We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing and friendly stay in a charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very relaxing and friendly stay in a charming hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arrived to firstly the welcome of an extremely friendly and welcoming dog and then the wonderful staff at the hotel from reception all the way through the ranks, The hotel is based on superb grounds in a quiet area of Mallorca which are well maintained and is an excellent area to go Cycling in, Everything from the Spa to the Food is Top Class, The new Chef there is very talented, If lucky enough you may even get to eat at the Chef's table like us, The very charming owner is always on hand to help with anything too and was a pleasure to meet as were all the staff there, Definitely will be returning here again hopefully not too far into the future, Thanks Reads Hotel for a Wonderful stay

Room Tip: Suites are Spacious, Comfortable, Clean and Quiet, What more could you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    30
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
19
136
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and a friend spent a special few days relaxing with a Spa package at Reads in Sept 2012.
The Hotel and all the staff were charming - fabulous food, service - amazing spa treatments - the hotel facilities were excellent. The Hotel is traditional and full of character, marvellous pool, gardens and indoor pool, spa etc.
Only a 10 min walk to get a train into the beautiful City of Palma - well worth a visit.
Tennis cycling + classes available if you would like some exercise.
The owners are always around and their lovely dog - Mr Brown so if there is anything you need it is quickly acted upon.
Will defiantly return and would highly recommend this litte paradise !

Room Tip: Ask for a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Firstly, I wouldn't say this was a 5 Star hotel, more 4 star - and it's definitely a bit more shabby than chic, particularly the rooms, but that's nitpicking really as the front of house staff are superb - way over and above - and they are what makes it a good place to base yourself. Even though it's not in the prettiest part of the island (this is no Deia) don't let that put you off, as
it's a good base for cycling and unlike many other hotels, it's nearby some good climbs but is the valley so you'll always be coming downhill back to the hotel and then riding along the flat - a big deal if you've just ridden 100k and then have to climb again to get back home. You can either bring your own bike or they'll supply one and Malcolm behind the front desk has a number of very good, well worked out Garmin maps with rides of an hour up to all day, worked out. Invaluable if you're going for a short break and don't want to be trying to work out good routes to ride. The outside pool is good - large enough for a decent swim - unheated but doesn't need to be. The only real downside is that the rooms could do with being updated (duvets instead of blankets and some decent pillows would go a long way) they should have Wifi that works throughout the hotel (currently only in the bar), and the restaurant is one of those places that by the 3rd night, you're wishing you had more choice. It's very limited and a bit over-fussy - something you really begin to notice after a couple of days. If you want to eat out, you have to drive, so it's much easier to stay in and with both lunch / dinner they should make more of an effort. Overall though, the staff are everything and nothing is too much trouble... If you're going to ride, you're in a really good spot.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountains are best, but check that you're not also overlooking the cranes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

hidden away at the foot of the moutains is this beautifully- appointed estate-like hotel which is perfectly situated for any activity be it hiking biking or seeing the sites. The lobby, rooms, pool and spa are amazing and epic cycling is just outside the door. We literally left the front door on bike and in short order were climbing some of the most amazing and awesome switchback climbs any mountain range could offer. We had three epic climbs on two rides before moving to the port of soller for the remainder of the time.

Our room was a suite, including sitting room, two balconies, amazing views and a giant bathroom. It was the most exotically beautiful place to be.

The breakfasts were perfect, the service was amazing...highly recommended

Room Tip: room 12 is a suite with very large balcony looking over the courtyard and second balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stcolsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We travelled to Reads for cycling through a Trek cycling camp. The hotel grounds are lovely, very beautiful. The rooms were very big and very comfortable. The food was quite good - but our food was part of a trip so the menu was a bit limited. The nights I ordered off the food it was excellent and good value. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The setting is perfect for cycling and if you aren't on a tour, they are very helpful showing you where to go. Cycling on Mallorca is amazing. The spa is very nice, not everything was functional when we were there - the steam was out - but it is the end of the season and it didn't bother me. The hotel is quirky, if you are looking for a luxurious big chain - you will find it different - but it is really charming and I would gladly go again. Hard to comment on value but everyone we chatted with was very happy. Only one complaint - the wifi only works in the main area and is spotty - if you are wifi dependent be warned. It didn't ruin my day.

Room Tip: We were in the separate villas part and it was lovely, the main rooms in the hotel also looked great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gajgmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Reads Hotel. Really most memorable. Our stay and our time cycling in Mallorca exceeded my expectations in the most positive way.
We were on a cycling package with the Reads Hotel. The bikes fulfilled our needs and were well adjusted, ready to go for us to start. Malcom, (Hotel GM) provided a good cycling map and suggestions that made a considerable difference in the enjoyment of our outings. The hotel location optimizes the best access of the cycling routes, allowing to cover most of the Island in all directions.
I do want to mention that the staff at the Reads was really outstanding. After working in the hospitality and service industry for 30 years, I strongly believe that the team at the Reads knows how to make a difference in the quality of your guests stay.
The amazing suite we stayed in, the food, the massages and all of the ameneties were excellent. It may have been difficult to get Wifii connection at times, but I still manage to Skype with my daughter at home.
Overall, I strongly recommend the Reads Hotel for your next vacation in Mallorca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-France L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

While on a short break in Majorca with friends, we found ourselves driving around (fairly aimlessly) around an area of the island which was unfamiliar to us and looking for lunch.
It was fortunate therefore that we saw the sign for Reads Restaurant.
Given that we were running late for lunch I was unsure if we would receive a warm welcome at this time of day especially as it was late in the season. I needn't have worried.
Reads is a beautiful hotel set in a stunning location and we were made welcome immediately. The Bistro, which was open for lunch has a great atmosphere, perfectly (and refreshingly eccentric) blending modern and traditional.
The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient and the lunch itself was excellent. The four of us made our different choices from the three course, lunch menu and agreed that it was faultless. Complimented by the local wine that our waiter recommended, it was the best meal that we shared during our short break in Majorca.
My visit was further enhanced by my chat with Mr Read the proprietor who like me is a jazz enthusiast and who also invited us on a brief trip around the hotel to show us the great facilities that it offers. The hotel has a unique ambiance that has obviously been achieved over a long period of personal input and a great deal of attention to detail.
We shall definitely make the effort to make a second visit, perhaps for a bit longer next time.
Thanks to Mr Read and all his staff...a wonderful discovery, and we hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReadsHotel, Manager at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Mr Read and all the team at Reads look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Cami
13.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
9.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
7.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
19.4 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
32.5 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness

Property: Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Address: Carretera vieja de Santa Maria Alaro s/n | S/n, 07320 Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Maria del Cami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Cami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reads offers the ultimate chill out experience. Enjoy the 650m2 Vespasian Spa offering heated indoor pool with hydro-therapy jets, jacuzzi, thermal circuit steam room; sauna; laconium; ice cave; foot reflexology podium and 5 experience shower. Treatment rooms and a couples suite offer a full range of ESPA and Vespasian Signature treatments. Open all year, this privately owned, luxury hotel with just 23 rooms and its own vineyard, is just 20 minutes from the city of Palma. The Hotel has two restaurants both with outdoor dining terrace. An outdoor pool, tennis court and dedicated cycling centre add to the many activities available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reads Hotel Santa Maria Del Cami
Reads Hotel And Spa
Reads Hotel Majorca
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness Santa Maria Del Cami, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing