We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mallorca Jazz Festival at Pro Biomar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
OSLO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mallorca Jazz Festival at Pro Biomar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice staff and great service. Some small issues in the room (loose AC outlets and leaking shower), but overall great place to stay. Very tidy and clean outside.The food was exellent, especially the dinner buffet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    142
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
283
467
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April and found out that it is an excellent time to be there! It was about quarter full, so we had the pools to ourselves! My husband went to the spa and had the entire circuit to himself. The spa and hotel are really great! The rooms are stunning, especially the bathrooms.
We stayed in both a double room, which had a more private lay-out with a separate bathroom that you can close the door to, and a suite. The double room was out to the heavily trafficated street and we had quite a bit of ants. We complained about this, and the response was not very immediate (we told them 3 times). When we followed the ant trail we found white powder, which told us that they were aware of the problem and had booked us in there with a child anyway (not so great with assumed ant poison laying on the floor). I do not understand that, when the hotel was three quarters empty! For this reason we remove a star, and had it not been that we eventually got a suite we would have removed one more star.
The suite was beautiful with two balconies and a little living room. However, there is no privacy at all to be had in the bathroom. No door to close except for a frosted glass door to the actual toilet. This only prevents insight but not sound, which is less romantic. If you are not dating the person you're staying with, you are probably better off in a double room!
You can go to the spa once a day as part of staying at the hotel, but please be aware that no children are allowed, so we had to go separately. Children are also not allowed in the big pool area but has a very nice smaller pool area to one side. Maybe the no children rule at these places could be changed for out of season?
The hotel is very close to great walks around the national reserve (other side of the street) and you can see the wild horses from your room if you're in the busy street direction (silver lining).
The breakfast is as everyone else has said here - amazing!! We love spanish food and were scared that it would be all german/brittish breakfasts but there is truly something for everyone here, also for those of us who love a good Jamón!
We will consider coming back even earlier in the season to enjoy the spa even more. We really feel the value for this hotel is amazing and if it was not for service slip-ups it would have gotten 5 stars!
We also had an incident with being told we were half board when we arrived, which we took as a pleasant upgrade from the breakfast only we had booked. We even said "well, that's nice" with surprise to the person checking us in. As everyone had raved about the food here, we changed our birthday celebration plans for the evening to stay in the hotel. The service starts first at seven, so we waited, but once they opened they said we had to pay 37 euros each. We felt a bit humiliated but did not want to spend that much, so we went back to our room and ate there, as it was too late for our daughter to go somewhere else. They were right, we had not paid for dinner, but then the dude checking us in should not have told us it was included.
We would say that this is a place for couples and children stuff feels very much like an afterthought.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been waiting quite some time to write this review in order to get both the good things and the bad things included but to be totally honest there is nothing bad with this hotel. I have only good things to say about this hotel and believe me – this is a new experience for me and a very rare situation. I would say that this hotel defines a really good hotel stay but of course the ocean could be a bit closer but this time it really didn’t matter to me because we stayed at the hotel and used the pool and the excellent and luxurious spa every single day and we did not miss the ocean (maybe one reason could be because we live very close to the sea at home). This hotel is very modern and clean with excellent facilities. Also the hotel was somewhat on its own because the other hotels were packed with people and screaming kids and I was really happy to just pass by these really packed hotels. I suppose it has to do with the price but for me it is definitely value for money without a doubt. The room had two large balconies with an excellent view of the pool area. The room had two large rooms with a big bathroom and separate toilet and shower. The room had a very hygienic and nice wooden floor which I like very much and the bathroom was beautifully designed. Actually I just remembered two things that could be improved in the rooms: the beds were not comfortable but we found a solution to that because you could just call the reception and order your favorite pillow and mattress. Of course the bed became two beds because of these additional mattresses and that is not optimal in case you like to hold your wife close and tell her a nice bedtime story. The other not so good thing was the WiFi coverage, I am not sure it was because of poor coverage or just poor bandwidth from the hotel but it wasn’t excellent, on the other hand – if you are on vacation you should probably focus on other things besides reading bad news on the web. If we take a look at the food this is just one of the best I have experienced. Usually I really don’t like the buffet but in this case it was the best ever. It was so professionally done and more choices than I could ever try. Each evening there were at least seven different meat and fish dishes that you could get from the chef, then add at least 20-40 other dishes that you could choose from. If you enjoy really good food you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room close to the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Lamboswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel twice now and it is top class - the rooms are brilliant - we've been upgraded to a junior suite both times so we've either been very lucky, or this is a clever move by the hotel to make you feel 'loved' - either way, the rooms were first class. The food is fantastic - a great selection and high quality to boot - the gala dinner was a particular highlight where dinner is served on the terrace under the stars!

Everything about this hotel oozes quality - it tends to be pretty quiet though and on both occasions we stayed, was less than half full so I just hope the hotel survives as it is possibly the best hotel I've stayed at in Spain.

Will definitely go back again in future!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stuwho19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having had a very enjoyable second visit to this hotel in June,the lack of sun in England persuaded us to return again in August for 11days.Unfortunately the first 6 days bore a very close resemblance to the English summer.This did not in any way spoil our enjoyment of the excellent food and the bonhomie of the staff, but did little for our tans.Normal weather resumed for our last 5 days. In my review in June 2011 after our first visit I said that the hotel was not quite perfect because the bane of hotel buffets remained unconquered.Cooked food was often not warm.Despite a number of improvements this remains the case.We have still to find a hotel bold enough to approach this problem from a different angle.If you cannot keep food warm why not provide a bank of small microwave ovens in which one's plated food could be brought to an acceptable temperature in a minute or so?I would like to know if anyone has found a hotel which does this.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd or 4th floor of 1st block overlooking pool get most sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greebo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our recent short stay here to finish off a mini tour of the island following a friend's wedding. The staff were all, without exception, excellent. The facilities were for the most part spectacular and the rooms were very good...although I'm not sure how well the hotel will age as there were a few signs of wear and tear- especially in our bathroom. It's OK at the moment but will require a lot of maintenance to keep the polished finish.
The pool areas were divine but I couldn't imagine staying in peak season. The hotel had a very empty feel to it when we were there - but even then, some days, all the sun lounger canopied beds were taken. This would make me hesitate to book during the peak summer months (or even September).
The food was very good overall. Best breakfast buffet of our stay - with chocolate and churros! Having many types of loose leaf tea for breakfast was also very impressive. The half-board dinners were very good too (but breakfast was better). We didn't venture out of the resort - there was no need and we were there only for a short break . The local area is OK. It's not as bad as some suggest. One tip - get your drinks at the bar by the mini-golf. Cocktails there were half the price they were at the spa hotel. All in all - highly recommended provided you intend to stay within the resort itself. If off the beaten track Mallorca is your goal - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CocoaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a proper 5-star hotel: everything either came up to or exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. Room: we chose a junior suite. Large (45 sq m), beautifully appointed with high quality fittings and furniture. Imaginatively designed and very comfortable; spotlessly clean. Particularly good shower! Pool: Two outdoor pools (on for adults only) and one indoor. The main outdoor pool has plenty of sun beds on a large sunny terrace. Swim-up bar. We didn't use the indoor pool, but note that it is really just somewhere to do 'exercise' swimming, not to lounge around. Spa: Wonderful! Three floors with huge main pool (incorporating various bubbly features); sauna, steam, hot room, relaxation area, gym, sun terrance and treatment rooms. One visit per person per day included in tariff. Food: A particular high point. I had thought that the breakfast buffet at the Marriott Son Antem was the best ever, but this may just have the edge. Everyting you can think of and more. On our half-board tariff we had the buffet dinner included. I initialy reserved judgement, as buffets can be disappointing - not this one! A fabulous range of dishes on offer, including 4 meat and 4 fish cooked to order on the hotplate. The quality and presentation of everything was exemplary. There are at least 3 other restaurants (open in rotation out of season - E15 supplement for half board) , but we felt no need to stray from the standard option. Staff: Everyone was polite, friendly and helpful, from the receptionists to the cleaners to the manager doing the rounds at breakfast greeting the guests. As we had a late flight home, we asked for a late check-out (hoping for maybe 3 pm) and were told that we cold stay until 6 at no extra cost. Later on, realising that our flight wasn't until midnight, we were invited to stay as long as we liked and to have dinner to make up for the one we had missed earlier in the stay! Price: We travelled in early October and booked at the last minute (Booking.com), so I'm not sure how typical the prices are, but we paid £180 per night for a junior suite, 2 people on half board. I thought this was pretty good value. Drinks prices were not as high as I thought for a 5-star: beer, coke, glass of wine E3; decent wine from E20 per bottle in the restaurant. If I had to find a criticism, it would be that I would have preferred not to have piped music on the pool terrace. The fact that this is the only criticism I can think of speaks volumes in itself.
As regards location, the hotel is on the edge of Sa Coma, between the main centre and Cala Millor next door. it does not stand right on the coast (as there is a bit of a headland between the two beach areas), but you are looking out over a road onto countryside and (from the 4th floor at least) can see the sea beyond. We had a car, but you can easily walk into either Sa Coma or Cala Millor. For the active the hotel had a few bikes to borrow (not sure if they were free) - if you you should want a serious bike, I can recommend Biciclete Sancho in Cala Millor (2 miles away) from whom I rented a top-spec carbon racer for 3 days for E60.

Room Tip: Junior suite has a sofabed, so can accommodate 4 with ease. I understand that the luxury double ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Menace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
39.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Address: C/Baladres 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel And Spa
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing