We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...”
Review of Holiday Inn Norton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn at Norton VA for a couple of nights on a business trip. The hotel staff were professional and courteous... Room was clean... The restaurant on the 5th floor had a great bacon cheeseburger.

The only problem with the hotel is excessive traffic and train noise due to location. Definitely request a room on the parking lot side, as far away from the train tracks as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamEDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate all your comments about our hotel.
We want our guest to have the best hotel experience ever and that is our goal at the Holiday Inn of Norton.

Please feel free contact us if we can be any assistance on your next visit with us.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

When I look at reviews from Trip Advisor I try to look first at the negative reviews first to understand the problems that travelers have had. Often there are proper concerns and often they are just off base. So for someone to complain about coal trucks or an occasional train in the heart of coal country is downright stupid. What do you expect. This fairly new Holiday Inn is exactly as described in other reviews. As a relatively new facility with excellent and safe parking it is right as you enter Norton, Va. The rooms are comfortable, clean decently appointed. The restaurant fills the bill. If your coming from afar, there is no need to worry when you stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

We appreciate all your wonderful comments about our hotel. We want all our guests to have the best hotel experience ever.
Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

stayed here during the Christmas holiday. the room was fantastic, the bar tender was roude
and not in the sprite of Christmas. kept saying how much she hated Christmas. the so called
5 star restaurant really sucked. do not order the potato soup, and do not order a grilled cheese
sandwich, tasted like it was basted with old fryer oil. the ribs so called bbq ribs had no flavor.
went for breakfast the next morning, my eggs were over cooked, the fryed potatoes had been
fryed maltible times so hard could not eat. ordered a pork chop and got ham instead. they said

that was their pork chop. so with that saying, do not eat at the restaurant. 2 thumbs down!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We at the Holiday Inn want to thank you for staying with us and appreicate your business.
At this time we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that ocurred during your stay.
Please contact me if you would like to discuss your stay with us as we want all our guest to have a pleasant experience at our hotel.
Again, thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here based on Trip Advisor and Yelp reviews. I'm glad I did. I was quite tired after a long day when I arrived. Check-in was quick and the young woman at the desk was friendly and efficient. My king room on the fourth floor was squeaky clean, nicely appointed, the wi-fi was super fast and the bed was extremely comfortable. I awoke refreshed and discovered that my window revealed beautiful mountains with tops shrouded in fog. I was happt to discover that the showerhead was high enough for my 6'3" to actually stand under. This is rare and I always appreciate it. The water pressure was good and strong. Breakfast in the grill was delicious and the service was courteous and prompt. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlatham42503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel.
We want all our guest to have the best hotel experience ever.

We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This seems to be a new Holiday Inn. Was greeted by a very professional employee,Brandon. He was very friendly and even up graded our room. Brandon also made suggestion for eating at their restaurant and gave me a coupon for the restaurant. Our room was a King suite and was extremely nice.The room had a microwave and refrigerator and seperate area with sofa and HDTV. The King Bedroom also has its own HDTV. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel's resturant. The resturant is on the fifth floor with great views of the mountains. Our waitress was very friendly and offered advice on things to do in the area. The food was also good. We had no problems with noise and the Wifi worked great! I had read reviews on tripadvisor and had chose Holiday Inn because of the reviews. I was so glad that we chose this hotel. We travel with our pet so I was thankful that this hotel is pet friendly. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Very friendly staff and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanrhsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Our staff at the Holiday Inn want to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate all your compliments of our staff and look forward to your next visit with us.

Thank you again and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Norton's newest hotel. Your typical new Holiday Inn. Since it's new you get modern furnishings, an HDTV, and not much wear and tear - although one of the arms of the desk chair in my room was scuffed up real bad and the chair should be replaced. I had read the reviews about asking for an odd numbered room to avoid the noise from the busy road right next to the hotel. I was given an even numbered room on the third floor and worried, but the sound at night was minimal since I left the bathroom fan on. Even though I couldn't hear any outside noise I wore ear plugs just to be safe. They provide some in your room, but I brought my own.

I didn't use the pool so I can't speak about that. I ate breakfast there. It was good, but I didn't like that I had to pay for it. Most hotels these day offer a free breakfast. $2.50 for two slices of bacon is ridiculous. The restaurant is nice though, on the 5th floor with windows on three sides, offering panoramic views of the mountains. They were especially pretty when I was there, with the Fall foliage at its peak.

Staff were all very nice and cleaning didn't seem to be an issue. Wifi in my room wasn't that great. Just one "dot" on my smart phone most of the time, unless I moved closer to the door. There's no Sprint service in Norton it seems (or much of SW VA) so I had to depend on the free wifi. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. This needs to change. We are in the 21st century and still shouldn't have to lug ice buckets down the hall while in our bathrobes to get a bucket of ice. Soda machines are on every floor and a snack machine is located by the pool. There's a CVS across the street. There's traintracks behind the hotel, but I never heard a train. The high school is on the other side of the bridge over the traintracks.

Overall a central location and the newest hotel in Norton make this the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler_6216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

We at the Holiday Inn of Norton want to thank you for your recent stay with us. Thank you for visiting our Park Avenue Bar and Grill and your wonderful comments about our food. The Holiday Inn of Norton strives to give our guests "THE BEST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER".
We appreciate all your comments and concerns and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I never thought I'd review a Holiday Inn, I mean, it's a Holiday Inn. I think we all now what to expect. The problem with the Norton Holiday Inn is that it's located next to a VERY busy road. Coal trucks jake brake/rumble down the road at all hours. I've stayed at this hotel many times (work) and I've learned to ask for an ODD numbered room (parking lot side) to avoid the noise. Do the same and you'll be fine, otherwise it will be a long night.

Room Tip: Request an ODD numbered room (parking lot side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norton, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you so very much for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and suggestions about our hotel. We look forward to your next stay and hope to see you soon.

We strive to provide our guests the best hotel experience ever.

If I can be of assistance to you please give me a call,

Thanks again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#2 of 4 in Norton
123 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Big Stone Gap
101 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Of Wise
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norton

Address: 1051 Park Ave SW, Norton, VA 24273-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Price Range: $86 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is Located in the Heart of Norton's Business DistrictTravelers looking for lodging in Norton, VA can enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel in Norton VA, located just off Highway 23 and surrounded by the scenic Appalachian Mountains.Our accommodations in Norton, VA are perfectly suited for families with our ideal location near area attractions like the High Knob Observation Tower, Flag Rock Recreational Area, Lonesome Pine Raceway, Grayson Lake State Park and Mountain Rose Vineyards. Your family can explore Virginia's history by driving along the Crooked Road, Virginia's Music Heritage Trail or by visiting the Southwest Virginia Museum, located just 10 miles from our hotel in Norton.Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy staying at our Norton, VA hotel, located in the heart of the city near many area businesses, like the Mountain View Medical Center, Pepsi Bottling Plant, Old Dominion Power Company and the Virginia Mining Association. You can take advantage of the convenient 24-hour business center and premium event facilities, which can seat up to 250 people. Our Norton hotel also provides free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While lodging at our hotel in Norton, VA, enjoy our amenities like the heated, indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and on-site restaurant, where kids under 12 can eat for free. Book your hotel reservation today and take advantage of our great Norton hotel's room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norton Hotel Norton
Norton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norton Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing