We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Booked as a late deal for my family and in laws. A wks AI.

Hotel Location - Northern end of Sa Coma within 5 min walk to the beach behind the first line of buildings located on the beach. We found it to be in a quiet location, although it was early season.
Resort - There were numeruos bars, restaurants and shops. I didnt notice any nightclubs (not that we were bothered). We had plenty to walk and see at night, all of which was on the level. There is a good bus & boat service with the opportunity to visit other resorts. It has a local ranch with various sized horses/ponies for all ages & local monuments/castle to walk to. There were a number of cycle routes especially fenced of on the roads and several bike hire shops.
Overall the resort was quiet but busy and plenty to do.
The beach was good with lovely soft sand (more like flour than sand) and plenty of beds/umbrellas to hire.
Hotel - There were no english companies using the hotel, only late deals. Guests were mainly German witha few other nationalities. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We arrived after the evening meal and bar had finished but they had food and drinks waiting for us. The air con in my lads room wasn't working and they had the repair man sorting it the same day. In fact it was a bigger problem than initially thought so they changed their room, Staff in the restaurant and bar were very attentive and friendly,
Food was great, plenty of variety with a chief every night cooking fresh meat and fish. Breakfast - various cereals, bread rolls, fruit, cakes, bacon and eggs etc.
Rooms were clean wth air con, but no fridge (even though we were AI).
Pool was adequate but cold, probably due to the weather. The indoor pool was only open from Nov-April.
Facilities included a modest gym, sauna, squash court, tennis court, table tennis, and volleyball (with soft sand). So take your rackets and trainers with you.
Entertainers were friendly putting on the usual hotel games - darts, rifle shooting etc. Night entertainment and kids mini disco was the usual spanish type.
We were impressed with the resort, hotel, its staff and facilities. The only thing that let us down was the weather. It seemed ideal if you wanted a resort on the flat and want to do a bit of cycling.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank X4brummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 392 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is very nice . All d staff is very -2 polite n helpfull. They give their best 2 lukafter u . we got there 2;30 in d morning but guy on reception, opened d restaurant for us to have snacks. Gabriel d entertainer is just gr8 n EDU is a fab waiter. weather wasnt gud d week we stayed but we werent too bored coz of d entertainment in d hotel was really gud. kids luved d mini disco. food was gud . overall its well worth for a 3 star. I read so many review about d hotel before booked it n i was bit worried coz i booked my sisters room as well but it was worth it . I m very fussy about cleanliness n food . food was ok . but i found rooms werent clean up 2 d standard . But rest of the things i have no complain about.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

My hubby and I travelled with our 4 kids, aged 16, 14, 8 and 7. Majorcan weather not great but the hotel made up for it. Waiter service in bar by absolutely fantastic staff, sebastian works his socks off, bless him. Food was hot and fresh, waiter service for drinks. All inclusive worth every penny. Kids enjoyed a manicure, a sauna, the gym and indoor pool. Kids entertainment good, evening entertainment is okay. Hotel spotlessly clean, rooms done daily, towels changed as required. We hired beach towles for 15 euro each, fully refundable, from the hotel. Resort very English, although no one speaks it!! Local pub's called Kings Head, chinese take away the Peking Duck....Clean resort, 5 minute walk to beach and shops, kids hired motorized scooters for 9 euro for 1/2 hour, which they loved, in busy times, scooters and quads whizzing down the sea front which gets a bit of a pain. Arranged our own taxi transfers with Majorca taxi transfers, faultless service. Only bad point is Palma airport is simply awful, people treated like cattle, herded around even with priority boarding.
In conclusion, I couldn't recommend the Marfil Playa highly enough, absolutely fantastic hotel with very friendly, hardworking and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Hiring a car would be good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank majorcarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Hotel very good. Not that many Brits (that can sometimes be a good thing) plenty of German, French, Spanish and Belgian guests.

Food was excellent with plenty of variety. Service was never a problem throughout the hotel - all staff extremely helpful.

Highly recommended all inclusive option. I like a firm bed and I do not go away in August to watch TV so happy with what was available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geebsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Rooms of reasonable size, clean though beds too hard. Only sky news tv channel in English. Balcony overlooking pool was smallish and not high enough on all sides. Children would have to be watched. All inclusive option gives excellent drinks options, but food is ordinary and repetitive. Very fed up by the end of one week, and I love my food. Desserts are terrible. fruit ok. if that's your thing. Entertainment in evening quite poor. Children well catered for during day. hotel does have a decent gym and also a tennis court.must mention that all staff especially at bar and in dining room, extremely pleasant and v. efficient. Never a wait for drinks. Hotel is very centrally placed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winnieg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Lovely hotel, fantastic food, very pleasant staff, good mix of german, spanish and english guests, lovely pools, best all inclusive deal we have had. Brilliant all rounder for a family with young kids/toddlers, even when our little boy created havoc with the food in the restaurant the staff were completely lovely about the mess he made, nothing was a problem. We are English and had a fantastic time, if you're xenophobic then stay in Blighty!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoGeary70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Just got back from this hotel and it was fab, travelled with my husband, two young children and mum and dad(which are usally very fussy) Food was fantastic great choices every night, with a fresh cooked counter with chicken, fish etc that there cook esp for you. We did not have one bad meal! It is full of the germans but that didn't worry us, infact there so fussy the hotel cater for them so 100% all round! Children's entertainment isn't fab but thats the fun in taken the away is to play with them. Mini diso is good. Not for those on lively holiday. More couple's and young children. Sa Coma is gorgeouse esp the golden sandy beach. Would def reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vixson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Som Siurell
Som Siurell
#14 of 29 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Address: Calle Card 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: $75 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Marfil Playa, a 4-star all-inclusive hotel in Sa Coma, Majorca with an indoor and outdoor pool and stunning views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing