We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hipotels Mediterraneo(Sa Coma)(Great Value!)
$157
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipotels Mediterraneo Club(Sa Coma)(Great Value!)
$187
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seasun Siurell(Sa Coma)(Great Value!)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Orient Beach(Sa Coma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
216
137
32
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
137
32
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffsaga reppool areaclean with friendly staffhotel is spotlessstayed all inclusivesea viewevening entertainmenttable serviceanimation teamlong weekendsun terracewaiters waitressestravel kettlea bit repetitiveroom numbercooking station
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 399 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break in Sa Coma and stayed at the charming Marfil Playa on a half board basis. The food at the breakfast buffet was freshly cooked and not left laying around for ages, and the choice of food for the evening meal was impressive for a 4* hotel. The service was also good and every member of staff that we had contact with from the maid to the hotel manager went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We knew we be out and about a fair bit as we had booked tickets for a 3 day jazz festival at a nearby 5* hotel which wanted to charge 3 times as much as the Marfil wanted. We're glad we chose the Marfil not only for value for money but for the whole experience. The pool area is very impressive. We did stay in the hotel after dinner on our first night and found the entertainment was very hit and miss. Will definitely consider returning again next year.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be on the top floor with a beautiful sea view and nice balcony. Not sure how noisy the resort is in the high season but found very little traffic noise being at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheHootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is in a good location and has ample facilities, with efficient and friendly staff. The buffet restaurant was very good and even during the quiet month of April provided a wide range of quality food. The bar service was also excellent. Overall an appropriately rated 4 star hotel that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StephenF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Just back after an enjoyable 10 night stay at the Marfil Playa Hotel, set in the tranquil village of Sa Coma. The hotel itself is of a very high standard, very clean and well decorated throughout. The hotel staff were very attentive and the all inclusive bar service was excellent. The food was generally good and was always hot, although towards the latter end of the holiday, it did become a tad repetitive. Rooms, plenty big enough for families and were cleaned daily. The entertainment was very good and the kids entertainers were absolutely brilliant. I can see this hotel being a very popular choice for families and couples looking for a quiet holiday away from the fast pace of everyday life. I reserve a special mention to Roy & Boy who ran the kids club with such dedication and professionalism, also to all the bar staff who were fantastic, especially Javier, who doesn't like to see your glass empty! I must also mention the cleaners who kept the place looking spotless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you are tempted by a low cost holiday using the internet site "On the Beach" - DONT! They are not a package holiday company and as such don't seem to have any responsibility to help out when things go wrong.
We were a family party of 7 travelling to Majorca on Monday 2nd April from Bristol on Ryanair and after 3hrs sitting on the plane, we were told to get off as the flight was cancelled due to the French Air Traffic Controller's strike. Ryanair just handed us a letter saying to rebook or apply for a refund online, which was no help whatever at 10pm at the airport, for the planeful of people all wanting to fly to Palma. It was impossible to get hold of On the Beach, so rebooked with Easyjet ourselves, using our mobile phone, for the following Wednesday. We then booked ourselves into a local hotel and spent the following morning ringing a premium 09 number which was never answered by the company, despite holding on for 20mins a time. It was a very traumatic experience having to do everything ourselves, so if you are tempted, please read other holiday maker's experiences on the "On the Beach" review site. Now we are home we have to try and sort out insurance claims for the extra flight costs, hotel and food expenses, which rather spoils the holiday experience.

However, once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The buffet meals were excellent, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the rooms were very clean. As I like my food to be hot, I loved the restaurant grill where a chef stood throughout meal times cooking a variety of foods. Plenty of everything, with depleted trays being replenished and no queueing!

Guests seemed to be roughly 50/50 English and German and we didn't have any problems with all staff and entertainers talking in both languages. The evening entertainment comprised a music quiz and bingo night run by the resident children's entertainers, alternating with magic, acrobatic and flamenco type shows lasting about an hour. We found the 'All Inclusive' option was definitely worth having with our family. The children loved going to the bar and ordering their own drinks, and waiter service from the bar in the entertainment area was excellent.

There are only a couple of minor points I would mention. Although the hotel provides shampoo and a very small soap tablet, they did not provide shower gel - so take your own.
The outdoor pool is not heated and at this time of the year was very cold. The indoor pool is quite small and got very busy at times when the weather was not so sunny. Occasionally the chlorination was overwhelming.
Sa Coma was very quiet and not much else going on, with other hotels not open as yet. Cala Millor, a 6eu taxi ride, is a bigger resort, with many more shops and attractions. There is a road train which runs between the two resorts, but at 3.75eu each, was more expensive than the excellent taxi service and runs every hour (though not always on time).

Our grandchildren enjoyed the hired social cycles, which were about 6-8eur an hour. Very good value, as you could sit at an outside bar overlooking the sea with a drink and let the children pedal along the pedestrianised promenade quite safely. Also the nearby crazy golf was a big hit. They have 3 different 18 hole courses to go round for about 5eu each.

The hotel provided a hairdryer in the bathroom. You can pay 12eur per week plus 10eur refundable deposit for the key to the room safe, and also hire pool towels if you don't want to bring your own.

If you are looking for a quiet location, I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would look out for the HIP chain to use again in the future.

Room Tip: In the busy season, it might be better to avoid a room directly above the bar area, or at least have a room on a higher level to avoid being disturbed by late night noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Came in on late flight, hotel about an hour from airport in taxi which cost €85. When we arrived they had put up a cold meal in the dinning room, which we appreciated.
Food and drink excellent on A/I deal. Hotel is spotless, they never stop cleaning!
Staff are very friendly and helpful, did not think much of the entertainment but to be honest it's not that important to us. Location close to beach, shops and bars. We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to our friends.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank martsonshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews