We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Tranquility”
Review of Valldemossa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valldemossa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valldemossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of May after a turbulent few months and we were looking for a relaxing break to re charge our batteries.

Couldn't have picked a better place, only 25 minutes from Palma airport and a world away from the stresses and strains of a busy resort.

The hotel only has 12 rooms and a couple of suites, all with a balcony and some with a private terrace, all with beautiful views of the valley.

The pool was too cold (for us) at the end of May but the pool area was lovely and featured very comfortable sun loungers and an honesty bar!

The restaurant is excellent and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. We ate in one night and on Sunday lunchtime when they had musicians playing background music.

It's a short walk to the town which offers a selection of shops, bars and restaurants if you want to leave the hotel at any time.

I recommend the hotel whole heartedly to anyone looking for a 1st class peaceful destination that is close enough to a small town if outside distractions are wanted.

A word of caution, the hotel is on multiple levels and whilst there is a lift, it is necessary to climb and descend a lot of steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down the valley and with it's own terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Valldemossa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 252 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I just came from a short break in this wonderful place in the heart of the Tramuntana. We stayed in a lovely Junior Suite, the room was huge and bright, with the best fabrics and very beautiful decorated. The restaurant is simply perfect, its has 2 terraces, one overlooking the countryside and the bay of Palma, the other one is a magnificent lookout to enjoy the views over the village of Valldemossa. Food and menu are delicious and the staff overall charming and professional to the extreme. A real relais&chateaux, don't hesitate to come, I'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely hospitality spectacular location. We stayed there for one night only but wished we had been able to stay longer., we live on the island and had forgotten just how amazingly stunning the village of Valldemossa is. We had dinner in the hotel and tried the wonderful desgustacion menu. It was enough to rival many Michelin restaurants. I would highly recommend this for anyone in the need of rest & relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is in the most wonderful location in the mountains and eating breakfast in the morning you gaze over beautiful views back towards Palma in the far distance and in the evenings eating in the restaurant on the other side of the hotel we looked up towards the pretty village of Valdemossa which was stunningly floodlit. We came here for our 10th wedding anniversary and had the most wonderful stay ... The staff, in particular the delightful lady manager, could not have been more welcoming or helpful ... And thank you for the celebratory bottle of Cava!

We have such happy memories of being by the lovely pool and picking fresh figs on the way back up the stone steps to our room. Our room was really beautiful and spacious, with lovely views with a great terrace with a stone sofa built in to the wall and chairs,table and sun loungers. This is a special place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crrobinson155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A very comfortable hotel in a breathtaking location facing the village of Valldemossa surrounded by the mountains of Serra de Tramuntana. The most beautiful lanscape in the island of Mallorca I believe. A very friendly staff made our stay a lovely experience. The restaurant serves good quality food in a very relaxing atmosphere and a good selection of wines.
It is important booking a room with a view to the village and La Cartoixa.
The parking place is somehow uncomfortable, a bit far with stairs to reach the reception. The service between could be clearly improved by a porter.
I believe the best luxury accommodation in Valldemossa.

Room Tip: It is advisable booking a room with a view to the village and La Cartoixa.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel name is the same like town name. It's not big hotel, has about 10 rooms, so you have privacy. Building is made from stones. All rooms are cleam and spacious, furnitured with antiques and local artwork. Unfortunately rooms are expensive, double costs about 400 euros.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came to Valldemossa to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. In 25 years, I've never seen my husband so happy with a vacation destination and accommodations.

The hotel is nestled in the Sierra de Tramontana mountains with stunning 360 degree views. We stayed in the double suite called Miguel Unamuno near the luxurious pool. Through a gothic style wooden door with wrought iron trim, down a few steps into a private courtyard enclosed by stone walls crowned with green ivy, we have our own olive tree, table and wicker chairs, chaise lounges, potted plants and terra cota bench. The gurgling of the pool on the other side of the wall adds a calming, peaceful quality to the space. The suite is a cottage made of stone, with red tile floors and wooden beams in the ceiling in the traditional Spanish style. The king size bed is framed by a beautiful wooden headboard inlaid with an image of a little village nestled in the mountains. The minibar is fully stocked and the large marble bathroom includes a towel warmer. The best part of the room for me is the utter darkness when the wooden shutters are closed, and the absolute quiet of the place--a gift to a light sleeper.

The hotel staff have been wonderfully accommodating - on the second day they filled a special request of mine for a softer mattress by the time breakfast was over.

Speaking of food...the breakfast includes delicious meats, cheeses, pastries, fresh sweet fruits, yogurts, and eggs among other things. The food tastes even better when taken on the terrace where the bees are distracted with their own plates of sugared ham. The sweeping view of the mountains as the sun rises is breathtaking.

Dining in the restaurant is another fabulous experience where every sense is delighted, from the giant candelabras that transform the veranda after dark to the talented pianist offering a variety of dinner music. The food is the best we've had on the island. There was nothing plain about the Plain Chocolate Coulant With Bailey’s centre, apple purée and mandarin sorbet for dessert. The flavors exploded in our mouths.

We highly recommend this lovely hotel for your next special occassion!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabrinabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valldemossa
3.2 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
0.5 mi away
Mirabo de Valldemossa
Mirabo de Valldemossa
#2 of 3 in Valldemossa
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Deia
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
858 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
#5 of 7 in Deia
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cases de Ca's Garriguer
Cases de Ca's Garriguer
#3 of 3 in Valldemossa
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valldemossa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valldemossa Hotel

Address: Ctra Vieja de Valldemossa s/n, 07170 Valldemossa, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Valldemossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valldemossa
Price Range: $293 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valldemossa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of the corner of the Sierra de Tramuntana mountains in Mallorca where the hotel Valldemossa is located is such that Frederic Chopin defined it as The Most Beautiful Place in the World. And he wasn't exaggerating. The surroundings chosen for this boutique Hotel, formerly heritage belonging to the Carthusian Monastery of Valldemossa, are like something out of a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valldemossa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valldemossa Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing