We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tapas Bar I know”

QuitaPenas Valldemossa
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Valldemossa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: QuitaPenas is a place located in the most romantic part of Valldemossa where you can taste, enjoy and purchase, local products and wines of the island. Find us behind the Sant Bartolomeu's church and discover the "Quitapenas effect". Please note that reservation is not required and we only can accept groups up to 5 people.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Best Tapas Bar I know”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

- Really nice ambiente (small and cozy)
- Service is very personal
- Tapas and Vine are incredible tasty

We always go to QuitaPenas when we are on Mallorca, and it's always a pleasure to enjoy the time there.

Thank you for the nice evening on Easter Sunday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    52
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our dear friend visited this little Tapas bar last year, and couldn't wait to take us; We weren't disappointed.
Axel, the owner, prepares all the tapas himself once you've ordered; hey were wonderful, and the wines on offer are delicious.
This small (two tables of four and a couple of stools, plus some perfect, homemade wooden seating on the steps outside) bar is a real find. Don't miss it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you like a restaurants full of German tourists and food accompanied by french fries then this is not for you. QuitaPenas is in fact a tapas bar with just two tables, hidden down a side street in Valldemossa. The tapas is delicious consisting of lightly toasted bread topped with Jamon Serrano, Manchego cheese and other specialities from the Island. There is a small wine list that includes local wines and the one that I drank was excellent. I love this tapas bar because in a world where conformity is normal, it dares to be different and that has to be applauded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charmingmanoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas Valldemossa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We thank you your words and We´re glad if you enjoyed the experience in our little corner. We look forward to your next visit to the island

Regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ein Anruf genügte / one call is enough”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Anfang März ist das Restaurant-Angebot in Valldemossa "mau". Wir haben Axel, den Inhaber, um 19Uhr angerufen, und er hat seine Bar einfach extra für uns 10 Minuten später geöffnet (obwohl seine Öffnungszeit bis 16 Uhr ging und wir uns erst am Tag zuvor kennengelernt haben)! Seine Tapas und seine Weinempfehlung fanden wir köstlich!!!
Off-season restaurants are quite short at Villdemossa. But Axel was our help - just one call and he opens his bar just for us (keep in mind that business times are different). The tapas were wonderful and his vine recommenation was great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackpower9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas Valldemossa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear couple!!

Thank you for these words. Knowing that you have enjoyed the experience, is the best reward you can give to us. We hope you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful village.

Thanks again and see you soon guys

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cool for a quick bite”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

this place is really hidden in the small streets of Valdemossa. It's a perfect stop if you are willing to eat a quick bite on the historic steps of this small town. The food consists of tapas made of bread with either jamon, cheese or other specialties of the region. Take a dish with several different ingredients and a glass of wine and you will have a great memory of this small town in Majorca.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QuitaPenas Valldemossa also viewed

Valldemossa, Majorca
 
Valldemossa, Majorca
 

Been to QuitaPenas Valldemossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing