We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“playa dorada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Dorada Aparthotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

stayed at this hotel for a week on the 6th october all inclusive.After reading the reviews them prior to my arrival to ask for a room on one of the higher floors as you could then appreciate the sea views .they replied very promptly and assured me that they would do there best to arrange this. On arrival we were allocated room 607 this was a basic room but spotlessly clean. It had a lovely view of the sea and also the pool area.
All the staff who worked there were very friendly and helpful indeed the staff on reception spent two hours recharging my ipod when my own charger broke. The little man mentioned in the previous review seemed at first to be a little rude but once we had got talking to him turned out to be quite friendly with a good sense of humour. Its true that the hotel did cater a lot for Germans but I have to say that the behaviour of their children at meal times was impeccable.
Food was good although there were some strange concoctions put before us notably tripe served on the one night. The all inclusive bar was excellent with friendly service and good measures. The hotels location was excellent close to beach and bars also boat trips.
All in all Sa Coma the hotel ,the service and the price made this a thoroughly good holiday and I would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: higher floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gezzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 497 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from spending a week's all inclusive at the Playa Dorada. We were allocated an excellent apartment / room (601) with a large corner balcony overlooking the sea.

The facilities inside the room were quite basic but spotlessly clean. We found the food was ok but felt the need to eat out a couple of times.

The all inclusive bar was great with a good variety of spirits, coffee and soft drinks available.

The pool area and sunbeds (free) were well maintained and the beach only a few minutes away. The

The majority of the guests were German and the evening entertainement (what there was of it - was very poor)

The staff at the hotel were always very pleasant apart from one little man with glasses around the age of 50 who worked there. He was rude to our whole group every day.

In summary I would recomend the hotel, really good holiday for the money we spent!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 10 night's in September 2012. While our room was on the second floor it was cleaned and fresh towels left out. This hotel is full of Germans I think we was there with 2 other couples from England!

The food was okay, but if you like your toast brown you will have to put it through the toaster 6 times! But we tend to go out in the evenings and find local restaurants and bars. However the night porter Joise was a really rude man that we came across one night while finishing off our drinks, he had locked the fire exit door to which we could gain access to our room, his use of language was not pleasant to which we reported him.

Help yourselves to beer, wine and soft drinks, pizza and cake in the afternoon was a nice touch, all in all I would go back to Sa coma but I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane2721965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from spending a week's all inclusive with my wife at the Playa Dorada.(11-18th Sept). My wife had been previously with friends but this was my first visit. We were allocated an excellent apartment / room (103) with a large corner balcony overlooking the pool and with a sea view. The facilities inside the room were quite basic but spotlessly clean. We found the food was good with always a variety of choices.The all inclusive bar ( drinks until midnight) was great with a 'serve yourself' beer pump (local lager but very palatable) and with a good variety of spirits, coffee and soft drinks available. The pool area and sunbeds (free) were well maintained and the beach only a few minutes away. The majority of the guests were German and the evening entertainement (what there was of it - was quite poor) was mainly for them as the compere spoke very little English. The staff at the hotel were always very pleasant and I rate this as a very good quality 3 star hotel and I would definitely recommend it to friends and relations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Firstly this hotel is one of the best looking on the resort, very well maintained and ultra clean. The building and surroundings are the best 3star we have ever stayed at. On arrival the staff were very friendly and we were allocated a ground floor apartment, free upgrade to a larger than standard room. first impressions were that everything was very, very clean and throughout the stay at this hotel i did not see anything that appeared to be broken, cracked or crumbling like you tend to find in a lot of properties, everything was well maintained. The pool was a nice size and the beach just the other side of the pedestrian area. This beach however was rocky and not that nice, but 5 minutes walk in either direction you found white sandy beaches with a gorgeous turquoise sea.
Food wise, this is where things started to go wrong for us. Breakfast... if you like your toast even slightly brown then expect to queue and put your bread through the toaster at least 6 times, and that is not an exageration! beans were usually barley warm as were the fried eggs which were always snotty on top.Bacon was the streakyist i have ever seen and the sausage was always Frankfurter. Every lunch and evening meal, you've guessed it, chips. Pork featured in the menu everyday as well. pasta and bolognaise was there for 4 days, pasta in one tray then bolognaise source in another that you ladel'd onto you plate but there was no meat in it? Both me and the Mrs like a variety of foods, but some days we found ourselves walking into the restaurant, looked to see what was there and then walking back out again having to eat out.Towards mid week we used to dread going into the restaurant wondering what we would find to eat!
Drink, this was help yourself, including the beer and wine. It was only the spirits then you had to ask for. Not sure what it was but the local lager (not tropical or san miguel) had most of the few British that were there suffering from heart burn, 2 or 3 glasses and you were done.
Entertainment? Dire! and that was at its best! Music played for about an hour about 1pm or there abouts, then if there was someome from the entertainment team about it got played again just before tea, but it was the same music, almost as if it was a cd, with the same 8-10 tracks on it. At other all inclusive places we've stayed at the entertainment has been none stop with music, and games galore from 10am -11pm, everything had been announced over the microphone and then they'd come round to every table or sun lounger to get more and more people involved. Not the case at the playa dorada though. take a pack of cards or travel scrabble!
Germans, Germans, Germans, Germans, oh and did i mention there were loads of Germans? Berlin by the sea!! and God how ignorant they are. We stayed 3-10th September 2012 and felt very isolated being one of around 6 British couples that were there. Other than this there were a similar number of Polish that were there who were all very friendly.
We found ourselves going out every evening as it was just boring at the hotel. There is a Welsh pub just 100m down the road which seemed to get plenty of British visitors and the Olympic bar which we went to most nights, but pretty much everywhere is shut for midnight so if your a group of young lads/girls thinking of going, your better off going somewhere more lively.

I dont want this review to sound like we are slating the place, we spoke to a guy there who has been there for the last 3 years. He reckoned that it was hit and miss in relation to the German visitors, sometimes there are more Brits than Germans. He aslo mentioned that the entertainment had been far better in previous years. Perhaps the Playa Dorada in SA Coma is a place for young families or the older pension types. From our experience if you are a middle aged couple, you are better off going with another couple or a small group as we found there to be little to do, even in the resort itself. Yes there are things like banana boat, para sending and boat trips but they all cost in addition to everything else.
To sum up, too many Germans, Crap entertainment and beer that gave you heartburn all day, improve those 3 things and it would have been a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sean999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had an amazing holidays at Playa Dorada Aparthotel. We arrived late at night for a 1 week AI holidays and were surprised to find a dinner and water in our fridge, which was extremely nice.
The room had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and a seaside. The rooms were cleaned daily except for Tuesday and Thursday. The hotel served an incredible selection of delicious food every single day and the bar offered nice refreshments. All waiting staff were smiley and pleasant, except for an older gent with a black-framed glasses and a moustache ( he seemed to be in a bad mood all the time). It took us only 5 mins to get to a lovely sandy beach, where we spent most of our time during the day. Also, you can hire a bicycle and go north or south along the beach, which we did and had a magnificent experience. There's an entertaintment team at the premises and they did a great work. Fab holidays-that's how I call it :)))

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the the best hotel I have stayed in abroad for a long time, nothing is to much trouble for the staff to help you, cleanliness beyond belief, upkeep topclass , the food is delicious and well prepared with a great choice and the location and views from your rooms are wonderful. All the staff make you feel very welcome. In other reviews, yes it is mainly german orientated, but we made some lovely german friends while there, as well as Irish and English.

This does not takeaway anything from the the standards of the hotel, The only small thing is the entertainment, great annimation staff for small kids both in the day and evening, but nothing for teenagers of adults, just would have been nice for the odd night to have had some dancing or more uptodate singers. Our son is 16yrs and we are in our 40,s.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably good, ours was, as they all have a sea view, some i think are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,045 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Som Siurell
Som Siurell
#15 of 29 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#17 of 29 in Sa Coma
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Dorada Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Dorada Aparthotel

Address: Calle Aritja 7 | 07560 Sa Coma, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: $103 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Dorada Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Playa Dorada Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Dorada Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Playa Dorada Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing