We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan Ahead--don't include this in your plans!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Atria Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atria Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Bowling Green, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plan Ahead--don't include this in your plans!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

This place leaves a lot to be desired. We stayed here the last night on a 6 day motorcycle trip and can assure you next time we will make plans to stay somewhere else. If you are in this area look elsewhere. The "Prime Rib" buffet looked like it had been out for 2 weeks. The "Hot Tub" was about 70 degrees and the room was in bad shape. The towels are in bad need of replacement and you can't tell if the rags are dirty or just need bleach. We got a rollaway bed but ended up taking the mattress off and put it in the floor.

I would probably sleep in my car if I had one instead of this place.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KyVentureRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    14
    10
    21
See reviews for
24
6
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

I don't have time right now for my complete review. I will write my book later. Most horrible experience in my life...and I travel extensively. Everyone working there was horribly rude and did not want to be there. I had 3 reservations. When I got home to SC. I was charged with 4 rooms on my Visa. They said that I made 4 reservations. If I had made 4 reservations...One room that they admitted wasn't stayed in...then why would my son have gone and rented another room on the same night?...Watch these people...they will steal from you if given the opportunity. The girl named Sara was just aweful...I tried to explain to her that I had only 3 rooms reserved...she told me that there was no reason to call and talk to anyone else cause as far as she was concerned we had nothing else to talk about. The pool was degraded the rooms looked like 1960's. There was trash everywhere...Stay under a bridge somewhere... This place is HORRIBLE... I will write my review later....The 97.00 that they overcharged me was well worth me being able to tell my numerous family and friends living in Va. and that visit often...NOT to stay there...I will do everything in my power to let EVERYONE know....NOT to stay there,eat there, party there...Complete...DUMP...

  • Liked — It was close to my Family reunion
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skyshadow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manakin, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel over 250 nights in the last 10 years, often booking up to five rooms for the colleagues that accompanied me. Most stays were for 3 to 5 days. I always found the staff to be helpfull and courteous, and they went the extra step to ensure a good stay. The rooms were well appointed, clean and well set up, with the occasional problem addressed immediately. The food in the restaurant was always well prepared with large portions. In spite of the heavy traffic nearby, I always had a quiet room.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

This place is pretty much a truck stop.... My husband and I stayed her the weekend of 7/22/05 while attending a family reunion is Wise, VA. The BestWestern in Wise was booked so this was the only other 3-star property available.
This is not a 3-star property. The room we stayed in seem fairly new (new comforters, drapes & furniture) however, the carpet was filthy, the bathroom toilet suit was covered in urine, and the tiled floors in the bathroom needed a mop and some water. It was quite evident that the floor had not been mopped for sometime (dirt in the grooves, and stains). The bathroom fan did not work and the bathroom amenities were scarce. My sister-in-law's room was suppose to be non-smoking but it reaked of smoke. Her drapes, comforters etc. looked like something out of the 80's.
We had breakfast in the restaurant which was okay (huge portions) but I had a hard time sitting due to the condition of almost every chair in the restaurant. They were stained and dirty and had not been cleaned in sometime. I tried switching chairs but they were all in the same condition. Not a nice thing to sit on when you're in shorts.

Truckers seem to like this placea lot, as the parking lot was filled with trucks on a nightly basis.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ATLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2005

I spend over 75 nights per year in hotels. I am really looking for a clean and quiet location that offers some level of customer service. This Holiday Inn fits the bill. It is located in the small town of Norton, in the midst of beautiful mountain scenery.
The staff is very courteous and go out of their way to help.
Today ( April 24), my car was covered in 4 inches of unseasonal snow and someone was sent out with a scraper to help me out. The restaurant staff is very sweet and kind and the portions are large. The food is not gourmet but the service makes it quite suitable. I enjoyed a QUIET night's sleep and that is what counts for me! Nice place for a peaceful weekend.
John, the front desk clerk is especially kind and deserves a big pat on the back! I would love to stay here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#2 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#3 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Of Wise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atria Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atria Inn & Suites

Property: Atria Inn & Suites
Address: 551 Highway 58 East, Norton, VA 24273 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atria Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atria Inn & Suites is pet friendly hotel located in beautiful mountains of Southwest Virginia, home to Bristol Motor Speedway and University of Virginia's college of wise. Your home away from home, this is a full service hotel that offers such amenities as: Hot Breakfast, a fitness center and an onsite night club. For the business travelers, the hotel offers a business center, as well as, meeting spaces to accommodate up to 150 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atria Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Norton Hotel Norton
Atria Inn & Suites Norton, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing