We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for good Spanish food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante El Sol

Restaurante El Sol
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Crawley Sussex England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great venue for good Spanish food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Meals were up to the high standard again, been going there for more than 12yrs and never get a disappointing meal . Jordi, looking forward to this yrs meals please save us a table soon...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    37
    15
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Spanish welcome in a 'British' resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

One of just two restaurants we 'went back to' during our recent holiday in Sa Coma. Why? Because it had a lovely combination of atmosphere, really friendly waiters and very decent food, and it actually felt like a Spanish restaurant unlike much of the local competition.
The first time we had a light dinner of mixed tapas, all 6 types of which were extremely fresh and tasty, if 'standard' as opposed to local Mallorcan - the house red was very pleasant as well, as.was the background classical music, a pleasant change from most places in the resort. We finished with a takeaway ice cream from their good selection of quality flavours. Both waiters indulged and encouraged my GCSE level Spanish.
On our second evening visit we opted for fish, choosing fillet(s) of sea bass and what I believe was 'llampuga', which I had whole, as recommended - caught that day. Both were flavoursome and ample portions, served with a choice of salad and chips or, in my case, potatoes and vegetables. We also enjoyed watching the two aquariums (one solely for lobsters) and one of the waiters gathered quite an audience when he fished out a largish (to my mind) squid, duly returned as he was cleaning the water not sourcing the next meal. The two waiters were genuinely pleased that we had come back and this time the music was Spanish (including some covers of well-known English songs!). As with the previous visit, we noted locals arriving later on, and again we finished (after a complimentary local aniseed-herb post-prandial drink) with an ice cream - to try a different flavour.
Definitely in the top few restaurants, and our personal favourite, of those we tried in Sa Coma. We passed by on our final evening and the waiter insisted on giving us our final ice cream as complimentary, despite ourattempt to pay notwithstanding: very kind.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sa Coma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate here several times during our recent stay in Sa Coma. Lovely fresh fish and honest Spanish food. Good friendly service. There are very few decent eating places in Sa Coma, once we'd found this one we gave up looking for anywhere else. Most holiday makers are on all inclusive packages and this has been the downfall of the restaurant business in Sa Coma, most other places look very cheap and tacky, serving full English breakfasts, roast dinners and there's even a Burger King. El Sol was full every time we went there and was popular with Spanish diners at lunchtime. Would definitely recommend giving it a try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GandDHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect traditional Spanish cuisine with friendly service to top it off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

As a party of 4 (2 couples), we ate at 'El Sol' during the last week of September, whilst staying SC at the Bouganvilla. Although we arrived quite early (in Spain anyway - 5.30pm) we were greeted warmly and given a choice of seating. Choosing the big table next to the lobster tank we then decided to go for several tapas dishes to start. The calamari was AMAZING! Proper little squids fried in light batter - one word...NOM! My girlfriend and I then decided to share a seafood paella (our fellas not being the biggest fish or crustacean fans!), my fella had a meat paella, and my girlfriend's fella had roast lamb. The paella was DIVINE, containing huge great langoustines, tender mussels, more squid, and of course perfectly seasoned rice!

The meal was great value, and it was so nice to sit in a family run restaurant - the little girl was adorable - and the waiters were so attentive to all customers including the children. Fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyLou_2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wouldn't serve this food to a cat or dog”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited here in September 2013. Ordered a meat paella for my wife and I. Following recommendation from the waiter we opted for the 'more traditional' Spanish style noodles in the paella at a charge of an extra €4 for the dish. We were told the meat content would consist of chicken and pork.

When the dish arrived the noodles were more macaroni pasta. The meat was non existent and the dish consisted of skin, fat, bone and gristle. Not sure what the meat was in the dish and there was certainly no chicken found.

We were told that the dish would take about half an hour extra to make as the 'fresh meat' would have to be sourced (makes you wonder where it was actually sourced from, as it was just scraps of rubbish) - I wouldn't even serve this dish to the stray cars and dogs wandering around outside the restaurant.

By far the worst quality meal I have ever had and at a charge of €29 between my wife and I, the worst value.

Waiter/owner very rude and refused to accept the extremely poor standard of the meat, saying it was 'traditional Spanish food'.

My advice - if you want traditional food and actually know what meat you are being served, head further up the road to Cafe de la Mar. Great food in a proper restaurant, with friendly staff.

Avoid Restsurante El Sol at all costs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank c8nrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Sol also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing