We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all down to the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here from the 24th aug to 6th sept . It was a very mixed experience some ok and some not so. We booked through First Choice who when approached about a couple of trips we wished to do we found very unhelpful and didn't get back to us as promised. But that is not the worest of our experience with them.
We booked a superior double which we did not receive but the hotel said they had given us a more expensive room/ suite . It was ok but we found it to be a bit dark and depressing , near the stage end of the block and never getting any sun on our balcony.
Rachel on reception was always really helpful and made sure any requests we had were delt with promptly and to the best of her abilities . She was very good with our children which ment a lot .
The pool was ok a little small and the area very crampt , we had a week of peak bookings which saw the area crammed with sunbeds (many broken) and the second much more quiet but the piles of unused sunbeds could have been placed in areas where guests were not sun bathing so that you were not trying to move them so you could sunbath .
A down side for us was also bored children but that is something for Thomson or first choice to try and cater for all age groups.
Food very boring and very repetitive some dishes are very salty ( as meat is over seasoned) veg over cooked and salads very boring and often looked like the left overs from the evening before.
If you book a late check out via first choice !! This is not guaranteed ourselves and 3 other families had ours taken off us less than 24hrs before we were due to leave !! The hotel was over booked by a german flight coming in!! Funny we left at 00.05 and our rooms were still empty along with many others .Would we go back ? If the food was better and the service improved , the pool area cleaned up and sunbeds maybe , but the atmospher of the hotel / restaurant is lacking something ( you feel like your on a conveyer belt)
It does not deserve the price hike for next year and dose not feel like the star rating it claims !!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jjst04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We will pass on your kind comments to Rachel. The sunbeds have been renewed and the food has been revised. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 3rd-10th sept. Arrived late at night due to a two hour flight delay,got booked in nice and quick at reception by the excellent (all week) staff,they told us to pop our bags into the rooms and that the restaurant had been kept open for ourselves and some other late stragglers with hot food available if required.At our room the electric didn`t work so the staff came straight up and said they`d sort it whilst we could get some food.
Half an hour later and refreshed with food and drink our room was up and running,we`d booked a superior room and that is what it was,excellent recently refurbished property,huge room with a walk in shower wash room and balcony.The only downside i have to report with the room (and i may have been lucky over the years as this was a first for us) was on the second to last night i had cockroaches,these were quickly disposed of and didn`t have a re-occurrence over the last days.Not knowing much about these insects the only thing i found strange was how they got up to the 3rd floor,( or as my mate said the lift was working)
The food on the whole was very good,decent amount of choice,(if i was to be picky compared to other hotels over the years the salad bar was a bit limited) but the sweet bar was one of the best i`ve seen,not a mulch after being on show for ten minutes,and a very welcomed cheese table,wine was quite palatable for a change also.The staff were top notch in the restaurant,as they also were in the evening bar,we liked to eat out on the terrace in the evening and the head waiter would come and get us when a table became available,little things which make your stay all the more enjoyable.The one downside to the eating experience was the Italian restaurant,or should that be the poolside bar transformed to an alleged Italian restaurant.Upon arrival at the hotel you are given a voucher with a day and time specific for you to eat there once a week,we were looking forward to it as a change but unfortunately it was absolutely rubbish.We had a starter and left it and went back to the normal restaurant,a nice idea but badly let down by the standard of food.
Poolside was a strange affair which i would imagine to be a bit of a night mare in peak season,because of the position of the hotel the sun would bake one side in the morning and the other in the afternoon,so once you`d got your spot you`d be stuck with it for the day and only be in the sun for a few hours (there was a sun terrace though with beds for roughly 20) of course for us out of season it wasn`t a problem we just migrated across the pool at the given time to numerous empty beds.
The resort is very dated and i was glad we were all inc as the eateries around looked awful,don`t think i saw one authentic Spanish tapas bar.The beach on the other hand was superb,with there being a lot of recycling of umbrellas and mats for the sand instead of paying an extortionate amount for a fixed bed/umbrella.
Bus stops outside the hotel take you to practically anywhere on the island,and all the markets,though one tip i`d give for the Friday market at son servera is try and double up with someone and get a taxi for the extra 2E.
The entertainment team were on the whole were quite good from what we saw of them,worked very hard,the evening show was thankfully not the entertainment team trying their best to put on shows,all shows were from a different outside team and on the whole weren`t too bad,your usual abroad stuff,(but thankfully not the dreaded parrot show)
So on the whole a very enjoyable holiday and you won`t be disappointed if you have booked to go here,would we return,it is a no but that is only because we never return to the same place twice and not because of anything at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 1Chancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us . We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

When good reviews are left on this site,you dont get agressive comments from people who disagree.However,when poor reviews are left readers are told to 'ignore' them or that they are untrue.Everyone is entitled to an opinion good or bad.I am sure people have better things to do with their time than to leave reviews that aren't true! What would they gain from this?! my wife left an honest review and recieved a private message which was really rude from another reader!!! Its only a difference of opinion.
In our opinion this hotel is very dissapointing,we spent thousands and felt the need to inform other readers of what we felt was a waste of money!!
Food is dire to say the least.most staff miserable.pool small.rooms ok.local beach nice.entertainment limited....NOT 4 STAR QUALITY!!!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
17  Thank thomas458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for your opinion. As you yourself say, everyone is entitled to an opinion which we must all accept even if we do not agree with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Ignore the bad reviews.. This holiday was one of the best i've had.

Rooms: fairly good size, lovely bathroom.nice fluffy white towels.

Pool: a little small for the amount of people.however it was never too busy for us.

Food: lots of variety. I travelled with 2 young children under 5, 3 teenagers and there was always plenty of choice for all of them.

Staff:Really nice and friendly always action any problems promptly.

Resort: and i totally agree with the recent reviewer who said that Sa coma is run down.. i loved the hotel but not sure i will rush back to this Protur one in this resort because of the resort. Nice beach however.

My experience of this hotel was very good. What the hotel did for us at the end of a lovely 2 weeks was the icing on the cake.. We were due to fly home early in the morning and we had booked our transfer , however due to coach driver strikes it did not arrive , which meant that we were stuck and at this point panicking about how we would get to the airport. After a conversation with the reception staff and manager the manager organised for 2 of his staff to take us to the airport to try and get us there for our flights. We were stunned that he would do this and very grateful. We didn;t make it on time unfortunately and spent a lot of hours in Palma airport but they did thier best.
In fact my experience of the hotel is that they care about their guests and want to make thier stat a pleasant one. Each email i sent the hotel pre booking was replied to and they answered everything i asked. We booked direct with the hotel too.

So make your own judgements about the reviews written ... but dont miss out on a lovely hotel on the basis of the poor reviews.

Oh and the Mini disco and the later disco was loved by all my family group .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Okay ! Enough of the poor reviews folks ! My family - me hubby 15 and 13 yr old booked AI with first choice in July to travel 4 - 18 Aug. Prior to our hol some poor reviews appeared here which ti be truthful put me off going to the point that I tried to change my travel plans. I'm so glad we did nt ! The hotel is excellent- rooms large modern and clean and not a bug in site. Yes the pool area is a little crowded and you have a bit if a time gamble for sun beds but come on- you have this everywhere in peak time ! Even in 5 star hotels.

We never ate out ! To be honest the biggest let down of this holiday was the resort of Sa Coma ! It us tired and run down and to be honest I turned my nose up at all of the restaurants there !!!! Hotel food was exactly what I expected for 4 star !!! Good standard hot and plenty if choice - not haute cuisine - but what do you expect !!!

Entertainment team do a sterling job and are a joy to be around as are the majority if the staff !

Please believe me I am hard to please and have high standards and this hotel is very good ! I won't return but that is only because I did nt like the resort apart from the fab beach !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellabean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our family of 5 booked Palmeras Playa direct at the last minute all inclusive to arrive 18th Aug for 2 weeks. After the 45 min private transfer from the airport we were impressed when we arrived at the hotel - very clean and tidy. We were greeted by friendly english speaking staff whom welcomed us and told us where to go to our rooms. You have to take your luggage yourselves which was quite awkward with 2 small children and 5 suitcases in tow, my eldest daughter stuggled with one of the trollies! We arrived at our 4th floor 'suite', again very clean but very small for the 5 of us. The suite consisted on 2 rooms (a shutter door for the bedroom) one with 2 single beds and a cot, the lounge area with a double sofa bed not leaving very much room to move arround once up and in use, and a bathroom with no bath (awkward for a baby and toddler!). I certainly couldn't compare it to any other suite I have stayed in more a 1 bedroom apartment room! After unpacking we took off to the restaurant for lunch. We looked at reviews regarding the food and probably knew what to expect but it was 'dire' to say the least! We ate breakfast and sometimes lunch in the restaurant or snack bar but every evening meal we ate out in Sa Coma or Cala Millor (giving us vast additional costs on top of our initial AI outlay) due to the cafeteria style food given. Pool area was great for the young ones with the small pool being perfect! Entertainment was ok. The 4 entertainment staff worked really hard and my girls loved the mini disco each evening at 8.30 for half hour. Some of the later entertainment was poor. All in all we wouldn't return to Palmeras Playa but would definately visit one of the other Protur hotels within Sa Coma (these are all close together and have a water park very near - also great for kids!). I just think that Protur need to spend time concentrating more on the needs of guests in relation to the food served on the basis its meant to be a 4 * hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGlennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

We thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into your comments regarding the food and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 11 days in August as a family of 4 and overall had a very good holiday.

On arrival we were told we had been 'upgraded' to a junior suite- I had read the TA reviews and we requested to look at both types of rooms (the hotel has one block -A of suites and 2 blocks -B & C of 'superior' double /twin rooms). Both rooms were refurbished to a high standard however we felt that for our family the twin room suited us better, the suite being around the same size but divided into a living area with sofa bed & bedroom with sliding doors at the end of the beds - the bedroom seemed a little small & dark.
we were really happy with our room in block c 3rd floor, it was very spacious, modern & clean with a fantastic bathroom (see photos). The position of our room meant we got no sun at all on the balcony, block C gets the morning sun & block A gets the afternoon sun. The hotel is very clean- every morning a team of cleaners mopped the entire evening entertainment & bar area and the rooms are cleaned 5 times a week- although if you need clean towels on the days your room isn't cleaned you can ring reception.

The hotel pool is a little small however there were plenty of sunbeds although sometimes a little crammed in. The pool area does not get the sun all day, one side got the sun from around 10am- 3om then the other side from around lunchtime until 5/6pm. There is a mim club (to 8 years old) and a small playground. The staff were all friendly, especially Rachel on reception!

The location of the hotel is very good, 2 minutes walk to the shops or the beach. The beach is lovely but very busy. You can also walk along the coast to S'illot in just a few minutes where there is a beach and lots of restaurants & a small amusement park with some very expensive rides!! E3 each for a ghost train!

The entertainment team work very hard, having Sunday off each week. Most nights there are 'professional' acts however some of there were not very good! The minin disco was very popular every night & there are several activities during the day if you want to join in.

The main negative was the food- particularly the evening meals. Breakfast was fine and luch either at the snack bar or in the main restaurant was ok, but we ended up eating out most nights. We found the food to be of very poor quality- especially the meat- and queues would build up to wait for the chef cooked item e.g. kebabs but he never seemed to cook enough- we also saw the chef re-heating kebabs cooked the day before. We therefore spent quite a bit more than we had anticipated as the restaurants nearby were quite expensive- average 50/60 euros for a family of 4 - main course & drinks!

We did see the first choice rep on several occasions at the hotel and did complain about the food to him and the hotel manager- so it may improve!

Wifi is available at the hotel- we bought a card from reception with a code for 10 hours for 5 euros.

Overall we enjoyed our stay- but doubt that we would return- hard to see that this hotel should be included in the premier range next year- feel that this is just due to the refurb of the rooms and not the overall standard of the hotel, which is more of a 3*.

Room Tip: block C if you like the morning sun. only a handful of rooms don't have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

We thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into your comments regarding the food and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,421 reviews
21.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,147 reviews
34.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel

Address: Avd. de les Savines, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: $82 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot. Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca. The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun. A full entertainment program with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing