We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little restaurant by the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Reviewed January 23, 2014

after marc fosh' departure the restaurant is not as posh as it once was. it is not bad in any way but the standard of cooking is simply different. there is no fine dining but only a brasserie at the poolside. the menu is kept simple with meat, fish and classic dishes like hamburger and fries. service is impeccable and extremely professional. german, english and french all spoken here. the wine is also very tasty. we had carpaccio and coquille st jaques for starters. delicious! the steak was a bit of a disappointment since it was ordered medium rare and came medium well. the highlight for me was the desserts. chocolate orange cake with mint ice cream. the desserts were around EUR7, mains between EUR15-EUR22 and starters around EUR10.i only found the cocktails overpriced at EUR11. the surroundings of the hotel are tropical lush. very quiet in the mallorcan countryside. well worth a trip

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pinkhotstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 242 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been staying at Reads since it first opened, I think in 1996, in all weathers, all recessions, all heavens. I've seen it grow into one of the most unique homes I've ever stayed at. And that's what C'an Moragues is, a home, and an extraordinary one, loved and lived in by extraordinary people. If you want corporate, regimented, tick box hospitality with laser cut slate place mats touched by the benificence of Stephen Bayley and the rest of the style mafia, this ain't for you. The location is wonderful with lovely walks, Alaro is a perfect little town and Santa Maria, just half an hour's walk, is a delight. You can get the train to Palma from here. If you want anything (and this includes bottled water, reviewers) just ask for it. A lift into town? Sure. To be treated like a friend? Open your heart. Places like this are rare, certainly in Mallorca. I'm intrigued by my fellow reviewer's comment about his massage "being no better than a Korean Sex Shop"... I'm assuming he's had plenty, so should know, and I wouldn't want to share Reads with someone who pays for dubious sex. Not in the excellent restaurant, definitely not in the spa and never in the swimming pool, with the headline-catching dead rat or no... that dead rat, Thomas T... it was in your head, wasn't it?

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies and terraces - check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conyngham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing break with a difference this is the place to go. We stayed in the Sultan suite which was huge and styled in a Moroccan theme and utterly breathtaking. The whole hotel had a very unique style and the Bacchus bar has been handpainted and has Greek Gods (I think!) painted on the walls, extremely comfortable bar chairs and a great selection of fizz and drinks to choose from. We felt utterly spolied and were welcomed with Cava! The hotel is grand and each reception room is large and full of points of interest. You could get lost here! So many elegant places to sit. The food was very good and we had an excellent breakfast and dinner. The spa was lovely, idyllic and relaxing and the massage was the best I have experienced! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Sultan Suite if you want a taste of the creme de la creme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReadsHotel, Owner at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write after enjoying your stay at Reads. Why not try one of our other luxury Suites next time! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our third visit to Reads Hotel, our first some 15 or so years ago. The welcome we received was like that of being long lost family. Teresa, the receptionist, was most hospitable and helpful. Upon booking us in she led to the bar where we were treated to a glass of Cava, just what we needed after the journey from hell with Easyjet.
The hotel had been through a refurb and part rebuild since we were last there and it was great to see they had added a Spa. The weather wasn't that brilliant whilst we were there so to have the Spa to relax in was great.
The Read family are an eclectic bunch but all are great fun but Mr. Brown ( the dog ) is a class act all on his own. They take great pride in the hotel and are the most hospitable of hosts.
The food was as we remembered and although the then chef Mark has moved on, the quality of the meals remain. Try to get Mr. Read to play his Saxophone, he's a bit of a showman. Sebastian, the Sommelier, was very passionate in his recommendations and it wasn't about the price of the bottle, it was about the taste. His knowledge of Mallorcan wines is extraordinary.
We had a great time and hope to return for our Anniversary in February.

Room Tip: Main building during the Winter, annexes during the Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just stayed at Reads Hotel for 10 nights, very relaxing and chilled. The rooms are all interesting and unique, the staff are simply the best you will find on the island. Mr Read is the perfect host and always on hand for information and advice on the sights and attractions of the island. If you like the country house experience this is the place for you, perfect for couples who are looking to get away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The hotel has a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere and the staff provide that attention to detail that makes Reads what it is.
We will definitely return to Reads Hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReadsHotel, Owner at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Reads as we would hope you would. We are very proud of our team of staff here and thank you for recognising them and their willingness to please. We very much hope that you will return to Reads soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at The Reads Hotel last May for a TREK Training Camp. We loved it. Our room was lovely and quiet, the food and wine were excellent, the staff was friendly and good especially Mr Read! We rode bikes daily out of the hotel and it was amazing! The roads are perfect and the routes were super! Mallorca is cycling heaven. The hotel is really neat with beautiful rooms and good service. We are going back again this May and bringing friends !

Room Tip: we liked our room near the pool and didn't see the rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sramredTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent the most wonderful relaxing week at this exquisitely charming hotel, nestled beneath the Taramuntana Mountains. The Hotel is surrounded by beautifully kept gardens which are a delight to walk around. Our room was stylish, spotless and extremely comfortable. The food was outstanding and the service from all staff excellent. We made full use of the Extensive Spa facilities which are amazing. Mr.Read and all his staff ( including Mr.Brown the delightful dog) are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return to this very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreborNotrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Cami
5.8 mi away
Cas Comte Petit Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
14 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 15 in Canyamel
461 reviews
11.1 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
925 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sa Torre de Santa Eugenia
Sa Torre de Santa Eugenia
#1 of 1 in Santa Eugenia
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness

Address: Carretera vieja de Santa Maria Alaro s/n | S/n, 07320 Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Maria del Cami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Cami
Price Range: $195 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance hotel, invites you to live a unique experience in this traditional manor house, with a history of more than 500 years, which has become an exclusive rural hotel oriented in the wellness and well-being of our guests. Set in a unique setting, with spectacular views of the Serra de Tramuntana and surrounded by 30,000 square meters of carefully designed gardens, we offer our guests a dreamlike landscape in the most tranquil space surrounded by real countryside, only 15 minutes from the center of Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reads Hotel Santa Maria Del Cami
Reads Hotel And Spa
Reads Hotel Majorca
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness Santa Maria Del Cami, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing