We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Okay ! Enough of the poor reviews folks ! My family - me hubby 15 and 13 yr old booked AI with first choice in July to travel 4 - 18 Aug. Prior to our hol some poor reviews appeared here which ti be truthful put me off going to the point that I tried to change my travel plans. I'm so glad we did nt ! The hotel is excellent- rooms large modern and clean and not a bug in site. Yes the pool area is a little crowded and you have a bit if a time gamble for sun beds but come on- you have this everywhere in peak time ! Even in 5 star hotels.

We never ate out ! To be honest the biggest let down of this holiday was the resort of Sa Coma ! It us tired and run down and to be honest I turned my nose up at all of the restaurants there !!!! Hotel food was exactly what I expected for 4 star !!! Good standard hot and plenty if choice - not haute cuisine - but what do you expect !!!

Entertainment team do a sterling job and are a joy to be around as are the majority if the staff !

Please believe me I am hard to please and have high standards and this hotel is very good ! I won't return but that is only because I did nt like the resort apart from the fab beach !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellabean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    327
    102
    17
    9
See reviews for
622
560
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our family of 5 booked Palmeras Playa direct at the last minute all inclusive to arrive 18th Aug for 2 weeks. After the 45 min private transfer from the airport we were impressed when we arrived at the hotel - very clean and tidy. We were greeted by friendly english speaking staff whom welcomed us and told us where to go to our rooms. You have to take your luggage yourselves which was quite awkward with 2 small children and 5 suitcases in tow, my eldest daughter stuggled with one of the trollies! We arrived at our 4th floor 'suite', again very clean but very small for the 5 of us. The suite consisted on 2 rooms (a shutter door for the bedroom) one with 2 single beds and a cot, the lounge area with a double sofa bed not leaving very much room to move arround once up and in use, and a bathroom with no bath (awkward for a baby and toddler!). I certainly couldn't compare it to any other suite I have stayed in more a 1 bedroom apartment room! After unpacking we took off to the restaurant for lunch. We looked at reviews regarding the food and probably knew what to expect but it was 'dire' to say the least! We ate breakfast and sometimes lunch in the restaurant or snack bar but every evening meal we ate out in Sa Coma or Cala Millor (giving us vast additional costs on top of our initial AI outlay) due to the cafeteria style food given. Pool area was great for the young ones with the small pool being perfect! Entertainment was ok. The 4 entertainment staff worked really hard and my girls loved the mini disco each evening at 8.30 for half hour. Some of the later entertainment was poor. All in all we wouldn't return to Palmeras Playa but would definately visit one of the other Protur hotels within Sa Coma (these are all close together and have a water park very near - also great for kids!). I just think that Protur need to spend time concentrating more on the needs of guests in relation to the food served on the basis its meant to be a 4 * hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGlennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into your comments regarding the food and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 11 days in August as a family of 4 and overall had a very good holiday.

On arrival we were told we had been 'upgraded' to a junior suite- I had read the TA reviews and we requested to look at both types of rooms (the hotel has one block -A of suites and 2 blocks -B & C of 'superior' double /twin rooms). Both rooms were refurbished to a high standard however we felt that for our family the twin room suited us better, the suite being around the same size but divided into a living area with sofa bed & bedroom with sliding doors at the end of the beds - the bedroom seemed a little small & dark.
we were really happy with our room in block c 3rd floor, it was very spacious, modern & clean with a fantastic bathroom (see photos). The position of our room meant we got no sun at all on the balcony, block C gets the morning sun & block A gets the afternoon sun. The hotel is very clean- every morning a team of cleaners mopped the entire evening entertainment & bar area and the rooms are cleaned 5 times a week- although if you need clean towels on the days your room isn't cleaned you can ring reception.

The hotel pool is a little small however there were plenty of sunbeds although sometimes a little crammed in. The pool area does not get the sun all day, one side got the sun from around 10am- 3om then the other side from around lunchtime until 5/6pm. There is a mim club (to 8 years old) and a small playground. The staff were all friendly, especially Rachel on reception!

The location of the hotel is very good, 2 minutes walk to the shops or the beach. The beach is lovely but very busy. You can also walk along the coast to S'illot in just a few minutes where there is a beach and lots of restaurants & a small amusement park with some very expensive rides!! E3 each for a ghost train!

The entertainment team work very hard, having Sunday off each week. Most nights there are 'professional' acts however some of there were not very good! The minin disco was very popular every night & there are several activities during the day if you want to join in.

The main negative was the food- particularly the evening meals. Breakfast was fine and luch either at the snack bar or in the main restaurant was ok, but we ended up eating out most nights. We found the food to be of very poor quality- especially the meat- and queues would build up to wait for the chef cooked item e.g. kebabs but he never seemed to cook enough- we also saw the chef re-heating kebabs cooked the day before. We therefore spent quite a bit more than we had anticipated as the restaurants nearby were quite expensive- average 50/60 euros for a family of 4 - main course & drinks!

We did see the first choice rep on several occasions at the hotel and did complain about the food to him and the hotel manager- so it may improve!

Wifi is available at the hotel- we bought a card from reception with a code for 10 hours for 5 euros.

Overall we enjoyed our stay- but doubt that we would return- hard to see that this hotel should be included in the premier range next year- feel that this is just due to the refurb of the rooms and not the overall standard of the hotel, which is more of a 3*.

Room Tip: block C if you like the morning sun. only a handful of rooms don't have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into your comments regarding the food and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I would like to begin by informing readers I travel abroad every year and have never felt compelled enough to use or complain on trip adviser. Myself, huband and two kids usually use 4 or 5 star each holiday trip. This hotel has been done up with a modern twist and rooms and bathrooms are nice. I will keep the negatives short and sweet and would urge anyone reading this to just be wary and not fooled by nice pictures and amazing reviews on this, like I was. I would also like to say I am never one for moaning or complaing especially when on holiday. However, the awful organisation of this hotel drove me bonkers last week at one point and was not worth by any mean 1650 for a week AI.

Food- awful seriously cold, overcook, scabby salads, All inclusive -what a joke- can not even get jack daniels or hardly any of the hotel cocktails on list- 4 out of about 20 only and they tasted awfu. Also have a nice coffe machine whick wee seen members of staff drink- but told we had to pay!

One member of bar staff- assume bar manager- rude and aggresive. However most staff friendly and pleasant.

No table service atol! What so ever also not even trays to carry your drinks from bar to table - seriously! By the time you go back to collect some of your order the staff throw away your drinks. Dis organised chaos.

Sun beds old very dirty with bird poo all over.

Pool- frozen as the hotel sits in shade most of day.

Standard of cleaning in our room- very poor, stale half pint of lager lay on our corridor stairway to room for nearly the whole week.

Entertainment- awful and cringe worthy.

Lifts broken- awkward with my babies pram.

Never seen First choice rep whole week and I will be making an official complanit to them for false advertising this hotel at 4 star.

However, we had a fantatic week out and about eating out mostly in Sa Coma, Sillot and at the beautiful beach and would def return to the place but would not touch the hotel with a bardge pole.

Please be assured everything I have stated is fact not to my standard of 4 star and not just someone having a rant or moan dont waste your money going all inclusive in this hotel you will be dissapointed if you are used to 4 star and come here .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We thank you for your comments. We are sorry about the problems you say you encountered during your stay but insist that the brochure photos are a true reflexion of the fully upgraded Protur Palmeras Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Almost all guests had small children during our week at the end of August and this may have led to the food and entertainment bring aimed at satisfying the kids. Hopefully the hotel would change this out of the main school hols. If you have kids below teen age this is an excellent place. Rooms have been refurbished and are large -they are well above normal. There is a small pool side food offering chips, spam, burgers, etc-my view was 5/10. All food is self service, quality in my view 5-6/10. AI drinks are all local-even larios gin is not included-beer,wine,coffee, soft drinks are all self service. Room toiletries are not replenished. U shaped hotel layout means you have no sun after 5pm. Entertainmnet 2030-2130 for kids, 2130-2230 for adults (professional acts rather than the usual reps, and quality is subjective, but for me rated 1-5/10). The grounds are quiet small but there are plenty of sun beds -you just need to find a leass than ideal spot and move around during the day. 2minute walk to Sa Coma beach, which is lovely sand but rammed. 5minute walk to S'Illot beach wjich is also lovely sand and quieter-nice to be there after 5pm. 30 minutewalk to Calla Millor. 50% guests are German, then English, and a scattering of other nationals, particularly French. Small hotel makes for a pleasant stay. Plenty of bars, generally split 75% German, 25% English - try the KIngs Head on the Calla Millar road for live music and disco up to 3am-lovely walk along the beach on teh way back. Out of the many AI's we have stayed in this by far was the one we left at night to go and drink somewhere else.

Room Tip: Only one block gets the afternoon sun - its either A or C
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemingwayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that in general you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have just returned from the Palmeras Playa having spent a week there all inclusive (3 adults, 3 children (13, 9, 5 years old)) and we've had a great time! The person who has just given the poor review and said they played bingo must have reviewed the wrong hotel as bingo wasn't played once in the time we were there!!

The hotel is immaculate, very clean, and the décor bright and new. The rooms were huge and tastefully decorated, and the bathroom certainly had the wow factor! The rooms also came with flat screen TVs which was an added bonus as it occupied the kids while we were getting ready, regardless of what language the programmes were in!

The food and selection was very good. You get the odd same thing here and there, but what do you expect? I felt like I was eating three course meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Breakfast choice was cereals, cold meats, fruits and hot food selection such as bacon, eggs, sausage etc. If you missed that a continental breakfast was served at the pool bar area of cold meats, cheeses, and fruit. For lunch you have the option of the fast food style snacks at the pool bar such as pizza, burgers, hot dogs etc. or you can eat in the restaurant were there was different meats, fish, veg, salad, pasta. There was a good selection of cakes and biscuits in the afternoon, for afternoon tea. Then the evening meal again was a selection of meat, fish, pasta. Plus the dessert counter which was a favourite! We always found things to eat, in fact sometimes it was difficult to choose! The queues tended to move quite quickly thus never became a problem for us.

It was a help yourself bar service. All the usual soft drinks. The beer is Estrella. The rosé wine was peculiar as it wasn't your typical rosé. Slushies for kids. Hot drinks such as tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Ice cream freezers were located near the pool so you could help yourself. Cocktails were availble at the bar and the bar staff were especially generous with the shorts i.e. vodka, brandy.

The pool area was always very clean. We never had a problem with sunbeds, there seemed to be plenty to go around even with the usual towel reservation thing. To address comments that the pool is too small for the hotel, we found it more than adequate. It's a family hotel so you have to expect inflatable and kids jumping in.

The staff at the hotel were great. Always very friendly, helpful and efficient in what they did.

Location of the hotel was fantastic. A very short walk from the beach, which itself is stunning. White sand and crystal clear water. Plenty of the usual touristy type shops around and bars and restaurants.

The entertainment at the hotel was good and went on for the duration of the day and into the night, with a number of activities for kids and adults alike, but the team didn't hassle you if you didn't want to participate which was good. The younger ones loved the mini disco! There was some good shows and performances on. The people that have whined about the entertainment need to remember they're not in Las Vegas! The kids entertainment team worked very hard, they seemed to be around from first thing in the morning to late in to the night! The person asking about the club dance song it's ' Don Omar -Danza Kuduro'.

TIP: We visited the La Reserva pool which is part of the Protur group. For 9 euros for adults 4.50 for kids you get all inclusive facilities at a large swimming pool which has a few slides which were great for the younger ones.

Overall we had a great time a Palmeras Playa, would have no problem recommending it and would certainly consider going again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. This resort is one of our most popular destination because it really does offer something for young and old. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was so excited on booking this holiday due to the fantastic reviews on this site . This hotel has just had a refurb and is of a high standard in its appearance.The rooms are nice,clean and smart.In my opinion this is pretty much where the 'positives' end.I have never left a review before,but felt I really ought to offer an honest opinion....so here is my experience. I found the food was awful.Really greasy or cold. The chips were bone dry or anaemic .I would consider this to be 2* standard food.The pizza at the pool bar was like cardboard and the burgers were inedible.The staff were reluctant and appeared miserable,with the exception of the entertainment team, who were lovely. However the entertainment consisted of a handful of really nice people performing to the best of their ability in what felt like a really poor, unproffessional show that was cringy and uncomfrortable to watch.Bingo was played often and on the odd occassion we were treated to a professional show,which was usually o.k. Pool was deceptively small and sunbeds were reserved even though the blurb said this is never a problem. Evening sandwiches consisted of two slices of really cheap tasting bread,no butter and the poorest quality processed ham.Again inedible.This is the most dissapointing hotel/holiday I have ever had.We paid for all inclusive and then had to spend a small fortune eating out!!!. I would not recommend this hotel.To me it felt more like a two/three star hotel and it did not to live up to the four star image it portrays.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank 299isabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We thank you for your constructive comments and are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
354 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,182 reviews
21.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Address: Avd. de les Savines, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot. Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca. The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun. A full entertainment program with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing