out and often if the roast meat had all been taken and you wait for the chef to come he could come with something completely different eg: kiddies bread crumbed fish shapes (again why??) Bad stock control??
Evening meal was a repetition of lunch on salad counter, and on meat/fish counter similar, quite boring not what we normally have in AI. If you are a lover of ice cream you are in luck, at every meal there are small individual cartons, I must have eaten more ice cream on holiday than in the whole of my 60+ years, but you have to have something for dessert. If you drink wine do not have it from the bottle it is YUK!! Have the barrel variety that is if it is working, for 2 nights it was out of order.
If the Cay Beach Sun in Playa Blanca (same group) can provide better quality meals, we ate there twice, one lunch and one dinner, what is the problem with this hotel. With a little tweaking here and there this hotel could deserve its 4*status not 2* which at the moment is all it deserves.
We met some lovely people and there was a good friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Arrived at the hotel around 7pm and was directed to our apartment. Had to climb several flights of steps with four cases. Found room to be quite acceptable and clean. Went down to get our evening meal a very sparse restaurant with minimum choice of food. Food ok but could have been better problem was the choice was repeated all week. One dinner time food ran out as depend could not be met. Breakfast reasonable but without bacon 2 days. Occasionally found food to be barely cooked. The hotel could probably hold around 200 people. Pool area had around 30 beds so had to join the early morning towel run. Pool bar was on a help yourself basis as was the evening Disco!!! most of the time. When booking the hotel the map reference put it in playa blanca where we hoped to be but was actually 4 miles away. Quoted as a 4 star holiday don't be fooled I would give it as a 2. Looked for all advertised facilities they were very well hidden as I didn't find any. Weather was fantastic.

Room Tip: Better to have an apartment with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've just returned from a 7 day All-Inclusive Holiday. We (4 adults) were dropped off at the hotel at 3pm only to find that the reception was closed until 5pm. No notices on the door to direct or advise us. We stood in the blazing heat with our luggage wandering what to do. We had to ask somebody (not a member of staff) who advised us to go to a hotel next door where there was a receptionist. After following her directions we managed to get checked in our hotel there and were directed to our rooms. We were not shown to our rooms and there were no luggage trolleys or porters to assist us (which i believe would be a huge problem for elderly/disabled persons). It took us about half an hour to find our rooms which were clean on arrival but very basic. There were no coffee making facilities and the hairdryer looked like a hand held vacuum cleaner pinned onto the bathroom wall.
Our room had a plumbing/drainage problem - the loo didn't flush and frequently brought up sewage into our bath when we flushed. There was an unpleasant smell each time we flushed the loo too. We complained twice to the hotel staff who did accommodate our request quite quickly.
Food - this was very basic. We were pleased on our first day to have a full English breakfast but the standard was offered just once in the week. The choice of other buffet items remained the same each day and night and became really boring. I am a vegetarian and asked for cheese at lunch time to eat with my salad. They obliged on the first occasion but refused on the second.
There was no entertainment for us and no night life in the vicinity. We found ourselves taking a taxi (very fairly priced) to Playa Blanca and back where there were nice bars and restaurants open until quite late.
We did have a good break and met some lovely British people, although will not be returning again to this resort again.
This is definitely NOT a 4Star rated resort - more like a 2Star
It would be worth paying a little more to stay nearer the beach. The name 'Cay Beach Hotel' was a little misleading but as this was a last minute booking - so hey!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a stay at Cay Beach (Sept 2012). We were looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday in the sunshine and this hotel was perfect for that. We were one the youngest couples there (we are 19 and 20) besides a few families with babies.

We were dropped off at the Iberostar (just up from Cay Beach), and I had seen on previous reviews that Cay Beach shares the reception with the Iberostar when Cay Beach's reception is shut. However we were told that the Cay beach reception was open so we checked in there. The receptionist spoke good English and was very helpful.

All the rooms face towards the sea. We had a lovely view of the sea and the neighbouring island Fuertaventura, however I'm not sure if all the rooms have a sea view. The room and bathroom were both spotless. Rooms were cleaned every day besides Thursday and Sunday and clean towels were provided most days. There was one day where they took our towels and forgot to replace them, but we just went to reception and asked for some more. The TV seems to have a lot of German channels, the only English channels being Sky News, CNBC and CNN. The beds were quite uncomfortable and were creaky but we soon got used to it. All rooms have a balcony or a small terrace with a table and a couple of chairs.

We spent most of our time beside the pool, which was always clean and quiet. We took our own beach towels, however the hotel have them available to hire. There are enough sunbeds for everyone, but if you want some underneath a parasol then you have to be up reasonably early. There is also a jacuzzi and a small children's pool. A lifeguard is usually milling around during the day. We loved the pool bar as they have all the soft drinks and beer on tap. They also have spirits lined up on the shelves. You help yourself to everything and we really enjoyed this.

I will be honest and say that the food was a bit of a let down, but it was the only thing that let this hotel down for us. Every meal is provided as a buffet so you just help yourself. Breakfast was okay, they had sausages, eggs and bacon and a variety of pastries and cereal. They also provided fresh fruit and toast. Again, all the soft drinks, beer and juice are on tap in the restaurant and you help yourself. Lunch seemed to be better than dinner. Chips, pasta, pasta sauce and salad are provided at both. There were usually fish, chicken and some form of red meat provided at lunch and dinner. The food tasted fine, but the only let down seemed to be that it went cold quickly and none of it went together. The strangest combo I saw was brussel sprouts with ham, on the buffet at the same time as meatballs and spaghetti. Dessert usually consisted of jelly, ice cream and fresh fruit. We heard some other people staying there saying the food was terrible and not edible but we thought these comments were ridiculous as it is not that bad at all.

There were only a couple of staff milling about, which I thought was nice because you are always left to your own devices and not being hassled. One waiter doubled as a barman when the restaurant shuts at 9pm. They have a 'disco' which was is a nicely furnished room with drinks on tap. I think the only cocktail the barman knew was sex on the beach, but they were nice. On most nights we sat outside in the restaurants seating area.

The hotel is in a quiet area, outside Playa Blanca. The Papagayo beach is just a 15 minute walk away up and over a big hill. There is a small shopping centre about 300 yards from the hotel and we went to the sports bar there a couple of times. If you want to go to Playa Blanca there is a bus every half an hour from right outside the hotel which was very convenient. I think there are water sports down at the beaches in Playa Blanca. Marina Rubicon is about a half an hour walk, between the hotel and Playa Blanca with many restaurants and shops. We would recommend Lani's Grill at Marina Rubicon, gorgeous food and ice creams, and lovely views over the marina. We would also recommend The Irish Anvil, which is an Irish bar just past the harbour in Playa Blanca, they provided big servings for a smaller price than some of the restaurants in the area.

Overall we had a lovely holiday, and after worrying about some of the bad reviews, we thought the hotel was great for couples and friends. Although perhaps not so great for families due to the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmalouise93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Do book this hotel if you want a quiet and relaxing break, enjoy walking, snorkeling and are prepared to make your own entertainment. Do not book if you want a hotel with animation team style activities as there are none.

The rooms are clean and have spacious bathrooms and good air con. There are not many rooms/apartments and they are set in relatively spacious grounds with a big pool for the size of the complex. Even when some annoying guests reserved sunbeds we could always find one at any time of the day.

The food was okay most of the time; the breakfasts and lunches were fine but occasionally the evening meal was not to our tastes so we took the opportunity to eat out a couple of times.

The "disco" played the same CD all week and was not to the taste of those staying there so most took their drinks out onto the terrace.

We found the staff pleasant and helpful, especially so Mark the lifeguard.

It is a lovely walk along the sea front taking 30mins to the marina and 1hr to the main resort, or take the bus at €1.30 each way (the no 30 stops right outside the hotel every 30 mins). The beautiful Papagayo beaches are 20 mins walk.

Opposite the hotel, across the roundabout is a small shopping complex from where you can do a Segway tour which is great fun.

Overall we found this hotel to be good value for money. It's not 4 star luxury but then it costs a lot less than the bigger 4 star complexes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJ_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
1.6 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,262 reviews
19.9 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
#29 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,616 reviews
20.3 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cay Beach Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cay Beach Papagayo

Property: Cay Beach Papagayo
Address: Urb. Las Coloradas, Playa Blanca, 35500 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cay Beach Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Papagayo Hotel Yaiza
Cay Beach Papagayo Lanzarote/Yaiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing