We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent would definatly go back !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent would definatly go back !!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel , Majorca.

Holiday date - 22nd july to 29 th july 2011(first week of schools 6 week holidays).

Tour Operator - Thomson Platinum - Family Holiday with 1 child 12 yrs of age.

From - Ncle Airport.

Transfer Time from Palma Airport to Hotel - Approx 1 hr 15 Mins.

Reception- Arrived approx 00:15 Hrs on Sun 23/07/11 and was greetd by receptionist who booked us in very quicky and efficently.Very smart looking reception/entrance.As arrived after midnight the hotel had left food for us in resteraunt - choice of cheeses/meats/chicken/rolls etc.(cold selection buffet)

Room - Best room i've ever had in any foreign hotel. Would akin this to room at Village Hotel or Hilton in Britain. Had two single beds which were more like doubles and a large sofa bed.All had memory foam matress'.The room had hardwood flooring and built in wardrobes with ample space for all.There was a large goodmans flat screen tv which had bbc/1 , bbc/2, bbc/3, bbc/4 , itv 1,itv/2 ,channel4 and channel 5.(not quite in same order though).Tv has own remote control.There was also a mini bar in room which is restocked every day and is free if you are on A/Inclusive as we were.Rent out the in room safe which is easy to use as you enter your own 6 digit code to operate. The safe is 2 x euros per day with a 5 euro deposit which is returned at end of holiday.Room also has excellent,modern air con system.

Bathrrom - Large , modern with probably the biggest rainforset style shower you will ever see.As stated ,ultra modern bathoorm and is large in size.Fresh towells every day by maid as room cleaned every day.

Balcony - large with modern outdoor furniture and towell rack to dry you pool towells.

Swimming pools - There is 2 pools . I suggest being down to to the main pool with towells by 08:30 hrs,but was always a spare bed most times.Here there is the pool bar for snacks(toasties),ice cream and drinks for AI guests.Not sure of prices of food etc if not AI.You cant get snacks during meal times if on AI as they expect you to go for meals provided.Second pool is quieter and just as nice and you can usualyl get a bed at any time.If here though youy have to walk through hotel to main pool bar to get drinks/snacks,about a 30 second walk.Also hotel pool towells if required(free of charge)You can also pay 9.5 euro adult, 4.5 euro for children 12 and under to go to La reserva which is complex water park. It is not.It only has 2 small slides for small children. My advice would be either go to a proper water park or stay round pool at hotel . So glad did'nt stay at safari park apts as they are crammed in like sardines around their pools.Go and have a look to see how good you have it at this hotel;-)

Resteraunt- Buffet style meals and grill cooking steaks etc fresh to order. I really enjoyed food and can be quite picky.Again if on ai drinks in here are for free including bottles of wine etc.I tried the Argentinian Grill one night which was OK but if the truth be known the buffet in hotel is better.You can book meals at theme resteraunts from 8 am at reception in hotel which is excellent as other hotels guests in complex have to queue at club house for nearly one hour.Get chef to make you a fresh omelette for breakfast.The sweets are also amazing during all 3 meals- yes even brfeakfast !!

Staff - Friendliest i have ever met.Even with ai guests the service is just the same.some reports suggested waiters ignored ai guests. Believe you me this is not the truth as the hotel management would not allow this and this is why the hotels reputation is so good.Staff couldn't do enough for you.

Enetertainment - On every night in main bar which is built on to pool bar. Different band/act on each night but finishes at 23:30 sharp as no noise in hotel after 12:30 am.Bar shuts around 12:30 - 01:00 hrs.All drinks on ai were branded and included lots of different bottled beers etc.Mainly just sat out on terrace rather than sitting inside watching acts.

Guests - 40% english, 30 % German , 30% Spanish. All in all a very good mix.No Louts!!

Sa coma beah and main town - approx 10 minute walk to both. If you looking for masses of bars etc that go on into early hrs , Sa coma is not the place for you. It is a family friendly place and is quite quiet.

The hotel also has wi fi so take lap top if wish.This saves you paying one eruo for 15 mis on hotels 2 computers at internet corner.

Trip - went on pirates show trip which was one of the best i've ever seen. Very funny and highly skilled people.Tip - book off internet with thomsons prior to arrival as much cheaper than in resort.Saved about 40 quid doing this.

Spa - looked very impressive but never tried as under 16's not allowed in.Was also a small well equipped gym is this is your wish when on holiday !!

OVERALL - Excellent holiday at very good hotel . Never thought i'd say this but i will go back at some point .Enjoy !!!

Room Tip: E mail hotel and have room overlloking main swimming pool .Room 213 was ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jasoer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We thank you for having taken the time and trouble to write such a detailed review that we are sure will be very useful to other holidaymakers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    341
    89
    16
    5
See reviews for
764
478
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed for one week with a 15 month child. The room was lovely and the hotel was clean and the staff extremely helpful. The food was excellent in the main restaurant however the other restaurants were not as good in particular the Tapas restaurant was very poor. The only other complaint was that the hotel had a constant stream of coaches pulling into the car park which was annoying if sunbathing at the front pool. Overall, I would recommend this hotel especially for families and I will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collettedoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. We are sorry that on this ocasion your visit to the tapas restaurant didn't live up to your expectations and have taken note of your comments.We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the hotel with family and spent 5 nights there.

Pros:
- very nice and completely refurbished rooms with nice decor and modern bathroom. Rooms are 5star. Beds are very good as well.
- good food with very good and not expensive wine list with description included (although halfboard in the hotel where we went following our stay in Sa Coma Playa was times better...there is always better in food:-) )
- there is a good selection of food even after the restaurant closes after dinner..so you can still grab some food in the night if you are hungry or check-in late as we did.
- good service at the reception with very friendly personnel
- perfect spa in the attached Protur Biomar hotel..although not huge spa but has everything you would like..again, 50% off the price for Sa Coma Playa guests. I can imagine that massages are nice as well (price is ok) but did not have time at the end to try it.
- seaside is nice but is a few hundreds meters away from the hotel and you have to walk through an area with horses and ponys and also wathc out not to step in in their poos:-) The beach is quite crowded but still ok for relaxing. Water is very clear. Lifeguard personnel is constantly warning you should you go to far away from the shore when there are bigger waves. This is good for children but a bit annoying for adults but still useful at the end.
- Sa Coma is not as corwded and touristy as for example the neighbouring Cala Millor. It has a good balance between relaxation and some nightlife although the latter is quite limited. There are quite a few shops along the main road so you can buy food, etc. there easily. There is a very big grocery shop (Euroski) in Sa Coma which is good if you do not want to use the Spar shop close to the hotel.


Cons:
- I asked the hotel in advance to reserve for us 2 double rooms on the upper floors what we usually do when travelling but this time no luck..maybe due also to our very late arrival to the hotel we were given 2 rooms on the first floors at the side of the hotel with noisy aircon of the neighbouring shops
- gym is quite old, we used the neighbouring 5* Protur Biomar hotel`s (50% discount for Sa Coma Playa guests) gym which was very nice
- drinks in the hotel bar are ok but you are much better off if you go out to the bar on the corner to have some nice coctails during the day or the evening (close to the bar there is a restaurant as well with very good fast food like dishes, huge portions and lovely food)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We usually stay in Palma or Pollensa in North but were keen to have a few days relaxing by pool in comfortable upscale resort with plenty entertainment for 7 year old but luxurious enough to keep mum and dad happy. That is exactly what we got. I checked Tripadviser and elsewhere and recent reviews post hotel upgrade were universally positive. We were very happy with all. On arrival at midday we were greeted with smile by lady receptionist who was polite and friendly. We received an upgrade to a suite which was great as our daughter had her own room. The accommodation was modern stylish Spanish style - immaculate and remained so due to excellent daily housekeeping.Beds comfy and room quiet although sometimes woken by cock-a-doodle-do-ing at early hour by wandering cockerel! Amused rather than annoyed.
Pool area pleasant but we used La Reservation on our 'pool days' - great little waterpark in resort. You pay for entry - 22 euros for the three of us - they only ever charged us the 'the fully inclusive rate' even though we were half board - we thought was excellent value as included drinks and lunch and afternoon tea and snacks all day long. very good lunch - grill and lots of options and I enjoyed the Rose wine very much not to mention the lovely cakes in the afternoon. Our daughter also loved the free entry paradis park with trampolines, coin operated bumper cars and wooden fort playground. This also contained an excellent - free- pool with water slide and squirters ideal for under 5s. In fact, although our 7 year old had plenty to keep her happy, I would suggest that this hotel is an ideal option for parents and under 5s.
The staff were good - I am stickler for good manners and they were universally smiley and professional. Waiting service professional and slick. Buffet breakfast excellent, dinner good.
Would return. have stayed at and enjoyed many Barcelo chain hotels but thought this - our first experience of 'Protur' chain impressive and would try again.

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We are very pleased to learn that you and your family had such a good time and will pass on your best wishes to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Probably Protur's flagship (before the Biomar Gran) in this large complex with loads of leisure facilities (most included) - the rooms are stylish, food very good, staff happy and helpful. Recommend half-board as plenty of places for lunch. Three of us in a standard room comfortably; air con good. A few touches in rooms that could have been better- the room is bathed in light if you sneak to the bathroom after lights out; beds a little firm; sockets variable though plentiful. Good air con. Front pool deceptively large - shaped like the tripadvisor owl's eyes and about 35 m x 15m at widest/longest. Have to be early to book your front pool lounger, but not a bother for us as we played tennis and then joined in the daily leisure activities. Safari Park Hotel across the road hosts the activities for teens and children and has the bigger shows - dance/lipsynch . 4.5/5 is just right for this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-T-J-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. This resort is our most popular destination because it really does offer something for everyone. We have taken note of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelly South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

As I said it lived up to its brochure blurb, which isn't always the case. Cleanliness far outweighed any other hotel we've stayed in...even the pool loos were spotless! Rooms were good size and we could even get the free wifi in our room as we were 1st floor facinng the entrance and reception. TV had all the 5 English channels. Food was very good and service in the restaurant was A1. Little things make all the difference and being served a large pot of coffee instead of the tedious back and forth to the coffee machine at breakfast was fantastic! Freshly cooked grills and the "healthy" counter together with the great waiter service and the meet and greet by the restaurant manager or his deputy made it feel more like a 5* than a 4* hotel. Ellen, the Thompson rep was very helpful and the waiter service in the concert lounge was brilliant, even though we were all inclusive. Tips were gratefully received but never treated as expected. There are just too many good things about this hotel to list them all. Even alternate dining experiences though we were quite happy with the on site restaurant and didn't fancy queing at 8am to book the others.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out to the entrance square have sun all day on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina_williams65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Recently returned from sa coma playa, with my husband and 9 year old, wanted a hotel that suited us all, we stayed half board deciding we didnt want to stay at hotel all the time, glad we did this loads for breakfast and dinner didnt really need lunch, and if you were all inclusive you had to have lunch in main restaurent not the terrace.
if you are are bigger family then all inclusive is probadly better.
rooms lovely refurbished excellant air conditioning, showers great.
sa coma is abit shabby, typical shops and cafes,, but cala bona lovely worth a visit and lunch in the many harbourside restaurants, .
Back to hotel review,entertainment not good and generally finished by 1015,hope this improves by next year in fact the kings head had far better entertainment!

only gripe couldnt believe people were putting towels on sunbeds by 7am, the hotel does nothing about this, so in the end you end up resorting to same devious behavior, then some beds stayed empty all day!
the hotel could do with having spare stack of beds somewhere , as its horrible if you walking around looking for a bed.
The water park was great, excellant value if you are all inclusive, very clean excellent food.
Lots to do bikes etc , but shooting archery only if you are 16 and over
Didnt use spa, but all looked lovely..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexiHantsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive comments. We look foward to welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Sa Coma Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa
Protur Palmeras Playa
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
346 reviews
21.0 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,030 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing