We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! would perhaps be the word that I would use for this excellent boutique hotel in Majorca”
Review of Gran Hotel Son Net

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Son Net
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow! would perhaps be the word that I would use for this excellent boutique hotel in Majorca”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Set in an imposing hill top position overlooking green valleys and mountains the imposing Gran Hotel Son Net, a converted 17th century house, offers real luxury. It is not cheap but ideal for that special occasion or relax "get away from it all" vacation and has all those small things that make staying in a fine hotel special from the helpful and efficient staff ,very comfortable well equipped rooms , excellent facilities and good dining options from fine dining to good bar food and tapas.
Only 30 minutes or so from Palma and the airport the location is excellent . A hire car is not essential although we found one invaluable as the weather was not kind!

Certainly one of the best hotels that we have stayed in anywhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
94
364
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Words cannot fully describe this amazing hotel. Sitting on the terrace enjoying a delicious breakfast, by the bar tasting the amazing Majorcan wines or by the pool soaking in the sun, this hotel provides a perfect escape. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms and suites are gorgeously designed and spacious. The grounds are delightfully groomed complete with some of the cutest farm animals. The hotel is located close to Palma and is a great base to explore the whole island. I cannot recommend it more highly, and cannot wait to come back! Thank you Gran Hotel Son Net for making my weekend perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an_pham99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hotel in a fantastic location: secluded yet close to Palma and all the other beautiful spots on the west coast. Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast - the best eggs benedict in a while - on a terrace overlooking the forest, local town, etc. We came as a couple and cannot wait to come back with the kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Gran Hotel Son Net stands out on a hill at the foot of the Tramuntana mountain range and looks breathtaking as you approach by car, the photos online do not do this magical place justice and there are insufficient superlatives to describe the experience of being a guest at this hotel. Just walk around the wonderful grounds, take breakfast on the terrace or lounge by the pool - I can't imagine anybody not falling in love with the place.

My partner & I stayed for three days, and from the moment of our arrival at which we were greeted by the delightful receptionist to our reluctant departure, we cannot fault the accommodation, the staff or the intoxicating isle of Mallorca.

We found all the team here to be helpful and genuinely happy to help. Their attentive yet discreet and respectful service allowed us to relax in complete comfort without the feeling of being watched. No matter what the enquiry or service needed everything was dealt with smoothly and happily. Whether that be advice about the the surrounding area or asking for our shirts to be pressed at (very) short notice.

Now, the room...If only I could have brought the bed and bathroom home with me! Our accommodation was spacious, well equipped and spotless. The turn-down service each evening was a lovely finishing touch and made returning to the hotel a pleasure.

This was our first visit to Son Net but definitely won't be our last as this is as close to paradise as is humanly possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanomalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, more like a club. A converted building that has retained much of its character. The service is impeccable. Cuisine good. Convenient location in the countryside yet only 20 minutes drive from Palma and other attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrington88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portals Nous, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I travelled to the Son Net for a brief personal retreat intended to get away from the world, seclude myself for a few days, and finally get some work done on a book I am writing. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left my stay could not have been better. The old building which houses the hotel is beautiful and extremely tastefully decorated. Despite its age it feels warm and cosy and the public spaces are bright and very pleasing. The setting is stunning with breath taking views of the Mallorcan countryside which glimmered with the freshness of the sunshine of early spring. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with comfortable beds, speedy internet, and excellent bathroom facilities. The food was first rate with a decent bar menu available at all hours and high quality in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. However the best part of the stay was the staff who were unremittingly friendly, helpful, and professional. Led by Cisco, the House Manager, who graciously changed my room twice to help me avoid the spring showers I would have encountered on my way to a room outside the main building. He is backed up by excellent waiters, waitresses and receptionists who were exceptionally well mannered and made the stay an extremely pleasant one. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely if the weather is warm-almost like a little chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathfinder72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location and general ambience of the Son Net are hard to beat if you are looking for a luxury hotel in a rural setting with the attractions of Palma an easy 25 minute drive away. We are regular visitors to the island so were delighted to discover this unspoilt corner for the first time. The hotel itself has the potential to be first rate. The building is a beautiful converted finca which naturally means that the room sizes and styles vary. The 4 classic rooms are all on the ground floor close to the public areas. Our room (14) was adjacent to the bar and we experienced some noise issues. Initially we decided to compromise as this room does have lovely views of the mountains although it overlooks the outdoor dining terrace, so again, there isn't much privacy. We did change on the 3rd night to room 11 which was at the front of the hotel and much quieter. The bathrooms in both rooms were a very generous size. There were a few minor maintenance issues with room 14 - a cracked vanity mirror and broken hairdryer in the bathroom and a broken light switch in the bedroom. There is low lighting throughout the hotel which gives it a warm and cosy feel. However, we did not find this adequate in the rooms - our request for an extra lamp was promptly dealt with. Overall, I found the staff to be welcoming and helpful - our request for a room change was dealt with efficiently. The service in the bar was particularly good. An evening turn down service would be a big improvement. There was a wedding dinner taking place the night we ate in the restaurant so the service was not up to the standards I would expect of a hotel in this category (the food was good). I must say that none of this really spoilt my overall impression of this lovely hotel and I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Avoid room 14 if you require privacy and peace and quiet. We were advised that the deluxe rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puigpunyent
10.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
15.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
48.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Son Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Son Net

Property: Gran Hotel Son Net
Address: Camino Son Net s/n, 07194 Puigpunyent, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Puigpunyent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Son Net 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Son Net reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puigpunyent
Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net Puigpunyent, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing