We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place”
Review of QuitaPenas

QuitaPenas
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Valldemossa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: QuitaPenas is a place located in the most romantic part of Valldemossa where you can taste, enjoy and purchase, local products and wines of the island. Find us behind the Sant Bartolomeu's church and discover the "Quitapenas effect". Please note that reservation is not required and we only can accept groups up to 5 people.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great food, great design, great wine.
Axel the owner is clearly has a passion for this and has a great spirit.
Can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scallopsandbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear friend!!
Thanks for visit us and to spend your time to write this amazing review!!!
We´re glad if you enjoyed our place and the flavours from the island.

See you on your next visit to the island

Regards

Axel & Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's so cozy, the owner is friendly and make the best tapas, and there's also amazing wines at a great price. You will feel like in a village of Lord of the rings, where everything looks perfect and it's just like home.

Thank Mavi_Landia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hello

Many thanks for your comments, we love to know that you enjoy our space. And we loved the place description!! We look forward to your next visit to Valldemossa

Regards

Axel & Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is truly a small restaurant; it only seats six people and at that just barely. It is more accurate to describe this operation as a hole in the wall closet with the sole owner/ chef working behind a tiny preparation bar. If you are out strolling in the narrow streets of Valldemossa and in search of a delightful noon time picnic this is a stop worth making. But assume you will be sitting outdoors on the curb or in search of a bench. Then......enjoy delicious tapas with a glass of wine. You won't be disappointed. (Having read prior reviews we actually went for dinner......it just doesn't work for that occasion.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hgreenleaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you for visiting our little establishment.
We hope you and your family enjoyed with our products and we invite you to visit us at your next stop on the island

Regards

Axel & Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We finally got to enjoy this place on our third attempt. The first two times went it was closed but today we found it was open and we sat outside and enjoyed a drink and a delicious variety of local tapas freshly prepared for us.
It really is a gem of a place and well worth going to.
The owner is really friendly and very enthusiastic about his food. And it is very reasonably priced too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johntiptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear John,

First of all, I apologize you for the times you found our place closed. Thanks for insist on it. And thank you from the heart for your time, and write this fantastic review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the time they spent with us.
Hope to see you soon

Greetings from the island

Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our family - 2 adults and our 5 year old son, went to Valldemossa with the purpose of having a late lunch in an authentic atmosphere. Advised by Tripadvisor we went to this special place...and we got full credit !! This was indeed worth the trip from Alcudia to Valldemossa.
Obviously both of the tables were occupied, when we arrived, so we made a reservation and were lucky enough to get the place outside the restaurant after 30 minutes. The minimalistic set-up of table and bench outside made the whole experience even more authentic. Unfortunately it started to get quite windy and shady so we decided to transfer to the table inside, when the other guests left.
We ordered the tapas plate and this was exactly what we were looking for - honest homemade food made of the best local products. After having the first plate, we just had to order another - we just couldn't get enough :) and the wine Sang de Bou was a perfect match. The menu was limited in regards to our picky son, but cola and parmesan bread was a success 
We really enjoyed these couple of hours that we stayed, in a very original handmade restaurant - we loved the interior of wood and the cosy atmosphere accompanied by relaxing acoustic guitar music featuring different rock songs - very nice indeed and last, but not least the welcoming and friendly host.
We wish great success for Quita Penas and we would love to come back next time we visit Mallorca and see how this little Pearl of a place has developed with success.
In the meantime we will remember this unforgettable experience drinking and eating some of the delicious products we bought. Our best recommendations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nadelca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAM79, Propietario at QuitaPenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Family!
How are you?
First of all, thanks for taking the time and write this beautiful comment.
And your wishes for the future help us to move forward in this time.

We love to hear you enjoyed the experience on our / your house and of course, I hope to see you on your next visit to the island.

Thanks for everything. A big hug and "Besos par su esposa e hijo"

Regards

Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QuitaPenas also viewed

Valldemossa, Majorca
 
Valldemossa, Majorca
Valldemossa, Majorca
 

Been to QuitaPenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing