We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I can describe our holidays in Sa Coma Playa Hotel by saying- excellent!!! Like previous times, everything was high class! Was nice to see the same faces - the friendliest, qualified staff. Big thanks to Chej - the manager - as always, wellcoming with a big smile, he did more than expected to give us brilliant holidays. All the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casandrikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    342
    89
    16
    5
See reviews for
765
478
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day family holiday with 2 boys - 3 & 6 years. We all had a fabulous time at the Sa Coma Playa. We made the most of the AI option and never went hungry! The food and drink is plentiful and the kids loved the free flowing ice lollies! The queues for the buffet got a bit annoying after 10 days but that's what we expected in August. La Fontana Italian restaurant was a refreshing break to the buffet being a la carte so we were all served at the same time! The Sa Coma Playa staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are modern and have plenty of room for clothes and suitcases. The shower was heavenly and the air con v efficient. La Reserva water park was well worth a visit for the day. The entertainment was ok but not great especially being indoors. The Safari hotel entertainment is better but the drinks are payable.. but cheap (beer 1.85 Euros, sangria 1.50 Euros) Our eldest went to the Thomson kids club at the Safari hotel with was great. Our two were in different age groups so couldn't go together so our youngest wouldn't stay alone. The evening groups are for all ages though. We would go back to this hotel but would look for a comparison deal between Thomson and independent booking another year.

Room Tip: We were in room 121 which was sunny in the morning so cool in the afternoon which is refreshing when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Protur Sa Coma Hotel definitely deserves all the positive reviews we read before we chose it.
We stayed half-board which was the right choice for the two of us and our 5 year old son. Breakfast was served until 10.30am and then dinner starts from 7pm, the selection of food is pretty extensive and is constantly replenished during service, so we didn't really feel the need to eat during the day apart from an ice-cream or maybe some chips or olives. The food quality was somewhere near gastro-pub standard, you'd be hard pushed to not find at least 4 or 5 things to your taste, there was even a "healthy food section" and various vegetarian and gluten free options.

If you have children we'd definitely recommend paying a visit to the water park (which is a whole day out, food and drinks included, it's part of the hotel complex), and there is a whole array of sports and activities to choose from (mini-golf, shooting, tennis, even paint balling to name but a few..) if that's your cup of tea.

The management of the hotel are always prominently on display, hosting dinner service, overlooking reception, looking after guests. I think this level of devotion is reflected in the overall quality of everything the hotel has to offer. Everything is clean and comfortable. We had no complaints at all.

Sa Coma itself has very little to offer, so don't expect a fabulous town to walk round, there's the standard little shops selling souvenirs and bottled water, some bars showing football but not much else...

There was something on each evening at the bar, only for an hour or two but probably long enough to keep your attention. Drinks prices (if you're not travelling all inclusive) were reasonable and service was very efficient and attentive. A bottle of beer from €2, bottle of wine from €9, spirits all fairly priced. All the waiters were very polite, especially 'Ricardo' who remembered our son's name every day and even taught him some Spanish, a wonderful man who made our stay very memorable.

The room's were really modern, excellent air-conditioning, tip-top maid service, only a few English TV channels (not that it mattered to us), there is Wi-Fi but it's a bit patchy and slow but all in all we'd give this hotel a wink and a high-five, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fareappraisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of 6 (4adults + 2 children 6 and below) spent 10 nights here and have to say it was one of our best holidays so far. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.
The dining room staff were also very friendly, particularly towards the kids - giving them high-fives on the way out. The food was plentiful, varied and tasty, and we accepted having to queue, as it was after all the peak season. Entertainment was restricted to the evenings, although there plenty of activities available off site.
Rooms were large and comfortable, as were the balconies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebby766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned from a ten night family break at the Sa Coma Playa, it was a lovely relaxing holiday and we would definitely return. The Sa Coma Playa is a great hotel with lovely rooms, if you can then make sure you book a suite, the extra space, walk in wardrobe and jacuzzi bath are fabulous. The rooms were also very clean with daily maid service. The amenities around the complex are fantastic for families of all ages, our four year old and fifteen year old both had plenty to entertain them, mini golf, small water park and paradise area with play park and splash slides were all brilliant.
The pool area is very nice but there was an issue getting beds, you have to be up to put towels down before 9.00am or you will miss out, unfortunately the pool is also a little small especially when filled with inflatables!
The food was good, plenty of choice and vey fresh, some of the meat quality could've been better. Breakfast was exceptional. We booked half board as we do not eat and drink enough to warrant the additional cost of AI however when we did purchase bar snacks for lunch they were very reasonably priced and generous portions.
Unfortunately the main draw back of this hotel, in comparison to others, is the entertainment. The mini disco was a very poor repeat of one short tape with the same looped songs every night. The adult entertainment was also very poor, the acoustic duet being the only decent act during our ten day stay. Also such a shame the entertainment was in doors, our previous experiences had been in hotels with out door stages which are much nicer.
The wifi signal is also poor and sparse outside of reception, not a massive issue whilst on holiday but can be annoying for the teens in your life:)
We booked the hotel direct and then flights with Iberia airlines, this saved us £1500 from the Thomson price and theirs wasn't a suite, we benefited from the Protur offer of 20% off the accommodation by booking before Dec 2012. This was a great deal and really saved us money.
In summary a great hotel, fabulous location, great food and facilities for children, teens and adults of all ages. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family:).

Room Tip: Book a suite, third floor had lovely views of the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBerry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england/peterlee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

well very much looked forward to our 5th time here ..all inclusive.....

The transfer to the hotel is a bus journey of about 1hr 10 mins from the airport ......the hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are spacious and very clean....we had emailed the manager Chej Ramdan prior to our visit and requesting a room with a view over the pool......unfortunatley this did not materialise however the view we had was still nice......on our arrival we met Mr Ramdan and I remember his very words to us on arrival and they were ' I will look after you'....especially with this being our 5th visit we thought we would receive great service.....the restaurant area is spotlessly clean and the staff are just excellent......when entering the restaurant we were always directed to a table......and the waiters were very attentive..friendly and nothing was a chore for them....Miquel stood out in the restaurant but to be honest all the serving waiters were first class.........this sadly could not be said of the cooks behind the cooking counters who you thought were on commission not to smile!....they were just the opposite to the waiters ....they always made you feel that you were a chore to them...service here was poor ....and lacking in numbers too.....on entering the restaurant yoiu would normally be greated by Mr Ramdan or another manager which was a nice touch.....next door to the hotel is the Bio Mar spa which is well worth a visit..........there is also a golf driving range about 250 yards from the hotel.......on 2 visits to the range there was no balls.....and there is a groundsman who looks after the range and he is a very intimidating and agressive chap.......on one visit at 5pm there were no balls and he just said to me in a very impolite way..without even looking at me .. ' come back in the morning' without any apology and no compensation for having no balls........and on another occassion I saw a guy put money in the machine and only 5 balls came out and when the groundsman came out to check the machine he said there was nothing wrong with the machine and more or less told the holiday maker that he was lying!.....great service eh!........regarding the pool area at the hotel to be honest this year there were a lot of children and the pool was usually very crowded......overall there was a decent type of person here and most of the children were very well behaved.......there was one cockney family who spent time at the pool teaching their boys to dive in and they very loud in......and sadly the kids never did manage to learn to dive properly but evryone still had the endure the daily diving lessons!....the same boys were running a mock and running in between chairs round the floor area where the caberet was on and we did feel sorry for the singer.........none of the management put these kids in their place and on a few occassions the waiters trays full of drinks were nearly knocked over..........thank god the majority of people watching the shows had more common sense and respect and intelligence.......generally however there were alot of kids still up even after 10.30 ......so if you are just a couple this place is not for you........although this was our 5th time here......some of the waiters in the entertainment room were quite dull........but special attention to Miquel ( Miguel?) and Anthony.........these 2 guys were full of personality and gave great service!.they were a delight to know !.....special mention to Brenda in charge of activities...lovey lady!..........generally in the pool area we found the waiters seemed very bored and found serving the holiday makers a chore unless of course you had Miquel or Anthony to serve you!................now over the years we had been used to drinking lovely coffee here but now they have changed the coffee.......me and my Wife found it horrible and when we mentioned this to the manager he said but ' he liked it'........no comment!...also my Wife has been drinking BLOODY MARY on an evening for the last 5 yrs but this time they would not serve her this drink as not on the all inclusive menu but you could get vodka and tomato jiuce seperate!.........did someone say they would look after us?.any way moving on.......to the situation which finally tipped us over the edge and MADE UP OR MINDS NEVR TO COME BACK to this hotel again............as it was the keys to our room were not working propery and if you can imagine walking back to reception and waiting to be seen to just to get a key was a huge inconvenience..............because this happened 8 times in the first week and when I tried to get to the bottom of the problem a lady called CHRISTINA ( English lady) at reception gave us a real condecending lecture on how the cards should be stored and why they may not be working..........no apologies for the inconvenience and she went on to say that my wife should not really keep them in her bag or purse..........( now here comes the science lesson)..as something in the purse or bag can cause magnetic interference....( we are still wondering where they should be stored!.....any answers on a post card please !).....now if we had know it was so technical to store the cards we would have went on a 2 day science course at home to learn about such things! ha...her attitude stunk and were made to look like fools.......her attitude angered us so much I asked to speak to the manager as soon as he came back to work next day.....I made it clear that I wanted him to see me about my complaint........sadly Mr Ramdan never came to see us ......and we in turn wont be coming to seem him or is hotel again........epecially with bad mannered staff like Christina there........this was a holiday for us and we do not take kindly to school lessons from a member of reception staff!....

to summarise if you came to this hotel and experienced the better staff here you will probably have a good time.........to be honest my Wife and lovely Neice would make my holiday wherever we went............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel caters exceptionally for Families, with great selection of buffet style dishes, very clean hotel with quality varied entertainment. We stayed on a half board basis, which suited us but the restaurant was so good that we probably would have used the all inclusive option.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CSC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa
Protur Palmeras Playa
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
348 reviews
21.0 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,031 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing