We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”
Review of La Casona de Yaiza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casona de Yaiza
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were booked to stay at La Casona de Yaiza for one week. The Owner, Jose, was there to meet us on arrival. He showed us around the hotel and explained that we were the only people booked to stay there that week and they were planning some maintenance work so it would be good for us to move to his other hotel in Yaiza - Casa de Hilario - as there would be other guests there. We decided to stay for 1 night at La Casona de Yaiza and then transfer to Casa de Hilario the next day. Jose picked us up the next morning and drove us to Casa de Hilario, which was only 2 minutes away in the car.
Jose showed us a slection of rooms to stay in at Casona de Yaiza and we chose a double room on the upper level overlooking the pool with a great view across the hills of the Timanfaya National Park. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean and tidy. There was a small television, complimentary water and cosy bathrobes. We spent the afternoon by the pool which was very quiet and peaceful, although not heated so pretty cold!
Yaiza is a sleepy village/town with few bars and restaurants. We managed to find a couple of nice restaurants and a cafe/bar (next to the supermarket) which were open in the evening, all of which were nice. We ate in the restaurant at La Casona de Yaiza one evening which turned out to be the best meal we had on the island, and we found some very good restuarants during our stay.
The appeal of La Casona de Yaiza is the fact that you are staying away from the main resorts in the peace and quiet of the countryside. It is recommended that you hire a car to travel around the island and to have more choice in the evenings when it comes to meals. The Hotel itself has it's own unique style and Jose was a very welcoming host. Staying at La Casona de Yaiza almost felt like you were a guest at a friend's home, and although Jose or staff members are not always on-site Jose is only a phone call away if you have any issues.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore a different side to Lanzarote - it's a beautiful place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here for a week in January to catch some sun. The hotel is in a quiet part of Lanzarote, Yaiza, well away from noisy resorts and bars. Booked online at 588 euros for 7 nights b&b. Stayed in room 5 which apparently is one of their cheapest rooms. The room is really lovely, spacious, high ceilings, mural in the bedroom area with a very large shower bathroom. They have a pool at the back and a sun deck at the front looking over the hills. Great views. So overall I think this is good value for money.

Yaiza is a very small village inland, and if you want to see any of the island you will need a hire car. The hotel can arrange a car for you half the cost I could hire online. Within walking distance from the hotel there is a supermarket, gift shop and that's about it. There is a restaurant in the village which shut at 4pm each day, and another a little further out ( 15 mins walk max).

The hotel has a restaurant attached. Its closed on Thursdays. We had a meal here each night and thought the quality was really excellent.

The hotel operates with very few staff. The owner operates between this and another hotel, so reception is not always open. Restaurant manager is there from 2pm each day, and there is one person who deals with breakfast. It's relaxed and informal.

The hotel information shows it to be 4 star. I would rate it a good 3 but not 4.

My only criticism is that it is noisy due to the very old wooden floors. They look fantastic but have no sound proofing properties so you will hear others talking, walking, snoring below or above your room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

For a peaceful stay, away from the massive resorts and busy nightlife, this was perfect.

Every room is unique and very spacious, clean and doesn't give a typical hotel-room feeling, only one negative comment is that the walls were very thin.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basenlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Only stayed 1 night at this hotel as live on the island and were looking for somewhere to relax. Only 9 rooms, three which are suites. Due to some write-ups seen prior to stay, decided to opt for a junior suite. I think the owner wasn't thrilled to have a one night stay but that's his decision. We arrived at time set, the owners were there and the wife helped us with our luggage and was very pleasant. There is a small check-in area and a small lounge which nobody seemed to use. We went up to our junior suite which consisted of a very large, high ceiling room with a juliet balcony and an enormous bathroom. The decor was unusual with painted ceilings and antique furniture. The only minor comments are the lighting wasn't too good and the beautiful bathroom with french style clawed bath and large double shower didn't have anyway to put soap etc. Maybe in places in need of a lick of paint but overall with flat screen TV etc entirely satisfied with junior suite, a pity we couldn't have stayed longer.
We quickly went down to the pool area at the back of the hotel, where there is a reasonable sized pool and pleasant potted plants. The water in the pool was quite cold but you got used to it and this is quite normal for Lanzarote hotels. Only 5 loungers around the pool but usually only a few people used the area and there was seating elsewhere.
That evening we ate in the restaurant which was quite small and intimate. The only waiter on duty was fortunately very efficient and pleasant. The owner did pop by to check up on things. The standard of the food was very, very good although as one would expect not cheap. We were satisfied with the meal and thought although the menu was limited, we would certainly recommend it for special occasions.
I had read in other reviews that the breakfast was limited and not replenished and that you hardly saw anyone to get refills for coffee etc. In our particular case, we only saw a woman pop in several times to see if the coffee flask needed refilling and she did replenish the smoked salmon! It turns out she was also doing the cleaning so I guess she had a lot to do. The coffee was not the best in the world but overall the breakfast was quite good, smoked salmon, cold meats and various cheeses, breads, pastries and croissants, yoghurts, cereals and lots of fresh fruit, juice. Not the cooked, English breakfast my partner prefers but I thought a good continental spread. The owner popped by after his jog while we were eating breakfast and we paid the cleaner later. The owners are running two small hotels so can't be everywhere at once. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want lots of activities and wants to relax. You would need a car to get around and this type of hotel caters for people who want a quiet place to stay, probably with little contact with owner/staff but that's fine by me.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lanzainsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We stayed in September-October and liked it very much. It really depends on what you like: this small hotel is nice and quite. A home from home. Everything close-by by rental car. We stayed in the suite with a very nice sitting room and terrace. The swimming pool is small and a bit cold. Do not expect to get "spoilt" by the owners. They are not unfriendly, but you hardly see them. We prefer that above getting "paternalised". However, if you like being pampered, do not choose this hotel. Surroundings are wonderful. There are very good restaurants in the neigbourhood and the hotel restaurant is really VERY nice. You have to check your bill when you check out (our prepayment was not deducted in first instance) and tell the night before when you are leaving, because otherwise the owners will not be around ! absolutely recommended for travellers not liking resort hotels at the seaside. (coast is only a few kilometers away anyway!)

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Yaiza is a medium sized village in the island inland.

Views are very nice from the upper floor.

We insisted upon reviews to get a room there and as they were not full, obliged.

We almost never saw anyone duriing our stay, nor clients nor staff.

We woke up early and had breakfast (good) at 8h30AM when buffet was still plenty (seemed to be replenished).

Swimming pool is nice but COLD.

They did not change bedsheets but no prob.

A LOT OF CHARM, very quiet location

Do not expect to be pampered though, lovely garden and plants.

WOULD GO BACK TOMORROW!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicolasjclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OscarGirona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
3.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,004 reviews
16.9 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
6.9 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de Hilario
Casa de Hilario
#2 of 5 in Yaiza
90 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
591 reviews
17.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Yaiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Yaiza

Address: Calle Rincon s/n | Playa Blanca, 35570 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Price Range: $120 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casona de Yaiza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Casona de Yaiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona De Yaiza Hotel Yaiza
La Casona De Yaiza Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing