We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Magnolia Kitchen - CLOSED

Magnolia Kitchen
Restaurant details
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

According to staff, the Magnolia has been open since June, 2013 and it is a diamond in the rough - the rough being the entire town of Norton, VA.

With choice ranging from "authentic Italian" hoagies to a Japanese steak house with more grill smoke inside than out, I thank my lucky stars for stumbling across this oasis of New Orleans cuisine at the end of a run down strip mall.

I had the Jambalaya and it was extremely good. Even better, the bread was authentic chewy, crusty French stick served with real butter. I finished up with a chocolate torte that was so rich and flavorful that I took half back to the hotel room for a late night snack. BTW - entre was $12, premium draft $3 and amazing dessert $5.

Decor is ultra funky for a place like Norton and the big fresco magnolia murals were done by a local xray tech who is clearly in the wrong profession.

Can't say enough about this place except that I wish it was in my home town of St. Pete.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sidney, oh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find this wonderful restaurant in Norton. Charming décor with a New Orleans atmosphere. Portions were generous and prices reasonable. Members of our party of 10 ordered several different dishes. No complaints from anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The best place to eat in the area by far! Don't go to the Tri-Cities to eat when we have this jewel!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LNCSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeburn, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just plain good!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We tried this recently opened restaurant a few weeks ago and have been back several times for more of the delicious New Orleans style offerings found at Magnolia Kitchen. Located in a portion of an old strip shopping center in downtown Norton, you'd probably pass it by based on exterior appearance, Do yourself a favor and go inside and give it a try. The decor gives it a warm New Orleans French Quarter feel and the menu selections ranging from traditional Cajun favorites and Po Boys to more standard American selections such as seared marinated steak tips are all well prepared, generously proportioned... and just plain good tasting. The deserts are also very good. Among our favorites are the bread pudding and chocolate tort. We have been privileged to have traveled extensively both in the USA and abroad and would have to say that this restaurant has some of the best food we have ever eaten anywhere. Casual dress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginian052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing