We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL ROMANTIC STAY”
Review of Gran Hotel Son Net

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Son Net
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL ROMANTIC STAY”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel in wonderful setting. We were here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary having left our two teenage children at home. It was the perfect romantic short break and hope to return when we can. The suite was so spacious and very luxurious, we even had a large telescope so we could enjoy the views from our sitting room (room 29 Antonio Torrandell).
The pool area is lovely with lots of beds and areas to relax and sunbathe.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
A very big thank you to everyone for making our stay so special and especially to Xisco the Reservations Manager for our wonderful room and for allowing us a later check out.
We will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    69
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
94
360
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a lovely luxury hotel. The setting is beautiful and really rather romantic, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. While lots of the guests were couples, we stayed with our two children but were made very welcome and we all loved our stay. On very sunny days we lounged by the pool and admired the view, on the one cool evening they lit a fire in the bar and we ate dinner and played board games by it. Bliss. We had a deluxe room with two extra beds for the children,the room still had plenty of space and never felt cramped - it would be huge for two! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMLondon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

There are some places in the world you have to stay for a longer time. One of these places is the Gran Hotel Son Net. This is a REAL 5 star hotel with every conceivable comfort.

Absolutely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel!

The hotel is in a scenic location and would be a good place to stay if you would like to be amongst the mountains but still within a comfortable driving distance (30mins) to Palma.

The building and the grounds are well maintained. The interior is beautifully decorated albeit our room was very poorly lit and the dining room rather impersonal and cold.

The downfall is with the service. There is one person, and occasionally two people, at the front desk who act as receptionists, concierge, and porters. The staff on duty try hard but as a consequence of the staff to guest ratio, one has inevitably to wait in a queue. We almost had to unload our luggage from the car as no one approached to help when we drove up.

The waitressing service in the restaurant was deplorable. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and were so cold that we asked for blankets and hot water to warm up. When the bill came, we were informed that the hot water would cost €6 - you can understand that we were so gobsmacked that we didn't challenge the bill on the day. We have never been charged for hot water in any 5 star hotels or Michelin starred restaurants (all over the world)!

The service was even worse during breakfast. No one would come to take our order for tea or coffee, until we frantically waved at the waiters after 10 mins to get attention. They were unable to remember many of our requests e.g. levelling a wobbly table and additional order of Iberian ham (which had run out on the buffet table). On the last morning, I asked for boiled eggs with ham but the ham never arrived. When I asked, I was basically told to get it from the buffet table myself. My friend asked for a skinny latte and received a pot of milk ?skimmed.

During check out, we asked to speak to the duty manager but was told that he/she wasn't available. We spoke to the front desk manager and she told me that as Spanish tap water is not potable, we had to be charged for the hot water (did they therefore boil mineral water for us?). It seems unbelievable that all Spanish families & households boil mineral water for consumption!!! To add insult to injury, the first check out bill was wrong including €153 on a meal we didn't have. She says she will pass our complaints onto the food and beverage manager as she was clearly unwilling to take any responsibility. We have been back for over a week and have not received any correspondence from the hotel, hence we are posting our comments on Tripadvisor.

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Not able to rate the massage room as there is no spa and we didn't use the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jccj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a delightful hotel full of character and charm. Set up on a hillside with its own vineyard, this hotel has a magnificent pool along with gracious & regal, rooms within the main house. There are 4 pool rooms set apart from the main building which offer great space if staying with friends and family.

The bar and restaurant are darkly contemporary with some quirky artefacts throughout.

You must try their own wines which are really very good! Only 35 minutes from the airport so ideal for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialK1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Gran Hotel Son Net for 3 nights.

We are very fortunate to travel often and very well. We have homes in both Europe and Asia and when travelling we have been very blessed to experience such luxury that we have become very fussy and quite picky.

Arriving at Son Net after the 2-hour flight from London was simply delightful. The approach through the most charming picturesque village is beautiful and you start winding your way up the hillside and through the manicured grounds of this beautiful 17th century property.

The property was formerly a private residence but has been changed in to a hotel.

Greeted at the doors by the very well groomed staff we knew from the lobby that we were in for something special. We were offered a welcome drink and shown to our suite, appropriately titled the Royal Suite. I believe there are three Royal Suites and the Presidential Suite as well as various rooms, pool villas and other private villas on the grounds.

The suite was more like an oversized apartment running across the front of the property consisting of full sized separate dining and drawing room with an oversized bedroom featuring a 6ft wide four poster emperor bed and an equally oversized bathroom featuring no less than four wardrobes and an abundance of natural stone and marble.

The suite is around 150 sq.m excluding the private terrace, which would have to be another 60 sq.m and was definitely worth every penny. The suite would have to be at least 30m in length.

The hotel has around 30 rooms and apart from breakfast and maybe pre dinner drinks you rarely see other guests. The grounds to this magnificent building are impressive with breakfast being served on the terrace with incredible views.

The pool area again is of grand size with dozens of private cabanas. It looks like there is enough for each and every room of the hotel. There is definitely no fighting for a sunbed at this hotel and the space and tranquility is very special.

There is a secondary lap pool below the main pool area again with private cabanas and a poolside bar and restaurant with breathtaking views across Palma.

Everything about the hotel is very well done. The owners certainly have an eye for detail and this once stately home as been seamlessly transformed into a hotel with such perfection.

The size of the property is immense and even with full capacity you would be sharing it with no more than 60 guests.

I admire that they did not chop it up into an 80-room hotel but they have retained the authenticity of the property and the charm with oversized rooms and an abundance of space.

We dined at the hotel for both breakfast and dinner and were impressed with the quality of the food and service.

On our pre dinner first night we ordered some Tapas and sat by the open fire with a Pimms cocktail and again all was delightful. We had dinner in the hotel one night and again it was all very good.

The property has a well-equipped gym and a spa, which we used for a manicure and a pedicure. Unfortunately our one disappointment in the hotel was that the spa was a little expensive. Whilst the treatments were very good and we were pleased with the service we did think it was a little bit pricey.

Throughout our stay the staff of the hotel were charming and it is clear that they have been trained very well and it is such a pleasure to find staff with such sophistication.

Other reviewers have stated that the hotel is not cheap but for what you receive I think it is excellent value for money. The rooms start from around €200 and work up for the suites and private villas. However for such history and beautiful surroundings it is well worth it.

There is nothing comparable in Mallorca and I applaud the owners of the hotel for their obvious dedication and love of the property. We have already booked return visits with friends from late June and again in September.

This will definitely become our new home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Set in an imposing hill top position overlooking green valleys and mountains the imposing Gran Hotel Son Net, a converted 17th century house, offers real luxury. It is not cheap but ideal for that special occasion or relax "get away from it all" vacation and has all those small things that make staying in a fine hotel special from the helpful and efficient staff ,very comfortable well equipped rooms , excellent facilities and good dining options from fine dining to good bar food and tapas.
Only 30 minutes or so from Palma and the airport the location is excellent . A hire car is not essential although we found one invaluable as the weather was not kind!

Certainly one of the best hotels that we have stayed in anywhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puigpunyent
10.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
15.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
813 reviews
48.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
954 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
438 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Son Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Son Net

Property: Gran Hotel Son Net
Address: Camino Son Net s/n, 07194 Puigpunyent, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Puigpunyent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Son Net 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Son Net reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puigpunyent
Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net Puigpunyent, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing