We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous break.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here to chill after our Palma city break and had a very relaxing time. Excellent facilities with nice pools, good spa and big buffet with great food on offer. Good mix of nationalities and people staying and a good atmosphere. Clean and good staff. Would stay longer next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    145
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
286
477
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Two adults and two young children travelled. We had a junior suite, which had a good size living area coupled with a large separate bedroom. The bathroom had a separate show and bath. Ours also had two balconies, both overlooking the pool. Aircon within the hotel never really felt cool. The room had lots of storage..... So much so we did not use it all, which is unusual for us! We were half board, and the food gave lots of choice. However service from both chefs and staff was slow at times. There is an adult, family and inside pool. Family pool was spacious, but more beds and umbrellas are required, especially when we stayed in August. Pools could have been cleaned more regularly. The beach is not worth a visit as seen far better in Majorca.... Also not much to see in the resort itself.

Room Tip: If young kids ask for block 2 as close to children's pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thommo666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked with only two days notice as a family of 4 (two x 14 Year olds) and have just
returned after 7 fabulous days at Biomar Gran. For us it was 5 star in every way and it is difficult
to say anything negative at all.

We found the food to be excellent though we are perhaps not the biggest foodies, the service in the main Restaurant both by the managers (Tomeu and the GM) as well as the waiters/waitresses at the table was 1st class.

The sports facilities, mostly free, were really impressive, rooms lovely, as I say we could not fault our stay .

Callor Millor which we preferred for beach & shopping/eating out is next door and not much further than Sa Coma.

Glenn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLENN5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night break at the Protur Biomar Gran Hotel and Spa.

From the moment we arrived, we received 5 star treatment and were not disappointed in any way. We are a choosy family having spent time travelling some of the nicest hotels in the world and so did lots of research prior to arrival in order to ensure we were happy. Our advance request for the type of room we wanted was granted no problems, and they organised airport transfers for us which were excellent.

On arrival our bags were swiftly taken from us and we were accompanied to our room and shown how everything works. The room and entire hotel was spotlessly clean - I have real issues with cleanliness and could not find one thing to criticise in this department.

There are two pools, one for adults only and another family pool which had a little baby/toddler pool and mini-club. There were no problems with securing a sunbed especially around the baby pool (suprising for a busy hotel in August) where we needed to be and the pool was very relaxing indeed with comfortable clean mattresses and you receive towels in your room on arrival.

Meal times were fabulous with lots of choice and we enjoyed the Al Fresco dining on Thursday which the staff work really hard all day setting up for. The only thing I would recommend they look at would be the 'show cooking' at the evening buffet as it attracted a long wait and little order in queuing so we skipped that a couple of times but there was plenty of other choice so this wasnt a problem. Breakfast was amazing with kelloggs cereals, juices, and literally everything you can think of!

We stayed half board and didnt really need to eat much during the day but if we did we went out for a walk to a local bar or ate at the Terrace grill. I thought drinks were reasonably priced in the hotel and we enjoyed the piano bar on the evening and the wine was good as was the cocktails.

The hotel sits in a resort of 5 hotels and there are facilities you can use. We did have a wander around but didnt feel the need to venture out of our hotel other than for a quick explore of the resort to use the cash machine.

Sa Coma isnt anything to write home about, and a typical spanish resort. Cala Millor is down the road as well and much nicer apparantly but we had everything we needed in the hotel for the time we were there.

Our room was spacious, clean and above all immaculate. This theme flows through the hotel and they meticulously maintain and clean it and it feels new despite opening in 2008. Maid service was excellent also.

If you have any doubts about booking, dont! Its worth every penny and we cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We requested a high floor room that secured the sun in an afternoon and evening which was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP2011Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose this holiday on the strength of reviews on here and were not disappointed. I would agree with 99% of the reviews here so in summary:
Pro's
Stayed with my husband and 2 children, 5 & 8, in a junior suite B&B. The suite had ample room, very clean, modern good spec of furnishings, fluffy towels, enormous beds, bathrobe, slippers etc etc
We stayed around the kids pool which was well designed, ample loungers, although I noted on our last day (August) it was much busier. We aren't early risers and always could get a decent spot.
Reception were excellent we hired a top end road bike for my husband for a couple of days with a guide as well through them. Also a hire car and airport transfers all arranged with ease.
Breakfast was excellent, it was your usual buffet style, but excellent fresh cappucino's from the waiters and cava on ice. All the selections were well replenished and fresh.
We would recommend the Asian restaurant and the BBQ night, Italian was so so, didn't do the the buffet in the evening as it's not really our thing but we heard good things about it.
We also ate at Binnicanela a converted monastery about 10-15 mins in a cab, excellent food.
Well priced, certainly less than a lot of 5 star hotels we have stayed. Wine 3 Euro per glass, however coke for the kids the same price!

Cons:
Location, we did however book this hotel as we wanted to sample some of the beaches on the East and did know Sa Coma was very un-Spanish so we werent surprised. We ate out in Sa Coma once it really wasn't for us, no authentic restaurants, British pubs, English Breakfast and pies served etc. The hotel is also not right on the beach and I think all rooms probably have a view of concrete or another hotel to some extent. However it did enable us to get to some of the beaches we wanted Es trenc, cala Mesquida etc which were beautiful.
Room service, we stayed 10 nights and mid way the kids were tired so we thought we would eat in 1 night. Very limited selection certainly not 5 star I think they expect msot people to be HB.
Service, a little poor in some of the restaurants in the evening, very slow service is not what you need with kids.

Overall would definitely recommend for a good priced family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent hotel in one of the worst resorts ever.
Welcome to hotel was disappointing - no welcome drink, as is expected in 5 star hotel, but from then on things improved. Junior suite is very spacious, living area and separate bedroom with modern good quality furniture. Nice wooden type floors. Open plan bathroom with separate shower cubicle and lovely toiletries. Good hair dryer and iron etc provided. 2 flat screen televisions showing UK terrestrial channels such as BBC1, BBC2, ITV etc. 2 spacious balconies. Rooms were well sound proofed - didn't hear a thing from other rooms or outside. Excellent efficient and silent air conditioning with controls in both rooms. Comfortable beds with good quality bed linens.
Food was good quality and variety at both breakfast and dinner. At dinner, grill serving area was a bit small and this caused a queue when busy but worth the wait. Small touches like Nespresso machines and Actimel at Breakfast. Drinks at dinner were well priced. There was also the option to dine outside at all times, on the pleasant terrace. The pool areas were very clean and plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Adult pool had lovely pool bar although would have been good to have pool service as well. Can be very hot around the pools on the paving slabs, as the grass areas seem to be for decoration only, which is a pity, more pleasant to sit in grassy areas. However, the spa is out of this world and free to residents. We used it every afternoon when it was too hot outside. The bubbles pool is the size of a swimming pool with a huge variety of jets and jacuzzis. There are also steam rooms and saunas of various types. The spa pool was quiet and I would recommend this thoroughly. There are 18 clay tennis courts which we also made good use of as well as lots of activities for children, free bikes and also classes like aerobics and step. Thankfully there was all this to do as Sa Coma is a total dump with not one decent shop. If you like the obese tattooed look then you will be fine in Sa Coma - it was hideous. We ventured down to the beach area a couple of times - you are lucky if you don't get run over by crazy electric bikes being driven at speed by the tattoo brigade in a dangerous fashion. The beach was also awful- packed with the sort of crowd you would expect in somewhere like Magaluf. It made us really appreciate the hotel even more. A final word about the hotel manager, he is very helpful and can't do enough for you. The manager is always out and about, you will see him several times a day at various locations. Even replaced my swimming costume which discoloured in the spa water. To sum up, no criticism of hotel but it is in the wrong location. Great hotel, worst ever resort.

Room Tip: Block b facing adult pool gets evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sports1mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is worth the 5* rating the holiday brochures do not do it justice. The cleanness of the rooms, communal areas and restaurants were second to none best ever. Had a free upgrade to a junior suite which was fantastic the beds, shower and bathroom area. The hotel the staff are so attentive to your every wish and are a credit to the manager who always had time to speak to you and make you feel an individual person. There were always sun beds available whatever time of day at both pools even though the school holidays had started. This hotel will be excellent great for a relaxing holiday as no music around the pools but if you want there is free bike hire and crazy golf at other hotels in the same group you and use as well as the Spa. At night in the Piano bar entertainment is of a high standard and was provided by normally a two person act. The selection and quality of food was fantastic with meats and fish cooked to order while you wait if wanted breakfast run until 1100 a.m. so ok for a lay in. Sa Coma is a typical British Spanish sea side town with British bars shops but worth a look around the beach is fine and good for children. Cala Milor to the north about ½ hour slow walk has a larger selection of shops etc.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite location not a problem but may be in block B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
39.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Address: C/Baladres 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel And Spa
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing