We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”
Review of Gran Hotel Son Net

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Son Net
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Certificate of Excellence
Palmanova, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was a family trip for New Year's Eve - a special package for three nights. Thought it was very good value for such an occasion. Everything was top quality and the staff outstanding. Couldn't wish for a better few days break from everyday reality. Highly recommend the hotel and the food was top quality and prepared beautifully. Our room was on the second floor with outstanding view of the valley of Puigpunyent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
94
364
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having booked for my family to stay at Son Net I then read a review which I found somewhat disconcerting. Thankfully from the moment we arrived at this beautiful Hotel the warmth and friendliness of the staff was immediately evident. Ignatio and all front of house staff we encountered went beyond the call of duty, to attend to our every need. The Hotel itself was a sheer delight with stunning views from every aspect. Our room was amazing with a marble bathroom large enough to throw a cocktail party, not to mention the hugely comfortable bed. Interesting artwork and sculptures on every floor, quiet seating areas, a welcoming log fire with armchairs on the ground floor, tastefully decorated bar area. The restaurant has interesting and original features, coupled with food of a very high standard, there is an excellent selection of local wines. This is without doubt a tranquil retreat, a fantastic place to recharge your batteries. I highly recommend Son Net and look forward to my next visit. Thank you once again to all at Son Net.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having just returned from a 5 day stay at the wonderful Gran Hotel Son Net what a relaxing and peaceful experience we have had. The Hotel is set in beautiful well maintained gardens and you are rewarded with the most spectacular views from every aspect. The Hotel Restaurant consistently provided food of an extremely high standard. The bedroom was beautifully furnished with very comfortable bed and an ample supply of pillows. Bathrooms offer bathrobes and L'Occitane toiletries. Staff are courteous and nothing is too much trouble, Ignacio and the team were keen to ensure our stay was perfect and it was. My children were captivated by the resident miniature ponies and two very friendly donkeys that live at Son Net. There is a generous sized infinity pool on the upper level and a large shaped spa pool on the lower level patio, unfortunately, it was a little too cold to swim as we visited in late October. A wonderful restful few days with service beyond expectation even for a 5 * Hotel. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful nights in one of the pool suites last week at this wonderful hotel.
It is located on a beautiful piece of property overlooking the town and with beautiful views of the surrounding stunning mountain peaks.
Very spacious and comfortable rooms. We did not use the hot tub or pool as it was on the cool side when we were there.
Restaurant was fantastic.
Very relaxing and luxurious.
Expensive, but you are paying for location, visuals, service, privacy etc. in addition to the great room and wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: I did not see any rooms with a bad location. There is a main house with most rooms, we stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sevhealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at the son net in august this year. We had a cottage suite which was two bedrooms connected to a central lounge. I spoke to ignacio before we arrived and he recommended this suite for 5 of us and his recommendation was spot on as there were 5 of us and it meant we could all be together instead of being in 3 rooms. The cottage was very well appointed. The bathrooms had unusual bathtubs such as a lovely round one and were fully marbled. Both rooms and lounge were beautifully furnished. The cottage was in it's own large garden with a very large pool which was for our use only. The main hotel was tastefully decorated and full of old charm. The food I had throughout the stay was of the highest quality. The pool area in the main hotel is lovely with separate cabanas if you want them. The pool guy luis is one of the highlights of the
stay. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it were not for a few staff issues. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired as they knew we had 5 people staying but only left us provisions for 4, one housekeeper was very good but when she wad not there we had a variable service on turndown such as water not being left for enough of us. Also I felt that there was not enough empowerment handed down to staff from management. The person who showed you to your seat at dinner
( maitre d) Was not allowed to take a drink order that was the sommeliers job. I put this down to the senior management all being german ( sorry Stefan and bjorn). Although both gentlemen were delightful I felt that this was an area that keeps this hotel from being a first class hotel which it certainly could be. Narlene in housekeeping and Brian on reception/concierge were both outstanding in their jobs. All things considered though, I would recommend this hotel because when we did complain they put it right straightaway. The food is consistently fabulous the peaceful setting is lovely and the property itself is spectacular. You are also not very far from the
coast and Palma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patentattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First a reality check - if you want great nightlife, a sandy beach or a fantastic town, this isn't for you. However if you want a relaxing break in a great hotel which doesn't want to run your life for you and which believes in great service then this is the place to go.
I have been lucky to stay in some really good hotels around the world but none have matched the consistently excellent service which we received at Son Net. Reception staff really cared and went the extra mile to look after us, restaurant staff took time to get things right, bar staff had a great sense of humour as well as fantastic customer care, the list goes on.
The views are to die for, the public areas have real character and the pool area is great. Despite its remote location, it was easy to get into Palma (but beware the cyclists!) although the drive to Valldemosa is not one for the faint of heart!
The restuaurant menu was refreshing unpretentious and prepared with care. The wine list was good but to be honest the Son Net white wine was so good for the price that we were happy to stick with that for most of the stay.
Inevitably one or two things could be better: The music in the public areas was quirky on the first night but grating by the final night and desserts were a little variable in quality and not up to the standard of the starters and mains.
However a great stay and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

To be honest we loved the hotel and most of the staff. Except of course for the ones that stole my camera, mobile and wallet from our bedroom and the manager Alexander who made me feel like I was lying about having my things having been stolen! He was very rude in insinuating that we couldn't prove that my things were stolen from our bedroom inspite of the fact that we hadn't really travelled outside the hotel with my handbag till the day I discovered that my things were gone. We asked for a copy of the security camera that was pointing right at our room which was kinda aloof from the rest of the hotel. But he kept saying that the directors of the hotel are not able to reach the maintenance officer who is in charge of the security cameras. So instead we ended up spending a day from our very short honeymoon running around to the police station to file a report. No surprise they never came back to us with the recording on the camera.
And on top of that the nicer manager Ignatio had offered us a dinner on the house because he said we did not use the transfers. So we thanked him and ate at the restaurant on our final night. The next day while checking out Alexander insisted that we pay for that meal also since Ignatio had offered us the dinner "by mistake".
We really liked most of the staff, but this one manager's rudeness and corruptness was enough to ruin a memory that is supposed to be for life. We wouldn't be surprised if he was in on the theft.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank KavithaK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puigpunyent
10.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
15.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
48.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Son Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Son Net

Property: Gran Hotel Son Net
Address: Camino Son Net s/n, 07194 Puigpunyent, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Puigpunyent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Son Net 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Son Net reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puigpunyent
Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net Puigpunyent, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing