We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and decided to return this year as we had such a good holiday last time. I can honestly say that this still remains a really good hotel and I was so glad that we returned. The hotel itself is still very clean and the rooms are lovely, exactly as described by Thomson on the Internet. The staff are also very friendly and on our last day the manager asked us if we had enjoyed our stay which was a nice touch. We were on half board and the food was really good always something to eat. The hotel is also in a very good position, pretty close to everything that you need. Shops and beaches only a short walk away. There was plenty on offer at the Protur resort but we didn’t take advantage of this as we had been on a cruise the week before and basically just wanted to chill out the second week. I will go back to this hotel and resort in the future and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as on a Sturday night there is a disco at the back which go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joncris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    350
    90
    16
    5
See reviews for
779
486
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 years ago and was bowled over about what you get for your money. This time however it felt not as good.Rooms are nice but prepare to wait hours if not days if things are missing from your room , we asked for extra pillows and the promised kettle and it took over 5 hrs to arrive .Food was excellent , a lot of choice but catering more for the European taste , this Is a predominantly German based clientele.Dinner time was served far too late for us , 7pm opening meant big queues to get in and inside .The dining experience wasn't pleasant either , full of screaming babies and toddlers who where obviously tired as it was late eating for them .Now I don't mind babies or children but when your trying to hold an adt conversation and behind you you've a baby screaming , it's very off putting .Due to the high volume of initial people the Food trays after 5 mins where already empty , which meant more waiting and staff didn't seemed prepared , I.e food on grill hadn't even started and plates on tables not cleared.Location is not on beach , about a 10 min walk , but beds and parasols are chargeable.We travel abroad a lot , visiting most if Europe , Africa , Caribbean etc and find this hotel ok as for a quick week away in the sun .But be aware although its a Thomson 'Platinum' hotel it's full of small
kids and babies and tarnishes its exclusive and luxurious feel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your second stay did not live up to your expectations. We will try to improve the aspects that you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at the Sa Coma Playa was for 14 nights from 24th June, We had previously stayed on 4 other occasions but only for a week. Chej made sure our holiday was memorable. I have not been to another hotel that has exceptional staff, great food, and fantastic hotel accomodation. Highlights of our stay were several visits to the Biomar Spa, and The La fontana restaurant. We also tried the La Bodega, the tapas restaurant which was also very good.
Attention to detail makes this hotel stand out from the rest, Will definately be back in the near future! Thanks again Chej!

Room Tip: Ground floor only has bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great hotel, the rooms are lovely, superb shower, beds a little hard, however plenty of space in the room and very modern. The staff at this hotel are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We went all inclusive, the food was fine, it didnt have the same huge selection that we have had in other hotels, however what was available was fresh and tasted delicious. The pool area is really nice, we visited early June so it was not too busy and there were always plenty of empty sunbeds at any time of day, beach great, sea gorgeous, crystal clear. The resort is a bit tacky, lots of english pubs, kareoke, Burger King! Not really our thing, but this resort is perfect for families as plenty to keep the kids happy. The brochure does say that there are a selection of restaurants to eat at within the hotel complex; however it doesnt say and the rep also negated to tell us that to book them you have to queue at the miniclub down the road before 9am to book them; we didnt do it however were told that the queue was huge and they were booked up within 10-15 minutes, so not brilliant. We did go to the Sa Bodega as we could pre-book that through the all inclusive package (only 1 booking allowed), it was ok but was basically the same staff and food as we would have had in the hotel anyway! So if you stay here choose one of the other ones! With the all inclusive we could have free bike hire, that was great and you can easily cycle through to Cala Millor and Cala Bona, cycle paths all the way. Public buses also were efficient and cheap and drivers helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the block with the Sa Coma Playa sign on looking over the pool are lovely and have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 11 nights from 26th May. We had stayed here previously in 2007 and were looking forward to seeing the improvements at the hotel. We were not disappointed! In fact, the rooms and some parts of the hotel were hard to recognise, so complete has been the makeover.

We loved the rooms, which are much more contemporary, the beautiful bathrooms especially with a great double shower and hurrah, lots of hooks!

We also liked the tea tray and kettle, unusual in our experience but very welcome, essential after a swim in the pool! We bought fresh milk from the local Spar, stored in the fridge. This actually saved us quite a bit of money over the stay and meant we went down to breakfast already feeling human.

We had a room overlooking pool, was great, and as we were on 2nd floor we could also see the sea. The first week especially the pool area was very busy but we never failed to get good sun beds. In fact, they brought out more on one day, including more parasols as it got hotter. Although there were lots of children round the pool, they were all very well behaved, and helped to make the friendly atmosphere.

As a couple, we did find the evenings a little too child-friendly. We did expect rather fewer children still running around at 11p.m. However, we went out most evenings, a good selection of local bars - try the German ones if you want them child-free. You can also visit the bars at other hotels on the site and the evening entertainment in the piano bar at the nearby Bio Mar Spa hotel was excellent and you can pay for drinks on your Protur card. They were slightly dearer there than at the Playa, though.

Food at the hotel was varied and well-cooked. We stayed half board and were more than satisfied with the quantity. As we like to go out both days and evenings there seemed little point in going all-inclusive. You've got to eat and drink a lot to make it worthwhile!

There was still quite a good selection of breakfast even on the days we left the hotel early to go on trips. We went to Palma and Pollensa with Thomson, and enjoyed both days with a very knowledgeable Mallorcan guide, Pedro.

The beach at Sa Coma is lovely, we hired sunbeds and a parasol the first time we went, but you need to be there a full day to take advantage of them. We also hired the free bikes, but I think I need proficiency lessons, especially in avoiding the other cyclists!

All in all a very relaxed holiday and I am sure that the friendly attitude of the staff and lack of petty rules around the hotel made this so.

Room Tip: The balconies of rooms overlooking the pool get full sun most of the day but the curtains and blacko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday at the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel and Spa. This is our 3rd visit in 12 months. On this occasion me and my husband went. On other occasions it has been us, together with our two children and my parents. This hotel is suitable for a nice quiet relaxing holiday or a family one. The service and greeting at reception was very friendly. Chej - the most amazing hotel manager - came to personally welcome us back - which was a lovely touch. Our room was in a great position - facing the main pool (room 215) and was very spacious, very clean and very modern. The shower was fantastic - a very large double shower with a very powerful flow. The food was of a very high standard, with lots to choose from. The show cooking was good and there wasn't much queuing (if any), if you fancied an omelette or stir fry doing. The bar staff and waiters were all very helpful and friendly and as soon as you had put your glass/crockery/cutlery down - it was taken away. We went on an AI basis. This included all of your food and drink from 12.00 on the day that you arrive, throughout your stay until 12.00 on the day you leave - as well as the mini bar in your room. The mini bar is filled daily and includes beer, water, soft drinks, juice, small milk cartons and crisps. The spirits at this hotel are all original spirits and not locally produced ones. There are activities available here for both children and adults. The holiday is really what you make it. If you want to get involved - you can, if not, you are left alone to enjoy the peace and quiet. The evening entertainment was good - although, on this occasion, we tended to sit on the outside seating area to play cards and enjoy the music. We are all booked to go back in August with the children. We'll be taking full advantage of the activities when we get there (both at the hotel and at the offsite clubhouse) and already have plans to return next year with the kids and my mum and dad. You can't get enough of a good thing....that's what I say! Thanks again to Chej and his team for making our holiday very enjoyable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you very soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms at this hotel seem to have a good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from a baking hot week in Majorca at the Sa Coma Playa. I decided to splash out and go for a "swim-up" room (sorry no pun intended). The protur hotels website showed a picture of a swim-up terraced room with the pool almost touching the terrace... however this was not the case. What you actually got was a very nice large room which had access to a small pool which was wedged into a corner of a communal garden which as far as I could see was shared by a total of ten rooms, all very nice but not what I would call a "swim-up room"... The hotel is also very popular with young couples and their little toddlers. The management of the hotel is first class with the very charming Chej leading a equally charming and helpful team. Also the food was very good so if you are looking for a hotel which is very child-friendly with very helpful staff and are happy when booking a "swim-up" to share a pool in a communal garden then this hotel is definitely the one for you!

Room Tip: if you go for a swim-up be prepared to share the small pool with nine other rooms set in a communal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DolphinSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Just to give you an update: for the 2014 season we have made some changes and now offer new swim-up rooms that offer direct access to a large pool which we are sure that will be very popular. The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
354 reviews
21.0 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,054 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing