We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent,cannot imagine going anywhere else in summer.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent,cannot imagine going anywhere else in summer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Returned last tuesday after 14 most enjoyable days,even though first week's weather was more like England's .Second,wholly sunny week compensated.The hotel is only 3 years old and 216 rooms are split between 2 five floor blocks comprising 38 double rooms and 174 junior suites plus 2 single rooms and 2 duplex suites We were upgraded to a junior suite,possibly because one block was unoccupied,save for three nights when the hotel hosted a large gathering of Volkswagen Concessionaires from all over Spain and their families..Unlike most hotels we have stayed in recently there were very few members of the grey army (to which my Partner and I belong.and also very few British accents.This possibly because the only brochure it seems toappear in Thomsons A La Carte. There were many toddlers ,mostly very well behaved.The Protur Group own 5 hotels in Sa Coma,together with an excellent Spa and a large Sports Centre. I agree with the last 2 reviewers and do not want to repeat their comments.However I should say that the sun beds round the 2 outdoor pools are the most comfortable we have ever lazed on.I also must say how pleasant it was for the hotel director Senor Pulgserver and his other managers to stop and greet virtually every guest as they passed by.Finally and just to show that even the best hotel we have ever stayed in is not quite perfect,despite a multitude of thermometers around the excellent food ,the bane of hotel buffets remains unconquered,cooked food was often not warm whilst the ice cream oftenwas.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greebo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay - despite the weather! We thank you for your comments on the food temperature and will certainly look into that. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    138
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
280
459
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

The reviews of this hotel are very accurate in that the facilities and standard are excellent.and the spa is a must to visit with all the hydro pools and aroma steam rooms. We booked half board and were extremely impressed with the standard of food and the huge choice at both breakfast and dinner. the selection changed daily and included freshly cooked fish and meats hot dishes and cold table and the deserts were to die for! There was also a good choice of wines at reasonable prices for a five star hotel
.We were also upgraded to a junior suite with a seperate lounge 2 balconies and a fridge/minibar. Well worth asking for.
However what made our stay extra special had to be the service from all the staff everyone was so friendly and helpful but especialy Julio the resteraunt manager who took customer service to another level. He allways had a welcoming smile and went the extra mile to please even getting ice for our cool bag.
The resort itself had some poor reviews but although purpose built we found it to be very clean and the beach was a pleasant surprise with soft white sand and lovely clear water ideal for swimming. We hired a car and found getting around the island very easy.
The break of 5 days was so relaxing and enjoyable we would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel on all levels,

Room Tip: upper floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristolgirl3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is very nice to receive so much positive feedback. We will pass this on to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Just returned from three glorious days at the Biomar. What a hotel - it was absolutely stunning. The staff were so friendly and efficient, the bedrooms were amazing, and the food was excellent with a great choice. Can't fault this place, it was perfect. A bit more expensive, but well worth it. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monica_russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you are thinking of returning and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed in the Potur Biomar Hotel for 5 days and we enjoyed it.

Although the weather was not as you might expect, we had more than a good time.

The rooms were great (we beame a junior suite). Great, nice and clean.

The restaurant (buffet) was well cared for and varied.

Many activities such as tennis, golf and spa were free of charge.

Sa coma is not really a nice place, but cozy.

Porto Christo (nearby) is very beautiful and within an hour away in the beautiful city of Palma.

We had good time.

Thanks to the friendly staff, especially in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieke160468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay - despite the weather! We will pass on your best wishes to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Have just returned from 6 night stay at the Protur Biomar and can highly recommend this hotel for a short family break.
The staff were excellent, the food was very good and our children loved all the activities on offer in the resort.
While Sa Coma and Cala Millor where the hotel is located are purpose built resorts that lack character the beaches themselves are good. At the resort we were able to hire bicycles at the hotel (free of charge) and cycle along the excellent cycle paths to Sa Coma and along the beach front in Cala Millor. We were able to use the driving range, the mini golf course and the tennis courts all free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flo_joBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased to see that our hotel is a hit with you. This resort is our most popular destination because it really does offer something for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Me and my wife booked this hotel on our roundtrip of Mallorca just to relax a couple of days. This hotel is perfect for relaxation.
We were there at high season in August but when we arrived it was so quiet that we thought it was January. We had a warm welcome to this hotel and the reception lady brought our luggage to the room as it seemed she was the only one at the reception desk.

We had the junior suite and the room was just great. It was spacious and very clean and had two balconies. The bathroom was of high standard and had a separate shower. Also the junior suite had a separate sitting area with a second LCD TV. One minor complain was the mini bar, it was empty on arrival and although we did complained, but it wasn't refilled. But looking at the prices of the mini bar you wouldn't use this anyway.
The hotel has a great pool with a pool bar for some nice cocktails or other refreshments. As we were late in the afternoon by the pool we thought we can't get sun beds anymore but there seems to be plenty of sun beds for every guest. Although this was also a little strange. The hotel looks very big and there could be a lot of guests but there were not that many guest as you expect in high season. Anyway we enjoyed this hotel as it was quiet but we wouldn't think it would be so great if the hotel was full.

We booked half board and had dinner in the restaurant each evening of our three day stay. The restaurant looks great and there is plenty of buffet food. Also there was live cooking for fresh meat and other dishes. It also has a great terrace so you can even sit outside that was perfect for us as we are smokers. We really enjoyed the great food with nice wine on the terrace. As we ate there for three evenings we thought the food will be constantly the same but that wasn't so. Every day there were some new dishes. If you are staying longer as three nights the restaurant would be a little bit boring but the hotel has also other restaurants with themes where you can eat.

After dinner there isn't much to do by the hotel. The bar outside that was great was closing very early in the evening so you couldn't get a drink in the late evening. Also the bar in the hotel was closed as the information boards tells you it is open, it isn't. This was really bad as the hotel has one biggest problem, it's location. Sa Coma is one of the most ugly places on the island in our opinion. Maybe it was great in the 70th or 80th years but not in 2010. It looks like Sa Coma wasn't changing in the years and many restaurants and clubs were closed. The ones that were open didn't attract us to get a drink. Sa Coma looks like if you were in England, many English people with bars with TV screens outside to look English football. Why on earth would someone look football outside a pub with other English people on their vacations? Also don't expect to get a descent Spanish meal in one of the restaurants in Sa Coma. They all sell rubbish and prices were that low you couldn't expect any quality of the food. Also the many stores at the boulevard sell all the same rubbish.

Me and my wife are still wondering how such a beautiful 5 star hotel can be in such a ugly place as Sa Coma. But that could also be the reason that it was so quiet in the hotel. We sure want to come back to the hotel but not to Sa Coma.
Anyway we had a great stay and really enjoyed the food, drinks, pool, nice room and great staff that makes you really feel great but won't come back to this hotel just as we didn't like Sa Coma.

We can highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive comments. We look foward to welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Biomar Gran Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, in line with many reviewers it was very quiet, the resort of Sa Coma was pretty much closed! However this did not make any difference as we were quite happy within the hotel. We did walk across to Cala Millor and Cala Bona most days through the lovely nature reserve which can be accessed right outside the hotel.

On our return every day we took advantage of the ability to use the spa facilities including the large pool with various massage stations and the steam room was one of the best we've come across. On site gym facilities were also excellent with modern equipment and plenty of each to avoid queues.

We were upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the pool which meant we had the extra seating area, the rooms are very modern and very comfortable and kepty spotless, bath robes are renewed evry two days. It was rather strange at first when moving around that you didn't see anyone, we estimated that there were probably a maximum of 20 people stying there outside of the weekend period when more seemed to arrive for a couple of days but it was surprising how quickly you got used to it!

The buffet restaurant was only open on the Saturday evening (guess it would not be practical to prepare a buffet for so few people, which meant that 2 of the 3 main restaurants opened on differeing nights meaning you could eat in all of them and still go back to your favourite. Every meal we had was excellent with service to match. Breakfast was also very good with the chef cooking hot food to order and great variety of cold options available, we ate so well we did not feel the need to have a meal at lunchtime!

The staff at this hotel are very friendly everyone spoke from the general manager (who we saw often around the hotel he certainly doesn't spend his time hidden away in an office!) to the gardeners. We have already decided that we would love to return, probably when the weather is a little warmer so we could use the pool and have a drink at the outside bar area which looked lovely but it was just too cold at night!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrpc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, which we will pass on to the staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again later in the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
45.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
34.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
39.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Address: C/Baladres 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel And Spa
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing