We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the smoke house”
Review of Days Inn Norton VA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Norton VA
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“the smoke house”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My family was staying at this location as I was in the area for my grandmother's 95th birthday. We had two rooms.

Upon first arrival, I was a little shocked to see what looked like dirty mop water tossed out the front door onto the front entrance. This was not so much a cleanliness issue, but does give first impressions. The old saying if what you see is dirty, then what about the stuff you can not see. Inside, it looked fairly clean for a hotel of this type.

Now, when I got to my room, the layout worked really well, with the vanity/sink area outside the toilet/shower room, alowing multiple people to get ready at the same time. The room overall looked clean, but had a smokey smell. I had not asked for a smokers room, but found that at this location it seems you have to ask NOT to have a smking room. OK, our fault. I have stayed at hotels in a smoking room, and been ok, but not here. The room next door had it's occupants arrive in the evening after we did, and when they started smoking, the smoke filled our room. I do not mean, you could smell it, I mean it was like it was being pulled into the room. These rooms are the lockout style, and that was the main source as the seal seemed to not exist. I ended up trying to cram towels around it, but that did not help. The amount of smoke in this room would have been a lot for a smoker to take. Think Bingo hall.

Finally, the towels, they need replaced. I almost always asked for a fresh set when I check into any hotel, but even that did not help much here. There should never be a need to give a customer a stained towel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    20
    13
    12
See reviews for
43
18
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was a great place to stay. VERY Friendly staff and room excellent. This is a very good hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. We stay in many hotels and this was one of the best for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandcolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I think this hotel must be under new management since the last time we stayed here. The room that we were in was clean but had unfinished paint marks on the wall. When we asked for another room they were unable to provide us with a finished room. My friend stayed in another room that was a non smoking room that smelled very badly of smoke odor, even my husband who is a smoker noticed it.
Last time I was here they had cookies out and this time nothing.
Overall I would not call this a bad hotel but the management needs to step it up a notch. If a room is non-smoking it should not smell like smoke. I am not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Rossville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were in Norton for family funeral. Checked in and the 1st room stunk so bad it was hard to breath. They gave us another room that at least you could breath better. It wasn't that clean either. At 2 a.m. I had to put table in front of door due to the fighting in hallway. This went on and on. The hotel charged us $118 for one night and our 3 cousins just $67 for one night. We complained but the clerk said she couldn't do anything. This place is not fit to stay in unless you are into drugs and drunks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinn13942, General Manager at Days Inn Norton VA, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
We do appologize about the bad experience you may have had during your stay with us. We do wish we would known about the noise or fighting when it had occured so we may have immediately solved the problem. Unfortunately the rate you were charged maybe becuase you have booked at diffrent time then the rest of your family, rate do change based on ocuppancy or events, but we do honor reservation rates and group reservation rates that were done before rate changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were supposed to stay at this hotel Sunday night through Friday morning. We called the Thursday before our stay and canceled our Sunday night with the woman working the front desk. She took our names and date we wanted canceled and told our travel arranger that she had taken care of it. When we arrived at the hotel on Monday the front desk clerk couldn't find our reservations. After fiddling with the computer for a half hour he finally told us that they had canceled our week's reservation on Sunday after we failed to show up. Also the hotel was now booked full and had no rooms to give us. When we finally talked to the manager/owner and told him we had canceled our stay on Sunday he started raising his voice at us, basically called us liars and told us "What the hell do you expect me to do about it?" You would think the manager/owner would be a little more courteous, considering it was his front desk person who made the mistake that left us without a place to stay. Instead he was very rude and hostile towards us. I've never had an issue like this in all my years of traveling for business.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed here because we had to attend a funeral in Clintwood about 30 minutes away. All of the other hotels in the area were booked due to the electrical workers in town due to the recent snow storm and power outage. The service was ok, nothing special, but the beds were absolutely horrible. You could feel every single spring and myself or wife moved even the slightest, we were both thrown to the other side. The entire hotel also had a strange smell, like a mixture of cigarettes and strong cleaning fluids. There was a light snow that evening as well, and when we departed the hotel at 10:00, the parking lot had not been plowed or the sidewalks swept/shoveled. The hotel did have free WiFi which was not expected for this area, but I would rather forgo that for a decent bed. I would only stay here if there were no other options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

This is way better than most Days Inn. Clean, spacious and everything in good working order. Great hot breakfast-waffle machine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue in reho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#3 of 4 in Norton
133 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
29 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Of Wise
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Wise
The Inn at Wise
#2 of 2 in Wise
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Norton VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Norton VA

Property: Days Inn Norton VA
Address: 375 Wharton Ln NE, Norton, VA 24273-1542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Norton VA 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Norton VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Norton VA Virginia
Norton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing